We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #15 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Room & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff at the front desk were excellent. Great in giving us some ideas for while we were there and also assisted in extending our stay there. The room was large which was nice since we stayed for several days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    221
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
102
176
32
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn New Orleans-Downtown July 1st and 2nd. Beautiful hotel! We stayed on the 10th floor which was newly renovated. Super comfy bed and huge room! Everything was clean. Breakfast was awesome with a lot of selections. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The location was two blocks off of Canal, great location! We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel. It's going through renovations, but is still a good choice to stay at. We stayed on the 10th floor, which was recently renovated. It looked just like the pictures on the website. Clean room, up to date decor, and big enough shower for two. The shower head needed to be replaced but it still worked. They had a free breakfast, but we never went to it. The hotel is located perfectly in the French Quarter. Not too far of a walk to the superdome, just a few blocks away from Bourbon St. The only issue I had was with the valets. They left my interior lights on in my truck, which drained my battery. They didn't charge for the valet service, but i still ended up having to get a new battery, since one of the battery cells went bad. You can't go wrong by going with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel far exceeded our hopes. It's beautiful and the staff is great. Very clean (in an otherwise pretty filthy city) and a much welcome oasis to return to every night. The fourth floor lounge is a very thoughtful addition for guests, and the breakfast buffet was great. Love that the elevators only work if you have a key card, so security is high. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped in New Orleans for one night, and we wanted to enjoy a nice afternoon and evening with family and friends. There were two families in two rooms. We had my husband, myself and my pre-teen son, and our friends had themselves and four teenage girls. We had just finished a week at the beach, so the fact that there was no pool didn't bother us. This was a great hotel for our purposes, and we were pleased with everything from beginning to end.

Check-In:
When we pulled up, the valet service was very good. They were helpful and informative. We went in and checked in easily even though we were a bit early. They had yummy cranberry white chocolate cookies freshly baked and waiting for us. I've got to get that recipe!

Rooms:
We had adjoining rooms on the fourth floor. This floor is the floor where breakfast is served. The reception room had coffee, tea and apples for us to grab whenever we needed it. Our rooms were HUGE! For what we paid, we were really happy. There was a large flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, chaise lounge and two queen beds with classic wooden posts. There was so much room to move even with all of the furniture, and there were two large windows overlooking the city. The ceilings were high, and there was a nice-sized closet. The bathroom was also quite large and clean. We couldn't have been happier with our room.

Area:
The area that the hotel is in is just a block and a half away from where Bourbon Street begins. We walked easily to dinner at Deanie's (YUUUM), and we spent a few hours on Bourbon Street afterward.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was very good. There were lots to choose from. They had oatmeal, pastries, bagels, English muffins, toast, Denver omelettes, turkey sausage, biscuits, freshly cut fruit, cereal and granola. They had juices, water, tea, coffee, milk. I had plenty to eat.

We loved this place and will be happy to stay here if we ever make it back to New Orleans!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay to enjoy all areas of New Orleans. They have rennovated the rooms and they are beautiful. We always request a room at the end of the hallway and they always honor our requests. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Lobby could use some sprucing up but the hotel is under rennovation so hopefully the lobby is on the list. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful, reasonably priced hotel! Went there for a weekend trip with my friends and was so impressed by everything. We were wow-ed when we entered the room and when we went to the complimentary breakfast. I'm at the hotel, motel, HAMPTON INN! I love the quality of this hotel brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.