We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“charming and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I really liked the charm of this little quaint hotel. The room we had was really cozy. The bed comfortable. The staff was very nice with breakfast and the paper delivered to our door in the morning. Our room opened up into the courtyard where there was a pool. The only thing I could complain about would be the bathroom. It was small but clean with a teeny tiniest bathtub/shower I have ever seen but it was ok for a quick shower. It has to be expected in these old buildings. All in all it was a pleasant stay for a reasonable price and a great location. It was easy walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, coffee shops and the Frenchmen Street area which is a great spot for music. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: request one that opens onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Your title says it all, we are cozy and we do posess that French Quarter charm! Our bathrooms are small, next time try requesting a deluxe room or ask your reservationist to assist you with room descriptions. No two rooms are exactly alike!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    157
    57
    40
    39
See reviews for
51
195
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We loved the central location of the Chateau, and it is a nice place to stay as well. The courtyard was our meeting and gathering spot as we were traveling with friends also staying there.
The front staff, vallets, breakfast server, and house keeping was all so nice and friendly. They work hard to keep the place up, and customers happy and directed.
My room didnt have black out curtains and that was a bummer, and the shower curtain fell down on my last day! Is this place perfect, well no it's not. It's old but showing it's age well in a New Orleans kinda way. There are perfect hotels in NOLA but all ers forgivin here cause everyones nice and the keep the place clean. I will for sure consider coming back to The Chateau again.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel and all the rooms I saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Love your review! Perfect description of our little property.

We do not use black out curtains on some rooms. Next time you stay, please request a room with heavier shades or curtains. We have been phasing out the older, heavier curtains to a lighter look.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were escaping from the aftermath of Hurrican Isack and stumbled across this hotel. This place seemed more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel, which we loved! Everyone was totally accommodating and eager to please. The bed was so comfy and plush and the whole environment was wonderful, and so peaceful and quiet, which was an added plus. We plan to visit again, just because. The cost of the room was more than reasonable. We weren't expecting that either, concerned that hotels might take advantage of the situation. But not this place. It was all a wonderful experience. We definitely have NO affiliation whith this hotel. I'm just speaking the honest truth!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Sooo glad we could be your Hurricane Isaac escape! Because the French Quarter didn't lose power, we were able to help locals catch a cool nights' sleep and enjoy a little bit of the Quarter.

Our rates fluctuate according to season and our next discount season is Papa Noel Rates during the month of December.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and stayed here for our 25th anniversary, room was great, staff was all helpful, courteous and were quick to recommend places to eat that were all great. This was our first time in New Orleans and we had a great time, checking in and out was a breeze and cab was ready and waiting for us to take us to the airport. We walked everywhere and felt safe and secure even late at night. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans!! Also if possible ask for room 221 - it was really great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Firstly, we are happy you chose the Chateau Hotel to spend your 25th wedding anniversary. And even happier to hear you enjoyed yourself and would come back!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Sleepless night in a hot room. Shower might as well be a faucet. Front desk put us in an already occupied room and then wanted to argue about it. Mattress also bad, my feet higher than my head. Finally fell asleep at 6am kutdide the covers with head at foot of bed. I can't speak for any other room in the hotel but that's room 105. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I must apologize for your sleepless night at our property. We had been experiencing water pressure issues in that section of the hotel but we are confident we have located the issue and have had it resolved.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just a two blocks from 'Borbon', less from the Spanish Market , (and with parking too!), this hotel has everything! The breakfast is brought to your room, the pool is great and the staff friendly and welcoming.... what's not to like? (prices are good too!)

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, in a beautiful and larhe room - breakfast on the patio outside our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reesrvations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review! Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

very nice room very good location THE BEST STAFF we were lost in traffic. the desk clerk guided us in turn by turn and upon our successful navigation of one way streets in heavy traffic we were greeted in the street by the valet and bellman. All this for less than we would have paid at a bargain motel ang right in the FRENCH QUARTER. What a lovely courtyard! The roon was quiet and secure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

Glad we were able to guide you in correctly, our streets can be a bit confusing. Come back and see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.