We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Maison Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Maison Guest House
Save Saved
You added Bon Maison Guest House to your Saves list
835 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location, great price, beautiful courtyard and a gracious and hospitable host. Bon Maison has it all. Thanks again Chuck for everything....really enjoyed our visit and the time spent with you guys!

Room Tip: Slave Quarter rooms are farther from the street and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
51
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, Excellent service, very happy we choose Bon Masion. Recommended to us by a friend, looked at the prices and could not believe the reasonable rates for being on Bourbon street. Chuck was very understanding and let us arrive early on Sunday morning so we could attend Mass at St Louis. Parking was reasonable and take Chucks advice and park at Bourbon Orleans, it's worth it. The Victorian suite was amazing, clean, and well worth the price. The court yard was beautiful and it was nice to get away and enjoy a bottle of wine in the afternoon. The front gate locks and is secure so no one off the street can wonder in. It was so nice to shop on Royal street and Jackson square and walk a few blocks back to your room. Even if you need to use the restroom, your room is a short couple blocks back. All the Bourbon street bars are foot steps out your room and you don't have to worry about an expensive taxi ride or a drunken dangerous walk back to your hotel, your room is right there. Even with loud party goers walking by, the room was reasonable quite. Thank you so much, Chuck, for making my fiancée birthday a fun and memorable one. Your place is beautiful and we will make Bon Masion our place to stay in NOLA. Looking forward to book another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Now that I have experienced Bon Maison Guest house I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans again. Great location it was quiet but yet only a block away from the fun. The courtyard was beautiful it was nice to get away from the craziness of New Orleans and sit in the courtyard with a glass of wine. I look forward to our next stay at Bon Maison and visiting with the host, Chuck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location, cool people, felt very safe and secure. We stayed in one of the old "slave quarters" which was right off the courtyard. Nobody really was hanging out in the courtyard or anything and it was set off from the street so it was really pretty quiet. I thought the price was very good for the location. Pretty and charming

The only downsides were the bed and the shower. My husband and I both have recurring back and neck problems and the bed really set them off. Very squishy, sags in the middle, the mattress just really needs to be replaced and so do the pillows. Also the shower drained really really slow, and it's probably just me but I have this thing about there being water around my feet and ankles when I shower so that ooked me out a little bit.

Room Tip: Stayed in the slave quarter off of the courtyard. You can see our white door in the pictures I will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callao, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the two bedroom with our son and his girlfriend on 12/26/12. Fantastic place. Our room opened onto the beautiful courtyard. Chuck was there for our every need. What a host! Right in the center of everything. Quiet and comfortable just a few steps from the insane area of Bourbon St. Very easy to find your way home after letting loose. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern, Luzern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have had a wonderful time in New Orleans! The Bon Maison Guest House is one of the most beautiful lodging we have stayed in the southern states. We are very grateful for the lovely hospitality. We definitely will come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is our second time to stay at the Bon Maison. When in New Orleans, we will always try to stay there. It is in the heart of Bourbon St., convienently located to all the action, plus Frenchman St. and everything you want to do. Reasonably priced, beautiful courtyard, nicely furnished room with kitchenette and antiques. Very accomadating hosts. Definetely would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Maison Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Maison Guest House

Address: 835 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Bon Maison Guest House during your next visit to New Orleans! The 1833 Historic Town House and Slave Quarters are located in the heart of the French Quarter on Bourbon Street. Relax in our beautiful Courtyard. Shopping and restaurants are only steps away. All of our updated suites are furnished in New Orleans style, offer Private Entrances, Queen-size beds, Private Bath, Cable, Heating and Air Conditioning, Kitchenettes (small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker), and Iron/Ironing Board. Smoking is allowed in the areas of Courtyard and Balconies only (not in rooms). Accommodations are not suitable for children. No pets allowed. Open year round. Great for small groups! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bon Maison Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Maison Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.