We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #15 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Miami, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel/Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

One of the best Hampton Inns I have stayed at. Recently refurbished. The rooms are very spacious comfortable and quiet. The breakfast area on the 4th floor is very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is convenient, 2 pharmacies near by and only 2 blocks from the French Quarter. Street car stops right in front of the hotel. Beware of high parking fees if bringing your own car ($30.00 over night). It's possible to find street parking around the area, but can be very challenging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    220
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
100
174
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newman, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed one night as a group of us were leaving to drive to Jennings the next day. The staff are so friendly especially the lady at the front desk (not sure of her name) but she was so funny. The room was big and on the floor where breakfast is and where there was a special get together on the day we arrived. It is close to everything i would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Ms
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was the BEST hotel stay ever. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and well organized. The rooms cozy and spaceous. And the location is perfect for Bourbon Street. This is my 1st choice whenever I visit the city again. Well pleased!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and everything was perfect! We would definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans. Location was close (one block) to Bourdon Street, but far enough away from the noise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff at the front desk were excellent. Great in giving us some ideas for while we were there and also assisted in extending our stay there. The room was large which was nice since we stayed for several days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn New Orleans-Downtown July 1st and 2nd. Beautiful hotel! We stayed on the 10th floor which was newly renovated. Super comfy bed and huge room! Everything was clean. Breakfast was awesome with a lot of selections. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The location was two blocks off of Canal, great location! We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel. It's going through renovations, but is still a good choice to stay at. We stayed on the 10th floor, which was recently renovated. It looked just like the pictures on the website. Clean room, up to date decor, and big enough shower for two. The shower head needed to be replaced but it still worked. They had a free breakfast, but we never went to it. The hotel is located perfectly in the French Quarter. Not too far of a walk to the superdome, just a few blocks away from Bourbon St. The only issue I had was with the valets. They left my interior lights on in my truck, which drained my battery. They didn't charge for the valet service, but i still ended up having to get a new battery, since one of the battery cells went bad. You can't go wrong by going with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.