We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #15 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Celina, United States
1 review
“Overall Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

terrific staff and eager to help. the hotel was impressive and clean with a lot of space in the room to manuever for a family of 4. they gave us an upgrade which really helped. Only complaint was that they seemed short staffed at desk and breaksfast. Just couldn't keep up with demand and it kept people waiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    287
    70
    21
    9
See reviews for
142
266
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. Perfect location within walking distance to everything. The hotel is on Carondolet street which is actually an extension of Bourbon Street on the other side of Canal Street. Close but not too close. Very quiet hotel rooms with large rooms and high ceilings. Black out drapes are a blessing for the awesome huge windows. Ask for a high floor It used to be a bank therefore nothing about it resembles a Hampton. Not much of a lobby and doesn't need one because the breakfast is in a huge room on the 4 th floor. It is a highly trafficked hotel yet the breakfast was the best presentation and maintenance we have ever encountered at any Hampton and we have stayed at many. Kudos to the breakfast crew. The service and friendliness in this hotel is beyond compare. Public areas and rooms are immaculate. Beds are very comfy. This hotel is to be commended. There are stores for food all around. We got fried chicken from the store on the corner as a late night snack and it was amazing. As far as the reviews stating seedy people, we didn't find that to be the case. We loved the location particularly the access to the st Charles street car which runs in front of the hotel. Take the streetcar to the Garden District and eat at Commanders Palace. Thus is where Emeril started out. It's lovely and has a strict dress code. 25 cent lunch martinis during the week. Eat at Galatoires for Friday lunch and join the locals for an afternoon of celebrating anything and everything. An 80 year tradition. It's a hoot! Also has a dress code. And don't forget Cafe Du Monde. Enjoy your trip!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It is a few blocks from Bourbon Street. Not a loud area, you can actually sleep tight at night :) The hotel is very well maintained. We stayed at a king room and it's huge! I mean really surprisingly big! with a separate living room (with a pull out sofa bed), it has an elegant modern decor. The ceiling is so high that it made the room so much more spacious. I like that they really thought about putting more than enough power outlets in the room. Four on each bed side table. For people like me who wants their cellphone and other tech gadgets charging close by, you don't have to get up to check your emails or turn off the alarm on your phone. There's even one in the safe, for when you want to charge your gadgets while you're out. The breakfast is free and very decent. The staff are friendly, front desk even called a few minutes after we checked in to ask if we are happy with our room and the people at the dining/breakfast room are so fast at taking care of tables and sensitive enough to offer table activities for kids.

Downside of this hotel; The elevators need a room key card to activate floor buttons and no indoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were impressed with this hotel, overall. The staff went out of their was to be as friendly and professional as possible and the rooms were nicely appointed. It seems like they were recently updated. Comfortable beds and large flat screen TV in the room was a huge plus. The hotel offers a free breakfast, which was just okay, but I would probably skip it next time. The location of the hotel was good and was walking distance to the French Quarter, but just know that the street the hotel is on gets a bit sketchy at night. We returned to the hotel late and there were a lot of vagrant people walking up and down the street. I really didn't feel safe and it did not help that there was no one to take my car when we pulled up from a night on the town. Other than that, it was a fantastic property that was centrally located. The rates were reasonably priced and we felt like we got a great deal for the price paid. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of Carondelet Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I should have known not to stay too close to the French Quarter........Could not sleep all night due to the "party people", which I cannot stand to be in large groups with. This was a clean place and the rate was fair. The staff was friendly, but looked worn out by the local sheep grazing about drunken. Housekeeping needs to pay a little more attention to details. But overall was a decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was a perfect hotel for our trip to the French Quarter. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk everywhere in the French Quarter, is clean, the staff is friendly and efficient, beds were comfortable, the room is large and the breakfast was good. We are a family of 5 and stayed in one of their Suites with 2 queen beds, we also asked for a roll away. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay very close to the French Quarter.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is in a great location. It is near everything you would want to walk to. The staff were very good and it took only five minutes to get our car out of valet parking. The breakfast was good. The shower did not work well and we stood in water as we were taking showers, but all in all the experience was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.