We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Issac outstanding care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hurricane Issac outstanding care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Avenue Plaza has been my favorite place to stay on St. Charles, clean, efficient, comfortable with especially nice showers. The staff have always been excellent; efficient and very prompt to attend me. This August my stay was extended through Hurricane Issac, during which the Avenue Plaza lost power but still gave exceptional care to its guests throughout. Flashlights, drinking water, hot coffee and barbequed burgers and franks were made available, with regular updates on the hurricane and accommodations. When the hurricane subsided and power could not be restored they relocated all of their guests (several busloads) to another lighted and comfortable Wyndham resort downtown. I am very grateful that I was at the Avenue Plaza during the hurricane, and very grateful to the wonderful staff who made the discomforts of this so minimal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    155
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
65
170
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late 0200 after a long flight from Australia. Desk clerk was incredibly helpful with our check in and assisting us getting a meal locally. Good sized hotel room with 2 queen sized beds, very clean, an amazing laundry facility complete with large plasma TV. Daytime concierge a little unhelpful. Nice courtyard and pool area. Fantastic streetcar access from right outside the hotel only 10 minutes to bourbon st by streetcar and only $1.25 per trip. 10 or more cafes and pubs within walking distance most with reasonably priced meals. Blind pelican was good. Also take the streetcar away from city to Oak St. The Maple Bar on Oak has great entertainment on a Tueday. We saw a Grammie award winning big brass band. For breakfast you get good value for money at the streetcar cafe, and if you walk a little further there is a fantastic old style diner that have amazing breakfast and bottomless coffee. You can also walk to a convenience store about 50 meters, a Waldgrens, and a cosy bar 2 doors down that do take food, alcohol, and laundry open 24 hours.
Great value for money hotel close to lots of amenities with easy city access.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very comfortable. We arrived really late but the valet for parking was right there waiting. Room was clean and spacious and bathroom was nice. The recommendations for restaurants were good. We experienced no problems and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plaistow,nh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned home on Friday 10th, 2012. This was a really nice 1 bedroom suite. Very Clean,had all amenities you would want for a great stay. Someone said they didn't have a full size mirror in their suite, we did on the 9th floor. pool was nice, only half size but clean. Hot tub was very Hot, the way they should be, onsite people were very helpful and friendly. Steak house next to Ave. Plaza was very good. Take the bus or walk to a very nice supermarket called Fresh Market for local food shopping, excellant food , fresh breads, anythying you would want plus liquor up stairs. The Zoo was not worth the price, weather was soo Hot and Humid most were hiding in some shade.They also charge extra for the train ride and other activities. WW2 Museum was excellant, spent 7 hours at this , The movie which is $11.00 if your not a member or senior was a spare not expense show. very moving. The swamp tour with the boats with large fans to drive them was very good. Get a single bus pass each day, cheaper and if you loose it your not out a weeks worth of tickets. Cafe DuMond was OK, eat quick or the flys will get the food. French quaters flea market is typical, they pretty much all sell the same cheap goods, made in China. Some local goods like paintings and crafts can be found and bought for a high price. All in All a very interesting place.. watch out for the very large Roaches, they love the hot humid weather.

Room Tip: I have been in a lot of time shares exchanges and this place was better than average, free ice-cream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a few problems with maintenance--kitchen drawer stuck; leg on bathroom drain stopper was broken; and hot water line on kitchen faucet was blocked. However, maintenance engineer corrected problems to our satisfaction. Requested a 2nd wine bottle opener since the one 1st supplied was broken. Concierge area was under construction and for a short time trash and clutter could be seen. Otherwise, we had a pleasant stay--helpful staff, attractive pool area, and relaxing guest room supplied with light refreshments. Use of computers was free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great location for bar/ restaurant hopping on St Charles, nice and clean pool, fantastic steak house on site! Fun 24/7 bar next door for karaoke. Loved my stay for my birthday. Walk down to the Blind Pelican for drinks, 15$ taxi to quarter, great shopping on Magazine st.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Avenue Plaza Resort through our Worldmark timeshare.

The hotel was just okay. It met our basic needs - having a place to sleep and a place to shower away all the NOLA humidity. Other than that, the room that we stayed in was out-of-date - worn down furniture, dim lighting, carpet flooring, etc.

However, the location of this place was great! It's located in the Garden District and there's a trolley right outside the hotel. Had we known this, we would've opted out of getting a rental car - which by the way, we'd pay $$ for daily parking at the hotel.

So for those of you looking to travel to NOLA, get the multiple day trolley pass! It's so worth it!

Altogether, I would like to go back to NOLA. I'd only come back to this hotel if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.