We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in the Big Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #19 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Sturgeon Bay, United States
1 review
“A good place to stay in the Big Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I found the location of the Hampton Inn in D'town New Orleans to be perfect for us to enjoy the French Quarter with all it's great restaurants and night life. We were only 2 blocks away. When the evening was over we were able to retire to our peaceful room in our quiet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    253
    59
    19
    9
See reviews for
125
209
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have only great things to say about this hotel!!! I just came back from my trip to New Orleans for a friend's birthday. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The entire hotel was also very clean. During the week, the hotel provides guests with free breakfast and not just coffee and a few pasties, but an actual buffet! The hotel is also in a great location, near restaurants, shops, including a CVS, the French Quarter and of course Bourbon Street!!! I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Hampton Inn - Downtown to any of my family and friends who decide to visit New Orleans!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms are very clean & reasonably appointed. The hotel offers an apparent complimentary breakfast! Why not sell it as bed & breakfast???
The breakfast is buffet style & whilst limited in terms of hot choice the provision of cold breakfast items was good. The hot food was tasty. A pity it is on paper plates as that does make it feel cheap.
The staff when consulted were both friendly & as helpful as they could be!!!
In a nutshell a good solid hotel that I would stay at again without hesitation.....

Room Tip: A high room will help to avoid street noise pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had a great experience here while traveling on a road trip. The location is only ok, but is only a short walk to the french quarter. The rooms were immaculate, spacious, and recently renovated with a contemporary design. The beds were extremely comfortable. This might have been my favorite hotel on my entire month long road trip cross country. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel had old fashioned charm and the ultimate in convenience. Street car access right in front of the lobby. There was a delightful managers reception one evening and the food and beverages were very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Clean. Friendly staff. Minutes walking distance to everything NOLA has to offer. Fitness center is above average. Free wifi is nice. Complimentary breakfast is okay, but if you're in New Orleans, why would you settle for instant eggs and cereal? Walk 5 minutes to the French Quarter and get some shrimp and grits or beignets,

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Park the car w/ the valet and walk around the city or catch the trolley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at this Hampton to visit the French Quarter. Great location, less than a block away. The room & bathroom was average size, but pretty complete. This Hampton has a microwave & refrigerator. Keyed access to the elevator, and to the lobby after dark. Lots of outlets for my electronics. Good and expansive breakfast. Parking is one of the few drawbacks- no self parking and valet is $29.75 per day. Enjoyable and someplace to consider the next time I visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.