We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans, Louisiana,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #29 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Orleans, Louisiana,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were not sure about this hotel for a tour of Treme, but it was centrally located to plenty major attractions, The French Quarter, Canal Street, The Riverfront. It was affordable, less fussy than the larger properties and the service was excellent. We enjoyed our stay here and the location to attractions and events we wanted to attend. An affordable family price with spacious rooms, hard to find in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Large spacious rooms with high ceilings, a small, quite Hotel in New Orleans, centrally located to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slidelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn on your recent visit to New Orleans! I know you have many hotels to choose from, and I'm so thrilled you chose us! As I'm sure you could tell, we are in the middle of a renovation. Perhaps you could come back and visit us once it is complete. I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor!
Take Care
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle
Level Contributor
150 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The biggest standard rooms I have ever seen at a hampton Inn, with 15 foot cielings and 10 foot tall windows, it is a unique building to be sure. Standard Hampton breakfast, cookies and friendly service at the front desk, it's just a great option in a great New Orleans location. The valet situation was a bit haphazzard, the area where the car is dilivered is often crowded, and even when you call down, it seemed like they didn't head off to get the car until you arrived in person (even though they ask you to call ahead), but that was a minor deal. Overall, very good, I'd stay there again and reccomend this hotel to just about anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007DAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to New Orleans! We know you have many hotels to choose from, and we're just thrilled you decided to stay with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I can take a moment to explain a little bit about the valet situation. It seems some guests tend to call for their vehicle much earlier than they actually need it. Since the space out front is limited, the cars sit there and then there is no space to bring other cars around. On some occassions, if the vehicle sits there longer than 10 minutes, the meter maids will ticket it. On very busy check out days, we bring the car around once the guest is downstairs to prevent the above situations from happening. Hopefully this explains a little on the issues at hand, but I hope it doesn't stop you from coming to visit us again soon!

Take Care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is our second attempt to send a review to Trip Advisor, about this New Orleans Hotel.
The first review wouldn't send, so let's hope this one goes!

We were so impressed with our stay here Sept. 1st - 8th/12, that we wrote a personal thank-you card to the general manager & her staff, but because of a long day's drive ahead of us, and in our haste to get going, we forgot to leave it at the front desk...

There is nothing this hotel won't do to make your stay in New Orleans outstanding.
From the front desk, to the bellmen, to the breakfast staff, to the maid service, and to anyone wearing a Hampton name tag, etc....You get the picture, don't you? - Absolutely outstanding.

Thank-you Hampton for adding your very own little chapter in our 50+ years of marriage!

From 2 of your biggest fans,
Peter & Rita

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Rita!
I am so sorry I did not get to meet you guys when you were here celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary! I hope you received my voicemail in your room, and I hope you enjoyed your basket! It is sooooooooo nice to see such a positive review, and I thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Fanci and the girls down at the desk could not stop saying how sweet you and your husband were! We hope to see you again soon!
Take care,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-August. The location of the hotel is perfect. The front desk staff is very outgoing & friendly (that seems to be the norm for New Orleans). Our room was suprisingly very large and had all the basic amenities. My only suggestion to management is to consider getting rid of the paper plates & cups at breakfast and switch to something more environmentally friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to New Orleans. I know you have many hotels to choose from, and I'm just happy you chose us. Hopefully you can come back and visit us once our renovations are complete! I also appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Take Care
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay st louis
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very good for the new orleans area. Have stayed here a few times and had no plroblems witht he stay. The Hotel is very clean, safe, and over a good value for what we paid. It is slap in Middle of the city one can walk to just about anythang in the area. You will hear the sounds of Bourban street when you walk out the door. Is one of the better hotels in new orleans.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I am so pleased that you feel we are one of the better hotels in the city; that makes me feel great! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us when you visit New Orleans! I really appreciate also that you took the time to review us on Trip Advisor!
Hope to see you soon,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stay at A LOT of Hilton hotels (HH Diamond member for years) and this HI is in my top five fav's!
Great location. Great staff. Better fitness facility than most.
Rooms are very nice, plus, they are doing renovations so they will only get better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, August 20, 2012
So excited that each of your stays have been great and that this Hampton Inn is one of your top five favorites! I am going to share your comments with my staff, so they know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor; I really appreciate it.

Hope to see you soon!
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

There was no down side to our stay here. The room cost less then $100 (with a AAA discount), it was in walking distance to the French Quarter, but not IN the Quarter, which is nice, the room was clean and the saff was all so attentive and nice. And the breakfast was awesome. Waffles, omlettes, juice, fruit, oatmeal, etc. A great location for a family visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N0str0m0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us when you visited New Orleans. It is really nice to hear that your stay was great and that you like the location. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Hope to see you soon,
Tricia Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,066 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carondelet Building, noted as the first "skyscraper" in New Orleans, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter area) artfully combines the city's rich history with modern conveniences. Just one block from the French Quarter's Bourbon Street, famous restaurants, antique shopping and top attractions, our Hotel in Downtown New Orleans gives you easy access to the best this world-class city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing