We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not an owner but treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #72 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“not an owner but treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My daughter and I spend a weekend here while job hunting, school interviewing and house hunting. This was the perfect home base for all of our explorations. We have made many many trips to New Orleans but this was our 1st time staying outside of the Quarter. It was wonderful! The staff was amazing, so very nice. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the beds very comfortable and everything upgraded and modern.
Having the streetcar stop right out front made everything so easy.
Would recommend this to anyone visiting this amazing city!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tour1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

we stayed here for about 4 days with our timeshare exchange. the staff were friendly and helpful and the place was clean(newly renovated bathroom too). the bed was comfortable and the suite was spacious..but the best part of our stay was the location! it was right where the st charles streetcar stops in the garden district so we didnt have to drive around exploring NOLA (parking can be hard to find downtown unless to opt for pay parking).. there's a walgreens nearby and some good local restaurants like the voodoo barbecue as well as some fastfood places like kfc. it also has a pool area (we didnt get to hang out here because we were out exploring the city) and a fabulous roofdeck with a view of the city skyline!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cyan501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham Avenue Plaza the week of Memorial Day through our timeshare. The hotel was in a nice location. Though we were far from downtown, we could catch the trolley to downtown, which the stop happened to be just across the street. This was very convenient and we could be downtown in a few minutes.

The amenities of this resort were very nice. There was a deck in front of the hotel where we could sit, drink a cooler or beer or smoke while feeling the breeze and watching people and cars go by. There was also a sun roof where we could just rest and look over the city. The fitness center was very nicely equipped. It was like my YMCA was picked up and dropped in the hotel; way better than most hotels and other resorts I've been to so far. We didn't get to see the pool as it was down for renovating.

I definitely recommend this resort. It has everything you need while on vacation. Plenty of restaurants, bars and stores within walking distance. The hotel is in the Garden District, which turned out to be a very nice location. We had a good and if in NOLA, we will be back.

Tips: There is a Wal-Mart about 5-6 blocks away from the resort, where, of course, you can get affordable snacks, food and drinks. Just ask for directions, driving it's only 5 minutes away if that. There is a laundry room in the resort that guest can use for free where you can leave for home with clean clothes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivetta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were very pleased with the Avenue Plaza. We stayed 6 nights during the second weekend of Jazz Fest 2012 (May 2-8). The location was great and so easy to take the St. Charles street car. A plus for Jazz Fest attendees was that the city bus stopped right across from the hotel and took you right (with many stops, but that was a great way to see the city) to the fairgrounds where JF takes place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and it was really nice, recently redone and clean. The kitchenette had everything you could possible need and had granite countertops, stainless appliances and some had looked like they had never been used! It was a bit pricey, but I guess that is just a product of coming during a very busy time. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that the bathrooms are VERY small, like another reviewer said, no fan in bathrooms, and at the time we were there the pool/back patio area was closed because they were renovating. I think they could have done this during the winter vs. May, when the weather can be pretty HOT. I also would have appreciated some kind of notification when I made the reservation. I am not sure it would have made a difference, but I would have appreciated knowing.

Room Tip: We chose a room that did not face St. Charles in case the streetcars were loud. I am not sure you e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a deal through our in-laws time share. Having stayed in other time share resorts in SF, Kona, LV, Scottsdale, Orlando, and Whistler, BC, I would have to rate this as the best we have stayed in thus far. Great location, room, and amenities. Our only knock on the place was not having a fan in the bathroom.  We stayed in the studio with a king bed...such a comfy bed, by the way.  If we come back to NOLA we'll stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnieH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Fantastic location,Trolly at front door. Very helpful staff,clean comfortable rooms.....will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Loved our 4 night stay here! Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was courteous and accommodating. The Garden District is a lovely oasis outside of the frenzy of the French Quarter. Beautiful neighborhood right on the trolley line and access to everywhere. Would absolutely recommend to others and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobinRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#69 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#57 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Low Cost Holidays and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing