We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #91 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
La Porte, Texas, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at the Blake Hotel went way beyond our expectations. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was Extremely clean and well put together, excellent fitness center, walking distance to just about everything!! We can't wait until our visit back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 and we never heard any noise expect the street car every once in a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    82
    42
    25
    11
See reviews for
30
64
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Purchased a Travelzoo deal for $79/night. This hotel is so convenient. 2 blocks away from the French quarter. About 6-7 blocks to the Superdome. Definitely walkable to a lot of the nearby attractions. The lobby is beautiful, and they offer several computers for guests to use. They also have a gym on the 11th floor with treadmills, eliptical, bike, and weights along with towels and water. We had 2 queen beds in our room. It was adequate in size. The downside is the bathroom. The shower head was mounted really high, so for someone under 5'4", by the time the water reached me, it was so weak. Also, the vent didn't seem to be in working condition.
Everything was going well with the hotel until the day before we left. We had an incident with the housekeeping services which we had to file a complaint. The management was apologetic about our missing items, but the incident left a bad taste in our mouths. On top of that, we saw a huge roach crawling across our room on the last night. If it wasn't for these things, we would definitely give this hotel higher marks. Would I stay here again? Maybe. There are plenty of hotels nearby, so I would definitely look around first before choosing this place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Service was very pleasant! All requests and needs were provided for. Was happy to stay at Blake and will definitely stay again. The location was ideal to connecting with other parts of the city, especially with street cars available at the door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Doug W:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to New Orleans. We are so pleased you found everything right where you needed it. Do come again soon. The summertime is wonderful in NOLA!

All the best,
The Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent a few wonderful days in New Orleans and I was very happy to stay at the Blake; very nice room and the location was perfect, far enough from the madness of Bourbon Street but within walking distance from all the major attractions in a city that has lots to show!!!
Rooms are large and well kept, very quiet too...And the service and genuine smiles worth a lot, the Front Desk was a pleasure to work with, good recomandations for places to see and making shure that any request will be met!!!
Heartfelt thanks to Elizabeth, Jeenifer S and Allyson for helping make this trip memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear amarcoNYC:

What a lovely note about your experience at the Blake Hotel New Orleans. We do our very best to exceed all guest expectations. I will pass along your kind words to Elizabeth, Jennifer S. and Allyson. Please do come back and see us soon. There are great deals to be had in the summer time!

Travel Safe,
The Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harahan, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the ac blew right on the bed.....I slept so well. The French Quarter is a few minute walk, but I felt safe. The staff was very nice and the hotel felt clean. The only downfall was the parking. We decided to park on the street and received a $20 ticket, but it's still cheaper than parking through the hotel. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Tammy M.
Thank you for visiting our hotel recently. We are so pleased that you "slept so well" and that our staff was accommodating. We expect nothing less!

We are so sorry about the parking ticket. Just and FYI, there is parking at night near by on the street, but it is a bit unpredictable and we feel our guests cars are so much safer when in the hands of PMS parking company, our partners in service. We can't wait until you return.

Best Regards,
Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I arrived early and had no problem checking in. The desk staff were polite and helpful. The welcome package in the room (water, chips and souvenir coins) were appreciated as was the handwritten welcome note from the manager. Excellent PR!
Location was good. Walking distance to the French Quarter, but far enough away to be quiet. On the St Charles Street trolley line which was convenient if you were to tired to walk back.
The big downside was the elevator! It had to be the slowest in the world! You could wait almost 5 minutes for it to arrive! This really needs to be addressed.
My room was a corner room so I had a great view and the bed was comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear 51traveller:

We are so grateful that you chose the Blake Hotel New Orleans for your recent visit. We aim to make every guest stay relaxing and a home away from home. Seems the bedding, location and team met your expectations. We are presently working on the elevator situation. We apologize for that inconvenience during your trip.

Here's hoping you will be back soon!

Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is quite nice for the low rates they charged me (booked on their website and paid in full).The building is in the process of being renovated, but even so, the room we stayed in was nicely appointed and there were no signs of renovations on the 10th floor where the room was located. The staff is accommodating, and provided many good recommendations for places to eat. Yes, you can hear the St. Charles streetcar passing, but it becomes part of the ambient noise after a while. Being on a higher floor likely helped with the volume of the disturbance. Being a relatively light sleeper, I did not have a problem with the noise from the streetcar. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the French Quarter, and an even shorter walk to Harrah's and the Riverwalk area.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to help minimize noise from the streetcar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Blake Hotel. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and took in all the perks of being located right on the Streetcar line and our walkability to many of the famous New Orleans attractions. We are even happier you booked direct with us and took advantage of our early bird booking package. It is worth it!
We hope to see you again very soon,

All the Best
Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel,an Ascend Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service.Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” We offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 37″ LCD TVs with free premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, plush bedding and convenient blackout drapes, in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, safes and work desks. We also provide access to our on-site fitness center with state-of-the-art ProMaxima® equipment. All of our rooms are equipped with complimentary Bath & Body Works® toiletries. We offer easy access to many local restaurants and attractionsExplore the many other featured New Orleans accommodations and amenities that help us create the perfect home-away-from-home experience!A Top Downtown New Orleans Hotel with an Unbeatable location. You and your traveling companions will be able to save both time and transportation costs by lodging right here at our Downtown New Orleans hotel, minutes from many popular local area attractions.Take a stroll through scenic Jackson Square; get in the groove with smooth music at a local jazz club; or cheer on the Saints football team at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Whatever you choose to do in The Big Easy, you’ll never be more than a short drive or streetcar ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.