We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Papa Noel Rates
Ranked #93 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you're looking for comfortable accommodations in a great French Quarter location at an affordable rate, this is the place for you. My priorities were a clean room, comfortable beds, AC, pool and prime location. No other place in the Quarter beat the Chateau in terms of price. This place has traditional spring mattresses, if that is important to you. Our closet space was limited by a mini-fridge, but we were able to work around it. The daily continental breakfast is a nice touch, but don't expect a gourmet selection. My friends and I loved walking through the quaint courtyard every morning and coming home to an air-conditioned room every afternoon. We cooled off in the pool or napped before getting ready for our nights out. The Chateau is across the street from Irene's restaurant, something of a local Quarter institution. It's down the street from the Beauregard-Keyes House and the Ursulines convent, both worth touring.

Room Tip: Our room had windows on the balcony, but they did not open and we did not have access to the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Great pictures! You caught Mr. John's great balcony across the street, he will be so happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    173
    68
    43
    41
See reviews for
57
209
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The staff was great, friendly and very helpful! The room was small but affordable for being in the quarter. The carpet was not real clean but everything else was. If you are wanting to party and hang out in the quarter this is the place. Great places to eat and fun things to do!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
So glad you stayed and sounds like you had a blast! This week we bagan replacing the carpet with ceramic tile and slate. Come back and see us soon!

Thank you for writing a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you're looking for historic accommodations off the Main stream but still in the heart of the French Quarter, consider the Chateau Hotel. Recently refurbished rooms have patios overlooking the streets and the pool and courtyard are centrally located in the center of the hotel.

My boyfriend and I stayed in an upstairs, King Room facing the pool and courtyard and it was lovely. Take in consideration the doors are narrower and taller, and the ceilings are 16' with separate shower and toilet accomodations. A Continental Breakfast is all inclusive and can be ordered at bedtime for the next morning. Parking is available and is conveniently across the street with an attendant. You can walk the entire French Quarter from this location.

The Front Desk staff very helpful with that famed Southern hospitality.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to experience authentic French Quarter accommodations.

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms have balconies that overlook French Quarter streets. Ground Floor rooms can walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for posting pics!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a descriptive review. We are off the mainstream "touristy" parts of the Quarter. The Chateau definitely has a more local feel.

It sounds like you were in the Honeymoon Suite, next time you are here the suite will have a new bathroom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

A lovely place to stay. A very quaint hotel with a beautiful private courtyard. Rooms are smaller but decent size considering everything in the French Quarter is so compact. They have everything you really need in a room. A shower w/a small tub, a mini fridge, two nightstqnds, a dresser, a desk, a tv & a closet. The bed was very comfortable and our room was very clean. The local newspaper at your door every morning & a small beakfast delivered to your room in the morning if you would like. Onsite valet parking for $20 per day which is cheap compared to the other parking in the area. Hotel staff was very friendly and helptul. Will definatly stay here when we go to New Orleans again. Great times here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Glad to hear you had great times at the Chateau Hotel. Please come back and see us soon!

Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

During Spring break 2012 had confirmed reserved room, not multiple rooms. Came back the evening before departure to find room vacated without prior notice or permission. Found suitcases, which had been moved to another room, packed willy nilly with dirty clothes and street shoes packed in on top of clean cloths. Brochures we collected from the different art galleries we visited were not to be found. Never in our lives have we ever felt so violated by such unwarranted action. Even in communist Russia we were always better treated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you feel we "violated" you. You were informed upon check-in of the room move and the upgrade your party received due to the fact we had to move you to a courtyard balcony room on your last night with us.

The Housekeeping Supervisor, who has been with the hotel since 1976, and myself moved your items. When we are faced with moving guests, we always strive to use the highest standard of professionalism.

We did move your party back to the second floor deluxe room after your party stated you would not be able to climb the stairs to your new second floor standard room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I went to vist the French Quarter for the second time and brought a friend with me to see it for the first time. I stayed in this hotel previously because I enjoyed the location of it. It's out of the noise, the lights, and the smell of other more party-going areas. I was very excited to stay on the second floor this time (I didn't even notice the stairs last time) and when I opened the door I was pleasantly surprised to see two very adorable beds that had the four poster feel to them (with two posts instead at the head) and though there was no window because of where we were in the building it was still nice. Could have done with another light as we only had one table lamp in the corner but we just turned the bathroom light on. The breakfast the first morning was about 3 hours late, but It's just breakfast. The other days it was on time and great. The people at the desk were helpful and kind and the workers as well always said hello.

