We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #14 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Winona, Ms
2 reviews
“Excellect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was the BEST hotel stay ever. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and well organized. The rooms cozy and spaceous. And the location is perfect for Bourbon Street. This is my 1st choice whenever I visit the city again. Well pleased!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    285
    70
    21
    9
See reviews for
141
264
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and everything was perfect! We would definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans. Location was close (one block) to Bourdon Street, but far enough away from the noise.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff at the front desk were excellent. Great in giving us some ideas for while we were there and also assisted in extending our stay there. The room was large which was nice since we stayed for several days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn New Orleans-Downtown July 1st and 2nd. Beautiful hotel! We stayed on the 10th floor which was newly renovated. Super comfy bed and huge room! Everything was clean. Breakfast was awesome with a lot of selections. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The location was two blocks off of Canal, great location! We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel. It's going through renovations, but is still a good choice to stay at. We stayed on the 10th floor, which was recently renovated. It looked just like the pictures on the website. Clean room, up to date decor, and big enough shower for two. The shower head needed to be replaced but it still worked. They had a free breakfast, but we never went to it. The hotel is located perfectly in the French Quarter. Not too far of a walk to the superdome, just a few blocks away from Bourbon St. The only issue I had was with the valets. They left my interior lights on in my truck, which drained my battery. They didn't charge for the valet service, but i still ended up having to get a new battery, since one of the battery cells went bad. You can't go wrong by going with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel far exceeded our hopes. It's beautiful and the staff is great. Very clean (in an otherwise pretty filthy city) and a much welcome oasis to return to every night. The fourth floor lounge is a very thoughtful addition for guests, and the breakfast buffet was great. Love that the elevators only work if you have a key card, so security is high. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped in New Orleans for one night, and we wanted to enjoy a nice afternoon and evening with family and friends. There were two families in two rooms. We had my husband, myself and my pre-teen son, and our friends had themselves and four teenage girls. We had just finished a week at the beach, so the fact that there was no pool didn't bother us. This was a great hotel for our purposes, and we were pleased with everything from beginning to end.

Check-In:
When we pulled up, the valet service was very good. They were helpful and informative. We went in and checked in easily even though we were a bit early. They had yummy cranberry white chocolate cookies freshly baked and waiting for us. I've got to get that recipe!

Rooms:
We had adjoining rooms on the fourth floor. This floor is the floor where breakfast is served. The reception room had coffee, tea and apples for us to grab whenever we needed it. Our rooms were HUGE! For what we paid, we were really happy. There was a large flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, chaise lounge and two queen beds with classic wooden posts. There was so much room to move even with all of the furniture, and there were two large windows overlooking the city. The ceilings were high, and there was a nice-sized closet. The bathroom was also quite large and clean. We couldn't have been happier with our room.

Area:
The area that the hotel is in is just a block and a half away from where Bourbon Street begins. We walked easily to dinner at Deanie's (YUUUM), and we spent a few hours on Bourbon Street afterward.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was very good. There were lots to choose from. They had oatmeal, pastries, bagels, English muffins, toast, Denver omelettes, turkey sausage, biscuits, freshly cut fruit, cereal and granola. They had juices, water, tea, coffee, milk. I had plenty to eat.

We loved this place and will be happy to stay here if we ever make it back to New Orleans!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.