We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #14 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Cobham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location downtown with the whole French Quarter readily accessible on foot. Slight difficulty with valet parking because of building work next door but all staff were very helpful. The room was one of the largest we have stayed in and the recent renovation is obvious. When leaving the car was at the front door by the time we got to the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    282
    67
    20
    8
See reviews for
139
255
36
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inglis, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

At the end of a two week road trip to Colorado from Florida and back, imagine our great suprise with the outstanding accomodations at the Hampton Inn New Orleans-Downtown! We were pleasantly greeted in the midst of the afternoon rush by Calvin, who helped us unload our vehicle and guide us to our room. The front desk upgraded our room to a fabulous 12th story king with fantastic views! Thought I was staying at a $400/night room for less than I paid at Hamptons just off the interstate in Texas. The room was extraordinarily clean and quiet. Breakfast was great and the hotel was the perfect springboard to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter! We will definitely stay here again and you should too!

Room Tip: Our corner suite was large and updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Best location in New Orleans. Hotel is newly renovated and beautiful. Staff is very helpful and so hospitable. The reservation process was a piece of cake. Check in was quick and they even called the room shortly after check in to make sure the room was OK. The bell staff always greeted us and wished us a nice day if we were heading out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for long weekend in N.O. Hotel in perfect location in French Quarter. No pool availability was a drag. Rooms newly renovated but walls are very thin. Neighbors were noisy first night but after one call to front desk it was resolved. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I prefer properties just outside the Quarter when I stay in New Orleans - so I can escape to an oasis outside of the din of the party. This hotel met and exceeded my expectations.

My oversized room had been recently updated and was very well appointed.

It's a short 2-block walk to Bourbon St, very well-lit, and safe. There's always a doorman in front to help. The St. Charles streetcar line is steps away.

The staff made my stay a delight. LaTrenda at the front desk is the best!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stone mountain, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

other than the house keeper not speaking english and not knowing where the ice machine was, it was a wonderful stay. The breakfast was meatless, so i ate out. The hotel room was luxurious and it reminded me of a 4 star hotel. It had high ceilings, spacious environment with decent decor and a 42 inch flat screen TV did not hurt my comfort meter. The beds were pillow top and pillows soft and cold as a sank into the sheets after a long day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading mixed reviews about this hotel, I decided to book 2 rooms for my family anyway. I'm glad I did. We had an excellent room that had been renovated (and took the advice to get a corner room) with high ceilings and spacious beyond our imagination. We were unable to get the second room right next to us, but just through the hall and on the other side, a mere probably 20 steps away because of the size bedding we requested. Morning breakfast was fabulous and a huge assortment each day with the 'main entree' rotating so it wasn't the same old every morning, though you could still have that, too, if you wanted with all the fruit, oatmeal, cereals, muffins that were consistent. The breakfast room was huge and only 1 morning when there was a couple of buses of students eating at the same time was there any lack of seating. We were close enough to the French Quarter as we don't like to be right in the heart of it and passed by a few local restaurants that we would've missed out on had we been elsewhere. There is no pool but we asked at the desk about utilizing one of the other Hampton Inn's and they said 'just let us know when you want to go and we'll contact them ahead and also have the shuttle ready for you.' Unfortunately we never had the time to go to the pool, but that's not our reason or a huge concern for visiting New Orleans. If we do ever return to New Orleans, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.