We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!! Everything we needed, no frills, great price!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Fultondale, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!! Everything we needed, no frills, great price!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We've stayed here twice now. First was in November 10', for our 20 year anniversary. My husband or myself had never been to NOLA, and just happened upon the place online. We had an awesome balcony room, very clean, old, but clean. The old is to be expected, it's NOLA and it's a historic area. The balcony view was awesome, even caught a great view of a wedding coming by. Perfect!! Staff was very friendly and helpful, they did recommend some tourist info, but never felt like I was being pushed to go there. Temperature was never an issue. It's the south so of course we used the heat and air cond, during the same weekend.
Our second trip we made with another couple, we had adjoining rooms in the courtyard area, near the pool. Rooms were very nice, we were able to open the adjoining door and visit with our friends, during the brief times we were in the room. The only issue we had, was with the air conditioning in our friends room, which quit on the second day we were there. This trip was in August 11" so it was sweltering. The hotel was full on this day, and another room was not available until the next day, so we opened our adjoining door and let the cool air in during the day so it wasn't totally unbearable at night, and the hotel moved them in a new room for our last night there as soon as it was vacant. No problems, at all even adjusted the price. The funny thing was they were given the exact room my husband and I stayed in on our first trip. Again the staff was very friendly, not overbearingly so but friendly. Offered advice on places to eat and site seeing. The hotel is great for us, guess it depends on what you are looking for. To us it was quaint, perfect in location, and had everything we needed. Planning a trip back with our friends in the fall, and planning on staying here again!!!

Room Tip: Like their Facebook page, they put specials there, get an awesome price!! Ask for courtyard room or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We love our return guests! I apologize for the a/c issues and I hope our solutions were satisfactory.

Thank you for taking the time to review The Chateau Hotel. Hopefully, we see you next time you are visiting New Orleans.

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    204
    84
    51
    48
See reviews for
72
268
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Perfectly situated if you're on your first trip to NOLA, walking distance to a lot of sights - and sounds - so leave your car at the parkinglot, and walk. Special house with a great court yard, which has a small swimmingpool, breakfast delievered to your rooom when you want it. Free Wifi in rooms (but it actually works best in the courtyard), Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the house behind the pool if you need a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
I'll agree with you, our location is nearly perfect for walking the French Quarter. Thanks for including the room tips-since we don't have cookie-cutter rooms-each one may offer something unique to each guest.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a very good stay at the Chateau Hotel. Our room was located in a building across St. Phillip from the reception area. It was roomy with two queen beds and an exposed brick wall, a good size closet, and the bathroom was also adequate. All of it was clean. The breakfast was continental and delivered at a specified time to your room. They do not have dining facilities. We were in a quiet location, although I understand that the rooms on the street can be noisy. The price was fair. We had no negative experiences here and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep, ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
You stayed in our Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds. It is far from the street and would be one of our quieter room. The hotel does not have any control over the daily comings and goings of French Qaurter noise.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and love to hear you would come back.

Thanks for taking time to pen a review of the Chateau Hotel.

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and has great potential. Some things about it are pleasant, such as breakfast (with the possibility of having it in the room at no extra charge) and the daily local newpaper, both included in the price. The courtyard is also very nice.

I stayed at the hotel in February 2012 with my husband for four nights. The first night we were given a room (# 115) at the street level, with no possibility of opening the windows, which is quite common in the French Quarter, due to the structure of the houses and safety reasons. However, the bad part was that, since the windows did not have clear curtains, but only thick ones, in order to enjoy our privacy, we had to have the thick curtains pulled, so the room was completely dark and we could not enjoy any natural light. Also, the only way to change the air in the room was to have the main door open, which, again, meant to have no privacy whatsover. This kind of room should just not be sold, not in these conditions, until they provide it at least with some clear curtains, that allow natural light to come in while still enjoying the privacy one expects in a hotel room! The kind gentleman at the reception changed our room the following day, and gave us one with balcony. This time we had plenty of light, fresh air and privacy. The room itself had a great potential, but the old carpet, curtains and towels and the its smell of old took a lot away from what could otherwise have been a very pleasant stay. What a pity! When we checked out, the Reservation Manager took only $20.00 off the final bill, after I complained about the first night, and explained that some previous guests had ripped off the clear curtains in the room we had gotten the first night. How does it really take to replace curtains? The gentleman that was at the reception the last two days also does not seem to be the right person for this kind of client-oriented job. Again, what a pity! The hotel could be such a gem!

Room Tip: Choose the room on the higher level overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Sarah I Drake at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Chateau Hotel.

I am sorry to hear your room discount and room upgrade to a balcony room were not sufficient solutions to the lack of heavy drapes in your initial room. As I told you when we spoke, the replacement drapes were being hand-made and have since been hung in the room.

We appreciate your comments and hope you will come back and see our improvements!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The staff and location are great, the rooms are well maintained.

Room Tip: Anything facing the pool may be loud due to late vistors arround talking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Next time you stay with us, If you encounter late night courtyard noise, please alert the front desk. We hope to see you soon!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NATCHEZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here many times. It is perfect! 2 blocks from Bourbon St and 2 blocks from the river front. We have also stayed in the condo they own across the street. It is great for 2 couples. Huge living room, dining room, 2 bedrooms. Excellant. The night before we had to check out, I had imbibed a little too much at the Blacksmith's Tavern. When the maid came the next morning, I jokingly asked if I could sleep a few more hours before having to leave; she said "baby, you just stay in that bed and I'll be back in a few hours"...How great was that?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.

Each staff member at the Chateau Hotel comes with their own unique personalities!

We hope to see you back soon!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau Hotel 1001 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, La. THe service and staff were wonderful, friendly and professional. Breakfast served to you daily with the paper in a comfort garden stay courtyard. I would recommend this stay for couples and families alike. We will be back next year for sure. Thank you Chateau for the greatest stay.
Mr & Mrs. Holloway

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We enjoyed having you! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hotel Royal
#97 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Hotel St. Helene
#117 of 156 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#101 of 156 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.