If you're looking to stay close in the quarter to Jackson Square this is probably the best location for the best price. I called to many other hotels hoping that this would be the cheapest and not booked and it was! I was so excited. The tv was also not working most of the time, but we were on vacation so we didn't need it much at all.

There are many nice places to eat and souvenir shops close by to visit. You can catch the streetcar and sit on the wharf next to the river as well with a 5-10 minute walk. Its great.

And don't forget to swim in the pool before you leave. Will stop by again, hoping that the huge cockroach we found on the last night will stay gone. They are the misquitos of the south so I can't complain. Recommended stay for sure. Lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window if you're on the second floor. The first floor windows are right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and great suggestions for other travelers!

I hope you reported the malfunctioning television set to the Front Desk and I must apologize for the late breakfast. Please report all issues to the Front Desk the next time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West St. Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I escaped to New Orleans to celebrate both of our upcoming 50th birthdays. This was our first trip to New Orleans. I did a lot of searching, reading reviews, and of course checking out tripadvisor. Well, we decided on Chateau Hotel for several reasons: it was central to everything, had old charm, was medium range priced, and the reviews were good and where they were not the hotel management explained why and how the concerns were handled. Well, we just got back and had an amazing time. Dan at the front desk made us feel welcome the minute we walked in the door, and so did the bell hops, etc. Our room was beautiful, well appointed and spacious. The hotel itself is very French Quarter, unique, has a beautiful pool, and a nice continental breakfast which was a great start to our mornings. Here are our notes and tips.
If you can, ask to be housed in the main set of buildings. If you like the nightlife and noise - choose an outer room, if you want a little more quiet and privacy - go for the 2nd level or inside on the courtyard facing into pool. They have a 4 room building acorss the street which we were housed in, I would have much preferred the other main building although our room was beautiful. We faced to the street and across from us was a 24 hour neighborhood bar - excellent Bloody Mary's. But it did get busy and noisy so we never opened our shades. Another thing, I think since the ventilation and air conditioning was added later (historical building) we would get cigarette smoke circulating into our room from time to time from one of the other rooms. It did bother us the smell never saw any smoke FYI. The front desk brought in a large deodorizer which helped some. And, when the A/C kicked on it dissipated it as well. So, if you plan to spend a lot of time in the room or have allergies to smoke - I wouldn't stay in this room - 156. Other than that - we loved it. I wore earplugs for 2 nights just to make sure I could sleep, my girlfriend did not wear any and she slept fine as well. I think noise level will vary based on the week you are visting i.e. festivals, and the night life. This truly was a perfect spot. We walked all over town (would not recommend a car - do not need it). We walked to Riverwalk Shopping center and Aquarium, the edge of downtown and Harrahs, along the pier, to Bourbon Street, all over the French Quarter, walked to dinner to both Broussard's and NOLA, and walked down to the big park with the museum buildings but I don't remember the name of the park (I think Armstrong). I highly recommend Chateau Hotel. NOLA was awesome, food was great at Broussard's (old fashion charm), Cresent City Cooking was great, and highly recommended www.Strayboots.com for walking scavenger hunts that take you through the history and sites of New Orleans. We will be back. Our trip couldn't have been better. Oh and take the taxi to and from airport - best way to go rather than the van to hotel. Traveled April 20th to the 23rd, 2012.
Some fun notes - Cafe Du Monde was excellent and a fun stop, St. Louis Cathedral a must, Cafe Maspero - best Bloody Mary's, Coyote Ugly - great/friendly people and they had a free Crawfish boil while we were there (it was huge), great artictic places to stop and shop, cooking class at Cresent City Cooking should be a must, and just walk around as much as you can. What a wonderful city, but beware when walking around - the streets and sidewalks are old and riddled with cracks, dips, holes, etc. And, the life is eclectic and at sometimes very sad (poverty).
Hotel Mgmt. - You need to look at the toilet in this room - it wobbles from the wall, the night table between the two beds needs a leveler on one foot, and the smoke issue - other than that perfect (these are just small maintenance issues). Oh, and I am mailing your keys too. Kathy N. & Deb D.

Room Tip: If you can ask to be housed in the main set of buildings. If you like the nightlife and noise - choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
What a great review! Its always nice to hear what others' enjoy about out unique city.

We have adjusted the toilet since your visit. I apologize other guests' smoke bothered you. I hope our solution helped somewhat.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.