We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #19 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
stone mountain, United States
1 review
“john hollins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

other than the house keeper not speaking english and not knowing where the ice machine was, it was a wonderful stay. The breakfast was meatless, so i ate out. The hotel room was luxurious and it reminded me of a 4 star hotel. It had high ceilings, spacious environment with decent decor and a 42 inch flat screen TV did not hurt my comfort meter. The beds were pillow top and pillows soft and cold as a sank into the sheets after a long day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    253
    59
    19
    9
See reviews for
125
209
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mars, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading mixed reviews about this hotel, I decided to book 2 rooms for my family anyway. I'm glad I did. We had an excellent room that had been renovated (and took the advice to get a corner room) with high ceilings and spacious beyond our imagination. We were unable to get the second room right next to us, but just through the hall and on the other side, a mere probably 20 steps away because of the size bedding we requested. Morning breakfast was fabulous and a huge assortment each day with the 'main entree' rotating so it wasn't the same old every morning, though you could still have that, too, if you wanted with all the fruit, oatmeal, cereals, muffins that were consistent. The breakfast room was huge and only 1 morning when there was a couple of buses of students eating at the same time was there any lack of seating. We were close enough to the French Quarter as we don't like to be right in the heart of it and passed by a few local restaurants that we would've missed out on had we been elsewhere. There is no pool but we asked at the desk about utilizing one of the other Hampton Inn's and they said 'just let us know when you want to go and we'll contact them ahead and also have the shuttle ready for you.' Unfortunately we never had the time to go to the pool, but that's not our reason or a huge concern for visiting New Orleans. If we do ever return to New Orleans, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

On business trip for a week. Not really impressed with this Hampton Inn. I almost feel like 3 stars is too much. The staff was ok. Floor was noisy due to partiers coming and going all night. Room outdated and not the cleanest. I noticed they were renovating some of the rooms on the floor I was on. That added to the noise and staff leaving things all over the place. Wish they had gotten to mine first or put me in a nicer room. Not happy that I had to pay a small fortune everyday to park. Also found out there was no laundry facility available in the hotel which was totally inconvenient for folks who are on extended business trips. The dining room doors were kept shut until 6 or 6:30 (can't remember) so getting fresh coffee for early risers is not an option.

Room Tip: I'm guessing this is a problem for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from New Orleans!
First of all I wanted to thank you for staying with us when you were visiting our city. I wanted to find out if it was possible for you to call me at the hotel to further discuss your stay with us. The number is 504-529-9990. I am unsure of the dates in which you stayed, but since every one of our rooms have been remodeled since mid-August, I can only assume it was prior to that time. I am curious of some specific things with regards to your stay, and I would appreciate it so much if I could speak with you regarding it.
Sincerely,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has good rooms, I can't complain about that except for the cleanliness of the windows. Looking out of the window to the street anyone can see the glasses haven't been clean in ages. That is so sad because for the rest it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic rooms with high ceilings. Spacious. Great location just a short walk to Bourbon Street. Staff was first class. This is an old building that was renovated and turned into a hotel. They did a fantastic job of keeping the old and mixing in the new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on Carondelet, which turns into Bourbon St. It is close to all the action but in a quieter place within walking distance of the French Quarter. It is a nice hotel but was going through some renovation at the time we were there and the pool was closed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a room on the 10th floor. It was very clean and comfortable. For the most part the staff was friendly and helpful but we did find the valet parking staff to be somewhat less so. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.