We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain Jane Over Priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Plain Jane Over Priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pro's; Good location to French Quarter Activities, Great staff! Moe & Lilly are 1st. rate. Security was great. If sleep is all you require you will be satisfied.

Con's; Over priced, room was small, TV should be in an antique shop on Royal St., Room was clean but needed updating, no charm, UN-Romantic setting, Court yard was boring and needed bleaching, no bar, the free breakfast was great if your a vegan (cold muffins, juice, banana and coffee).

New Orleans is a Magic Destination and so should Boutique Hotel's in the French Quarter! Chateau is not one of them!

Room Tip: Don't Get room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm happy to hear that you liked our location and friendly staff, but disappointed that you found our amenities sub-par. Being located in a historic building, we've maintained much of our old-world French Quarter charm — while this means our rooms are smaller, it also gives our guests the experience of staying at a turn of the century NOLA mansion. I appreciate your feedback here on TripAdvisor, and hope that you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    159
    59
    40
    39
See reviews for
52
198
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location is perfect, sits right in the heart of the French Quarter and you can walk anywhere. It's very charming with a lovely and inviting courtyard that has lots of chairs and tables for relaxing by the poolside. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The desk clerks were friendly and very helpful. It's a unique older hotel with a New Orleans feel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It's great to hear that you'd stay with us again on your next trip to New Orleans, Sharon! Great location, charming traditional architecture, southern hospitality — that's exactly what we hope our guests notice when they visit us in NOLA, so your compliments mean so much to me! I hope you visit us again on your next trip to The Big Easy!

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first stay at the Chateau and when booking I was a little concerned about the low price and no 2 night minimum like most other hotels in the French Quarter. We needed just one night as we were to leave on a cruise the next day. The location is excellent! Right in the heart of the French Quarter, the room was absolutely wonderful! Very clean and comfortable, secure and quiet. Staff was very courteous, we were able to check in early and check out wasn't until 1pm!! Can't say enough good things about this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback here on TripAdvisor, Rhonda! We work very hard to provide our customers with a top-notch experience, so your compliments mean the world to us! I hope you enjoyed your cruise! We try to always honor cruise passengers' need for a one night stay before or after their cruise. Come stay with us again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Louisiana, USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have enjoyed this hotel many time, however i was really in need and their reservationist made a room, that is quality service. I love the Quarter in the morning, and their continental breakfast is just right to help me get started a few blocks from the Mississippi for a nice walk then a time in the Cathedral for meditation all is a few block from the hotel. AND the service is wonderful, they remember you and welcome so graciously. Thanks for being a home away from home. I also like the parking being a half a block away so if you need something in your car and kudo's for the security, you have to be greeted by the front desk after 10 p.m, thus the security is quality.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the courtyard is quieter, and enjoy breakfast in the courtyard, beautifully deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed all of your experiences with us! Great service, comfortable accommodations, prefect location — that's our game plan, so it's great to hear that you think we're hitting our mark! Thank you for your compliments here on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chateau Hotel for a weekend in April 2013 while visiting friends who live right outside of New Orleans. We like to stay in the French Quarter when we visit for the night life and restaurants and have stayed at a variety of different hotels. This hotel is very cute and is the kind of place you think of when you think about quaint New Orleans boutique hotels. Our room was the basic room with a king sized bed and we were happy to discover that it opened out over the cute courtyard where you can sit drink your coffee and eat your complimentary breakfast (although we opted out of that to go out for breakfast). We couldn't have been happier with the location; The hotel location is just a few blocks from Jackson Square and all the attractions of the French Quarter but it was still far enough away from Bourbon street to avoid a lot the noise and mayhem. We recommended this hotel to our local friend as a good choice for her to suggest to other out of town visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Great location, awesome accommodations, historic French Quarter charm — that's exactly the experience we're trying to provide our guests, so it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Jessica! How was the rest of your trip — did you do anything special in NOLA? Thank you for spreading the word about our hotel and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Big Easy!

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The mixed reviews on this site had me on guard when I first arrived. The person at check-in was pleasant and it was a quick process. Our room was ready before check-in and the valet attendant was right on it. We stayed in a balcony room with two beds and a sofa. It was perfect for our family. The beds were perfect and oh so comfortable! The balcony was on Chatres and there was always entertainment of some sort to amuse us, but I do have to say that it did not get too noisy and keep us up all night. The pool was just enough for the kids and we met new people. We never had a bad experience during the stay and the vehicle being close and accessible was perfect. We will return especially with the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Comfortable accommodations, fun pool environment, family-friendly entertainment — that's exactly what we're going for, so it's great to hear that your family had a great vacation with us, Sarah! We appreciate your review here on TripAdvisor and hope you come visit us again soon.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A group of 8 went to NOLA for Halloween weekend 2012. Our trip was cut short due to Hurricane Sandy's approach to NY. Our front desk concierge, Dan was gracious enough to let us out of the rest of our reservation so we could get home before the storm hit. During our stay, he recommended a restaurant where we had one of our more memorable meals: Praline Connection on Frenchmen's Street. The hotel itself was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the continental beakfast is served right to your door at the time you specify. All-in-all a great hotel in a quiet part of the French Quarter. We enjoyed it so much we booked it again for Halloween this year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I'm sorry Hurricane Sandy cut your trip short, but happy that you enjoyed your brief time with us. We were glad to change your reservation under the circumstances — hopefully, everything went well back in NYC. Other than that, the Praline Connection is a NOLA institution! I'm glad you enjoyed it. We're happy that we had the opportunity to share our wonderful city with your group and look forward to having y'all back this October.

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.