We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Time Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Vian, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Old Time Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times over the years. Most often during the French Quarter Festival. It is located close to Jackson Square and the River. The rooms aren't large, but adequate. I don't require much as far as accommodations go, just a clean room, clean bed and a shower. This area is quiet at night when a lot of partying is going on in the French Quarter. I recommend this hotel if you're looking for some old time charm, a friendly staff and great location.

Room Tip: For extra quiet get a room facing the courtyard, away from the street noise and walking traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Rudy. It's wonderful to hear back from such a frequent guest! I love the way you describe our "old charm." And thank you for complimenting our attentive staff! We hope to see you back here soon. Another fun getaway awaits you!

Be well,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    188
    78
    49
    44
See reviews for
66
243
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Chateau many times over the years and have always enjoyed it. This is a quaint NOLA boutique hotel in French Quarter builidings. Don't expect a homogenous hotel experience. Bathrooms are a little older and smaller, doors open into outdoor hallways or courtyard. Beds are more than comfy and well made though. Liken to a European type lodging but staff is alway personable and attentive. Also, the most convenient parking with reasonable daily rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We always want our guests to have a memorable experience with us, so the fact that you thought our staff was "personable" and "attentive" is music to our ears. We're so glad you had a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Next time you're back in NOLA, we've got a bed with your name on it!

Until then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Tastefully decorated rooms and a nice courtyard with a swimming pool provide a restful retreat. My overall rating is lowered by the facts that the complimentary breakfast is a bit poor and that the noise from air conditioning units is deafening when one is outside the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for this helpful feedback. The fact that you think we're a "gem" in the French Quarter is very high praise! It's wonderful you had a restful stay with us. That being said, I'll definitely take note of your comment about our breakfast and the A/C noise. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon!

Until then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have enjoyed the hospitality of the Chateau Hotel on more than twenty visits to the Big Easy. The courtyard and pool are beautiful and offer a great place to relax. The guest rooms are "bed and breakfast" like. The complimentary continental breakfast is a great way to start the day. . . whether delivered to your room or enjoyed in the courtyard. A stay at Chateau is a great value. The Chateau is in the heart of the French Quarter. . . near Jackson Square, the French Market. The best part of the Chateau is the staff. What charming, friendly, helpful folks they are!!! For me, the Chateau is New Orleans at its best. I'm heading back for another visit in a few days. Chateau-Here I come!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room so that your can enjoy people watching above the streets of NOLA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It's so great to hear that you've stayed with us more than 20 times, Susan! Great location, friendly service, southern hospitality — that's what we're all about, so your kind words mean the world to us. It was good seeing you this month. Thanks so much for the feedback.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hubs and I took a romantic getaway back to - you guessed it - New Orleans. This was our eleventh visit to the city if we recall correctly. We arrived right at check-in and were greeted and shown our room. It was room # 107. It was a street view, bottom floor. Tucked away in a quiet hallway leading from the courtyard.

We enjoyed the room, all of the amenities, especially the pool. We used the pool twice while we were there - once being after posted "pool hours". But the front desk kindly told us that we could use the pool anytime we wanted as long as we weren't loud. I can't lie, I do wish there were a hot tub.

The courtyard was beautiful and one of my favorite parts. My other favorite part was breakfast DELIVERED TO YOUR DOOR. Sure, it was light breakfast items, but there was plenty to choose from and arrived on time each morning.

Overall, the place was surprisingly quiet (?!). It definitely didn't seem to attract the wild crowd. We slipped into the French Quarter from Elysian Fields from I-10 and missed all the hustle and bustle (read: mess) on Canal. We were set up right away with valet parking ($20/day) and they did NOT recommend IN/OUT, but that was because it was a Saturday and had other incoming guests.

We would absolutely stay here again in a second flat. In fact...I'm ready to go back!

Room Tip: Room #107 seemed to have a brick wall on one side which probably buffered some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
"Perfection," that's one heck of compliment, Brandy!
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool, courtyard, and accommodations. We love doing what we can to help our customers enjoy their time in New Orleans, so Its wonderful that you enjoyed your romantic getaway! Thank you for leaving us some feedback and if you're ever back in NOLA, give us a call.
All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Your property was chosen by our organizing committee because of its location and amenities. As a participant I was very impressed with both, and by the friendly, courteous staff. I couldn't have had a more enjoyable experience. Breakfasts were prompt and satisfying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It's great to hear that you couldn't have had a more enjoyable experience! I'm glad that we could host y'all and show you a good time in New Orleans. Thank you for leaving us some compliments here on TripAdvisor and I hope you visit us again soon.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only spent one night in Chateau Hotel but we would have stayed there longer if we had had more time. Excellent location in the heart of the French Quarter, beautiful room with balcony, friendly people, reasonable price and even a parking, which is not common in New Orleans. Chateau Hotel will certainly be our first choice when we decide to visit New Orleans again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We work so hard to provide all of our customers with a top-notch experience, so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, Antonio! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and if you're ever back in New Orleans, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.