We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel in French Quarter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Affordable Hotel in French Quarter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The rooms were clean but might have needed a fresh coat of paint. It was quiet but near the effervescence of Bourbon street. Free breakfest in the morning by the pool. The pool is great and our family was always the only one in it! Free parking wich is a plus. Very friendly welcom.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
On behalf of the Chateau Hotel, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Glad your family had an enjoyable time by the pool! Come and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    173
    70
    43
    41
See reviews for
59
215
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was a great location in the French Quarters. We were in walking distance to everything. We got lost on the way to the hotel but the receptionist guided us directly to the hotel. The room was small but the price was worth staying in a smaller room. The bathrooms were very small. If you're not looking for the finest of hotels this one will do.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This place has the potential to be something exceptional. The location is fantastic and the courtyard is absolutely lovely. But, as the other reviewer said- staff is surly, depressed, resentful. Breakfast lady was a terror- infuriating my husband, and causing a lady with two small children to cry. C'mon people! There are so many hotels in the quarter. Don't you want to keep your customers? Room interiors are downtrodden with peeling wallpaper, sad bathrooms with touchy plumbing. Air-conditioner has two settings- on or off (freezing or oppresive are the two choices).
I've stayed in many places in the quarter, Garden district. Spend a couple dollars extra and stay at the Hotel Provincial just a few doors down on Chartres.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodworth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Excellent location, property well designed to maintain the character and feel of the French Quarter not to mention existing structures of early N.O. Suggestions: Property needs minor repairs, updating, with Customer Service needing immediate attention. Employees all seemed most unhappy, the lady in charge of the breakfast was very rude to many, many guest. I noted this for two days and especially on Saturday morning. The employees sat with her, smoking, drinking cokes and coffee outside a guest room of a young mother and two children that had been treated extremely rude by this woman. The guest left and did not come back for breakfast. A young man from Maryland and his girlfriend were disrespected first for the breakfast person, then by the desk attendant. I was embarrassed for our state and for New Orleans. This one problem will close the hotel. I was brought into a failing hospitality property a couple of years ago that was in extreme debt, customer service terrible..so I feel that I do have some experience in this area. We turned that property around and it is expanding today. I love your property and feel it should be and can be one of New Orleans 5 Stars, but is something is not done immediately..it will be lost especially under present management or lack there of.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We have placed the employees mentioned on a probationary status until futher notice.

We appreciate your concern, as we DO NOT accept rude behavior from staff members. We want you to have the trip of a lifetime in New Orleans and the Chateau your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Moved from the Hilton to the Chateau, which probably magnified the difference. It was small, clean-ish (could do with freshening up) and basic. But there was also a big difference in price, which was why I moved from the Hilton.

I would stay again if my goal was finding a cheap basic place to sleep, but I would probably pay slightly more for something a bit better. However the location was good, the staff were pleasant and I was on my own, but felt safe and I had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
We are so happy to hear you had a great time in New Orleans. The Chateau Hotel always offers Summer Special Rates for visitors. You will be happy to know we are currently giving face lifts to the standard rooms. On your next visit, make sure to ask for all room types we have available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We arrived to New Orleans after a long flight after making a phone reservation directly with the hotel sales manager who told us that the rooms are available from 11 am. Since we arrived at 9am we left our luggage at the desk and went for a stroll round the city. We returned at 11:30 only to be told that only one room is ready. "Lovely rooms away from the main building" are situated in a small shack (if you're lucky you'll get a window) and with paper thin walls (we had very quiet neighbours, yet we heard everything they did). After waiting for several hours we finally got our second room round 2:30 pm with no apology from the concierge. The best experience came later that night. We went to sleep roun midnight only to be awaken by the phone call round 2:30am. there was nobody on the phone so we thought it was a prank. however, a minute later there was a bang on the door - bell boy was waiting on the street in front of our room. We couldn't beleive that the hotel would wake us up at 2:30 in the morning. I call the reception and again without an apology I was explained that the thermometer for all 4 "lovely room" was convenietly located above my bed and that it needed fine tuning at this hour. Cherry on the cake was what came out of bell boy's mouth after he heard we were unlocking the door to let him in: Hurry up man, it's raining!.

Next day we were angry at the concierge - again no apologies. However after screaming at him we got different room for the second night. Since we took a tourist trip to the swamps, we came late that day (5pm) and were accused by the concierge that we were getting back to him for what they did to us the first day - we had to take our stuff to the other room and they were expecting us to do so at 11 am (!) so that they could rent our "lovely" rooms to some other poor plonker.

That was not all, We booked the rooms under my card but as we were checking out we used my friend's card because we were told that they hadn't actually charged my card. You can imagin that when I came back home and checked my account, my credit card was charged. Phoning them back I was told that the manager had to leave the city for an emergency and that she is the only one who deals with the money. I was refunded only one week later.

All in all, try to avoid this "institution". If you have to stay however ask for the rooms in the main building and pay with cash!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2009
On behalf of the Chateau Hotel Management , I would like to offer an apology. The night staff should never have awakened you during the night and should have issued an apology the next morning.

The Chateau Hotel has a strict 1pm check-in policy and tell guests as such. We do allow for guests to register and we will store their luggage until the room is ready.

I must say none of our rooms are "shacks", the rooms in the historic creole cottage are small, european-style accomodations with bathrooms en suite.

Its seems as if everything which could go wrong during your stay with us did. Thank you for your comments and we will work hard to improve that which must be improved upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay during the French Quarter Festival (room 103). Let me begin by saying that we have been very loyal to the Chateau for our 15 years of traveling there and have recommended the Chateau to many friends & family. We were very disappointed at how the place has deteriorated. The carpet was filthy, the tiles were almost falling off the bathroom ceiling, there wasn't enough hot water, the TV had constant stripes running over it and the room smelled so moldy that we had to keep the AC on constantly to make the smell go away. The beautiful courtyard of the past is no longer. The pool was dirty and the fountain was green. I really hope the owners replace the carpeting with hard wood and do some major renovating with out taking away the charm of the old place. On the upside we love the location, but won't return until we know the Chateau has been upgraded. We love Idessa, Wendell and the bell boys.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Thank you for your continued support of the Chateau Hotel. We are saddened to hear this trip did not live up to your expectations.

We are currently addressing the need for upgrades. The TV lines were reported to the Front Desk by another guest and we had Satellite repair out upon learning of the bad transmissions and the appropriate equipment was replaced.

We had a bit of bad timing during French Quarter Fest as we were in the process of replacing the large trees by the pool with Italian Cypress Trees.

Please report any problems to the Front Desk, we would have been happy to move you to a room more to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.