We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel/Amazing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
san antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel/Amazing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed Valentine's weekend; a surprise wedding anniversary present for my hubby. When doing my research I wanted old world charm, no bed bugs, great location & service, a late check out time (1 p.m.), great showers, free wifi and reasonably priced parking. The hotel met all of our expectations and more; the staff was very knowledgable and polite. The beds were super comfy and our suite was very charming and romantic. The previous blogger/poster is very much correct, t/ gal (Donna I think) who brought us breakfast was always super nice!!!!! On a different note, if you tend to sweat the small stuff, you may perceive the out-of-sight dust bunnies, wall cracks, and weathered paint as unacceptable, whereas we perceived them character flaws. However, t/ hotel is undergoing rennovations. The architecual design of the hotel and our suite was absolutely beautiful. We would definitely stay there again!!!!! We enjoyed our stay there more so than our five star hotel in Cabo San Lucus (honeymoon) .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    204
    84
    51
    48
See reviews for
72
269
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

A very good place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the french quarter in New Orleans.
The price is reasonable if you consider that the parking is included. nice rooms, good beds, nice helpful staff, specialy the lady in charge of the breakfast, wich is served in your room.
The only downturn is the internet connection, in our room it was very bad, this made us leave a day or two earlier than we would have stayed, if it had been working. It was not possible to use Skype and the connection was lost very freqvently. If you need to use the net to be connected - chose another hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed here for about a week in March and enjoyed our stay. We were initially put in a room which opened onto the street and looked from the outside like a stable entrance; the inside was small but well-decorated. We asked to be shifted to an inside courtyard, which became available after 2 nights.

The courtyard room was very comfortable; noise is not an issue where this hotel is located. The rooms are immaculate, except a glaring exception which was the bathroom in the first room that had a stained bathtub and sink.

The courtyard itself is charming, although chilly when we went (early March), with a small lounging pool and a bar through which breakfast is served. I'm fairly certain people make good use of the pool and lounging chairs in the summer

Breakfast was continental, and picked up from the bar/kitchen area to eat there or to take to our room (we tried both at various times). The concierge was helpful in recommending places to eat, and of course the location is so great that you'll pretty much stumble upon somewhere delightful within 2 walking blocks. The water is like 3 blocks away, the market is 2 blocks away. Basically everything is very close, and the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I just returned from a long weekend in New Orleans. We stayed in the Chateau Hotel. The location is great; three blocks east of Jackson Square; two blocks north and three blocks east of Cafe Du Monde; three blocks south and east of Burbon Street. Walking distance to all the major sight seeing attractions in the French Quarter. The hotel is quaint and small. Our room was located on the first floor, court yard side. The room was adequate with a nice king size bed. Bathroom was okay, not any counter space with a tiny closet hanging clothes. Small 15 inch digital TV monitor with a few channels (but who goes to the French Quarter to watch TV). Parking is offsite (half a block north) and sixteen dollars a day with unlimited in out privileges (parking done by valet). All in all, at nice base to explore all the French Quarter has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I booked my hotel room online for my husbands birthday. When we arrived in New Orleans we promptly got lost. My husband called the desk and he gave us step by step instructions on how to find the hotel. He was very helpful. When we arrived at the hotel we were met by the smiling faces and excellent service. The rooms were gorgeous and you felt like you were stepping back in time with the atmosphere of the place. The courtyard is stunning. The staff is wonderful. The breakfast was brought to our room and it was delightful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants truly experience the beauty of the French-Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Great little hotel in the middle of everything in the French Quarter. Perfect if you're looking for an authentic French Quarter place to stay. Miss Donna made it a place to remember.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

we stayed at the chateau hotel for one week dec.19 th to 24th. we had a room with a balcony facing chartres street,it was just wonderful.location of the chateau is right in the middle of the french quarter. so close to jackson square, restaurants, streetcars and attractions and of course the famous cafe do monde.it was very quiet although so close to everything,we loved to hear the clicking of the horses going by. chateau offers a continental breakfast,free parking with a aaa card ,internet ,10 percent discount for seniors and free newspaper a beautiful courtyard and pool. great employees. the breakfast if taken to your room every morning by donna ,she jus a wonderful person and employyee. she calls you before comming and makes sure you are completely safisfied. we cant't say enough about this caring person. thank you so much donna for making our vacation better. our grandchildren victoria and nick love you.i recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hotel Royal
#96 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#102 of 156 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Hotel St. Helene
#117 of 156 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.