We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nothing fancy, location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Papa Noel Rates
Ranked #84 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, nothing fancy, location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place was nice. Comfy and good service. It is great for the budget minded traveller. I got a balcony room and my friends had balcony and larger courtyard room and smaller double-bed room. I would recommend against the small double-bed, just because there is not anyway to get fresh air without opening the door. It was the same for the balcony but it was a balcony door, not the room door. A little loud in the early morning, but quiet otherwise. Nice in the courtyard, good place for a big group o gals to stay.

Room Tip: Balcony or courtyard rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
When visiting the Chateau Hotel, it is always a good idea to scout for other rooms you may enjoy on your next trip. No two of our rooms are exactly alike, so sometimes it can take a bit to find the perfect fit for you.

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We hope you come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    163
    66
    40
    39
See reviews for
55
203
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had the most wonderful weekend at The Chateau, all the staff, from the reservation to the checkout could not have been more helpful. We had four rooms and ours was beautiful, clean and the the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it. The coffee and breakfast was just right to get you going. Our whole party had a great time and can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was wonderful hosting you and your family.

**And PS. Sweet Basil's is looking FANTASTIC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

you are probably considering the Chateau because it is an excellent value versus location, and you would be absolutely right. We walked everywhere--Frenchmen St, Jackson Square, the river, Bourbon, Royal, Lafayette park. Still the location is really quiet by NOLA standards. We had a courtyard facing room--did not use the pool, fountain was green and not running. Bed extremely comfortable--extra pillows were delivered immediately on request, and heavy curtains allowed for very restful sleep.--coffee maker and fridge nice to have also. The place is old but charming. Houekeeping kept the room spotless. Bathroom pedestal sink rocked, hairdryer connection was iffy and, as mentioned in other reviews, shower is very small and no counter space for toiletries. Staff ranged from gracious to surly, and you had better tip the breakfast guy. But none of these small issues can overshadow the fact that you are in New Orleans, Baby--get out there and enjoy (ask about Verti Marte a few blocks away--24 convenience store with excellent and cheap prepared food)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Yes! I don't think my life would be half as fun without an All That Jazz poboy from Verti Marte!

Thank you for reviewing us. The fountains were going thru a bit of trouble, however, we have corrected the problem and they are spitting, gurgling and clear!

I hope you reported the rocking sink and other issues to the Front Desk while you were here and that we were able to get those fixed for you,

Coem back and see us soon! New Orleans will be waiting!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Bad breakfast, extremely bad cleaning, good location. I will not stay here again, an not recommend it to friends. Even though the location is very good, you don't want to find sigarette stumps in your window, and ash on your night stand.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wanted to find a small romantic get away in the french quarter of New Orleans. Stayed here for 3 nights, left a day early. Rooms are very small, although they have larger we were never told this when we made the reservations and what you see on their web site is very misleading. Out room had a closet no more then 18 inchs wide, it had a small ref. and a coffeee maker it in, so what ever you were able to hang up, after you made coffee, now your close smelld like coffee. Bathroom, no better, no counter space so all your things stay in your bag, shower/tub is half the size of a normal one, Sink was falling off the wall and the hair dryer did fall off the wall. You don't sleep here, nosie goies on till 4AM and if you are on the street like we were you at 5AM you here the trucks, garbage, street sweepers. Its a shame this could be a beautiful place. I will say the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here insist on their larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

If you are not fussy about comfort and service this hotel is fine as its central for the French Quarter. Rooms on the small side, but the following really marked it down for us:
Our bathroom was flooded by a dripping shower, which we reported on arrival. The shower was not fixed over the 3 nights we stayed even though we reported the problem again the following day.
Our complimentary breakfast was virtually thrown at us, and our promised complimentary daily paper only arrived once during our 3 night stay
On check out the receptionist was more interested in discussing with one of the cleaners the recent arrest of a local sex offender than in dealing with us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a group of eight staying here from 10-25-till 10-29....unfortunately Hurricane Sandy screwed us and we needed to get out Saturday or have to stay till thursday,,,if we didnt have jobs that would not have been an issue!!! Management at the Chateau were sooooo accomadating...didnt charge for sat or sun and let us hang till we got our transportation to the airport. the hotel is a real down to earth new orleans experience..if you are looking for five star cookie cutter blandness...this is not for you. if you are looking for an authentic experience with awesome people and a great location, this place is for you!!! We will be back Halloween week next year with more people,,,,,miss it already!!!!!!!! cant wait to be back in the quarter!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.