We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Roanoke, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In the heart of the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have enjoyed this hotel many time, however i was really in need and their reservationist made a room, that is quality service. I love the Quarter in the morning, and their continental breakfast is just right to help me get started a few blocks from the Mississippi for a nice walk then a time in the Cathedral for meditation all is a few block from the hotel. AND the service is wonderful, they remember you and welcome so graciously. Thanks for being a home away from home. I also like the parking being a half a block away so if you need something in your car and kudo's for the security, you have to be greeted by the front desk after 10 p.m, thus the security is quality.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the courtyard is quieter, and enjoy breakfast in the courtyard, beautifully deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed all of your experiences with us! Great service, comfortable accommodations, prefect location — that's our game plan, so it's great to hear that you think we're hitting our mark! Thank you for your compliments here on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    201
    83
    51
    48
See reviews for
72
264
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chateau Hotel for a weekend in April 2013 while visiting friends who live right outside of New Orleans. We like to stay in the French Quarter when we visit for the night life and restaurants and have stayed at a variety of different hotels. This hotel is very cute and is the kind of place you think of when you think about quaint New Orleans boutique hotels. Our room was the basic room with a king sized bed and we were happy to discover that it opened out over the cute courtyard where you can sit drink your coffee and eat your complimentary breakfast (although we opted out of that to go out for breakfast). We couldn't have been happier with the location; The hotel location is just a few blocks from Jackson Square and all the attractions of the French Quarter but it was still far enough away from Bourbon street to avoid a lot the noise and mayhem. We recommended this hotel to our local friend as a good choice for her to suggest to other out of town visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Great location, awesome accommodations, historic French Quarter charm — that's exactly the experience we're trying to provide our guests, so it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Jessica! How was the rest of your trip — did you do anything special in NOLA? Thank you for spreading the word about our hotel and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Big Easy!

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The mixed reviews on this site had me on guard when I first arrived. The person at check-in was pleasant and it was a quick process. Our room was ready before check-in and the valet attendant was right on it. We stayed in a balcony room with two beds and a sofa. It was perfect for our family. The beds were perfect and oh so comfortable! The balcony was on Chatres and there was always entertainment of some sort to amuse us, but I do have to say that it did not get too noisy and keep us up all night. The pool was just enough for the kids and we met new people. We never had a bad experience during the stay and the vehicle being close and accessible was perfect. We will return especially with the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Comfortable accommodations, fun pool environment, family-friendly entertainment — that's exactly what we're going for, so it's great to hear that your family had a great vacation with us, Sarah! We appreciate your review here on TripAdvisor and hope you come visit us again soon.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A group of 8 went to NOLA for Halloween weekend 2012. Our trip was cut short due to Hurricane Sandy's approach to NY. Our front desk concierge, Dan was gracious enough to let us out of the rest of our reservation so we could get home before the storm hit. During our stay, he recommended a restaurant where we had one of our more memorable meals: Praline Connection on Frenchmen's Street. The hotel itself was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the continental beakfast is served right to your door at the time you specify. All-in-all a great hotel in a quiet part of the French Quarter. We enjoyed it so much we booked it again for Halloween this year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I'm sorry Hurricane Sandy cut your trip short, but happy that you enjoyed your brief time with us. We were glad to change your reservation under the circumstances — hopefully, everything went well back in NYC. Other than that, the Praline Connection is a NOLA institution! I'm glad you enjoyed it. We're happy that we had the opportunity to share our wonderful city with your group and look forward to having y'all back this October.

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the building and surrounding atmosphere was great, enjoyable and wonderful experience in the french quarter. The staff were very informative, professional and considerate to us, they helped us to realize that we need come back very soon. We enjoyed everything about the hotel and will stay again and bring more of our family with us. Also I loved the location, close to many will known streets and businesses,

Room Tip: 2nd floor over looking the courtyard was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Great atmosphere, prime location, southern hospitality — that's exactly what we're going for, so I'm glad to hear we're hitting our mark. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and had the opportunity to experience the unique culture of the French Quarter! Thanks so much for taking time to spread the word here on TripAdvisor. I look forward to seeing y'all again soon.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have you ever stayed in Paris? Most hotels rooms are small, not well maintained, bathrooms discoloured, lighting poor, very few electrical plugs, the internet is poor and intermittent, the receptionists are different every day and each is more rude than the other. But the location and the architectural design is fabulous.... Well this is chateau hotel, very french....... Did I enjoy staying there yes, would I recommend it to others yes, would I go back there no, once is enough....

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not ground floor facing the street. Hotel is very old so not very accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but a little disappointing that you would not want to return to our hotel. You're correct, our hotel is build in a very classic French style. Although that has some disadvantages, it's also unique -- it provides an ambiance that gives you the experience of traditional life in the French Quarter.

I plan on talking with our receptionists to reemphasize the need to treat our guests with courtesy. Thank you for bringing this situation to my attention. I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and hope that you would consider staying with us on your next trip to NOLA.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

By far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in in many years of U.S. and international travel. The room was damp and musty with NO WINDOWS! My husband said it probably had not had it's door open since Hurricane Katrina. The smell................whew.

The room was crowded, the bed had a board under the mattress that banged everytime one of us got into or out of it. The tub had torn plastic coating the bottom. And WORST OF ALL, the walls may well have been made of thin plywood. We could hear every work and sigh and pant from the room next door. Their voices and loud TV kept us awake most of the night. Finally at 6AM we packed our bags and left. Since there were no oth er hotel rooms available in New Orleans, because of a special event in town, we left New Orleans without ever really seeing it.
What a disappointment! The front desk was bored & useless. HOWEVER, the other help at the hotel was the best we've ever encountered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Ms. Marilyn,

Thank you for taking a moment to review the Chateau Hotel. I am most upset to learn you had these issues while at the hotel. I am curious to know if you reported your loud neighbors or inquired to see if a room move was possible at any time during your stay.

Our standard rooms are european in style, our walls built of cedar planks and plaster, and some are interior with only windows in the doors. I apologize if this was not what you are normally accustomed to on your travels. We want everyone to enjoy themselves to the fullest! I am glad to hear you found somewhere you deemed satisfactory.

We do have a tropical climate which results in damp conditions. We always have the climate control system running to counteract our weather conditions.

Our rooms are turned over at a high rate of occupancy. We can assure you that since Hurricane Katrina, which touched each and every staff member at the Chateau Hotel and forever altered our lives with the loss of loved one's, homes, and pets, the room has been rejuvenated and cared for.

We hope you do come back to New Orleans and stop by and see some of our "one-of -a-kind" rooms! I think you will be delighted.

Best regards,

Sarah I Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hotel Royal
#97 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#14 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#107 of 155 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.