We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Great Staff and a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #92 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Great Staff and a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is quite nice for the low rates they charged me (booked on their website and paid in full).The building is in the process of being renovated, but even so, the room we stayed in was nicely appointed and there were no signs of renovations on the 10th floor where the room was located. The staff is accommodating, and provided many good recommendations for places to eat. Yes, you can hear the St. Charles streetcar passing, but it becomes part of the ambient noise after a while. Being on a higher floor likely helped with the volume of the disturbance. Being a relatively light sleeper, I did not have a problem with the noise from the streetcar. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the French Quarter, and an even shorter walk to Harrah's and the Riverwalk area.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to help minimize noise from the streetcar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Blake Hotel. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and took in all the perks of being located right on the Streetcar line and our walkability to many of the famous New Orleans attractions. We are even happier you booked direct with us and took advantage of our early bird booking package. It is worth it!
We hope to see you again very soon,

All the Best
Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    90
    42
    26
    11
See reviews for
32
67
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was quite nice. They were remodeling during my stay but it was nothing that hindered my experience. All of the French Quarter was booked and it was expensive anyways being that we arrived during Jazzfest. But I found this hotel and everything was great. The beds were comfortable. My room had a window on the side of the building that overlooked St. Charles Ave and Lafayette Park. It was about a 8-10 minute walk to the French Quarter but it is well lit and safe in my opinion. There is no self-parking and Valet can be slow. I chanced it and parked on the street. No Ticket thank goodness. The front desk people were helpful and kind. I have no complaints at all.

The toiletries were Bath and Body works. All "Ascend Collection" hotels have this little feature. The next night I stayed at the St. James Hotel two blocks away which was another fine hotel.




I found the hotel on HotelTonight App. Use it and get 25$ credit by using KHERNANDEZ66 as a redemption code. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a NEWLY REMODELED ROOM not an old one. I had an old one and it was good. I hear the new ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Marcus A.:

We are so pleased that your stay with us during Jazz Festival 2013 was a pleasant one. We strive to keep the renovation of our bathroom vanities at bay from our guest experience. We desire to give our guests the best for their money and continually improve.

We are equally thrilled you chose to visit our sister hotel while in town. We owe you big for this nice plug!

Safe Travels,
Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I got the impression this was a good class hotel, but was very disappointed. The website stated newly remodeled, however as there was a guy tilling right by the lift the days we were there I would suggest this was ongoing! There wasn't anything wrong with the place, it just wasn't' the quality place I was expecting.
Also don't bother to use the lift to the right of the reception, this is very slow (5 mins wait in worst case) use the lift to the left of reception which is much quicker(again another downer on the hotel we only found this out from the cleaner on our departure from the cleaner whilst waiting for the slow lift)
Don't even think about using hotel parking which is an unbelievable $30 a day. The on street parking at the rear is cheap and free after 6pm. We paid until 6pm then stayed overnight then paid the $15 for overnight parking the next day at the parking on Howard.
The hotel is very central, easy working to all central areas. Certainly recommend Barcadia with is 5 mins walk away for great beer and the excellent Ruby Slipper on Magazine again 5 mins walk away for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mark_Bates09:

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay at the Blake Hotel New Orleans. The hotel underwent a major renovation and name change about a year ago. Thanks to comments from our guests we decided to go back and do some additional enhancements that we felt were warranted and would improve guest satisfaction. The appearance of the elevator lobby and bathroom vanities were two of them and we apologize this activity was gong on while you were with us. We are in the process of coming up with a work-around for the elevator system as well.

We offer Valet parking as a guest amenity and in order to compete on a equal level as our competition. We do share with guests the street parking options; however for the ultimate in security we promote the Valet via PMS parking. Street can be unpredictable and there is always the potential of ticketing.

We do hope you will give us another try in the near future and experience our continual improvements. We thank you for your business.

Safe Travels,
Blake Hotel Team
Sarah S. Gagnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service that was received during my stay was AWESOME! The staff was very accomodating and the rooms were clean, cozy, and within walking distance to all attractions. I arrived early and they allowed me to check in early without any charge or fee. For the price you pay it is WELL WORTH it! I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jamie1310:

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Blake Hotel during your visit to New Orleans. We are so glad you enjoyed our location, spacious guestroom and proximity to the Streetcar line. Most importantly we are thrilled your interactions with our super staff were helpful. We can't wait to see you again in the near future!

Safe Travels
Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As others have stated, if you are sensitive to sound, the a/c is very loud but did not disrupt my sleep during my stay. Other than that, the size of the room was large, in comparison to other NO french quarter hotels that I have stayed in before. The location is great, as you get out of the craziness from Bourbon St. and immediately surrounding areas but you can easily walk a few blocks and be in the center of the french quarter. The 24 hour trolley also has a stop right outside the hotel, so it is very convenient. All the staff we encountered were great and helpful, from the front desk attendants to the front door service and when pulling around the car, it was always quick and easy. Happily would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Picked up a special on Bloomspot for the Blake Hotel and thought that it sounded too good to be true, but it turned out to be an excellent deal for a hotel located 3-4 blocks from the French Quarter on corner of St Charles and Poydras. Hotel is similar to a Hampton Inn (clean, comfortable, free Wi-Fi, but not high end like the Ritz). 15-20 minute walk to Jackson Square. Street car passes in front of hotel. Friendly staff; on-site café. Easy access to the hotel since traffic isn't as bad outside the Quarter. Another advantage, this hotel is quiet for sleeping (unlike hotels in the Quarter or along Canal Street).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Public Relations Manager at The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Pam T:

Thank you for picking our hotel via Bloomspot. Sometimes those last minute trips are in fact the best! It sounds like you discovered just how easy we are to locate, our immediate location on the streetcar line and that sometimes it is nice to step a few blocks outside the French Quarter and get a good night's sleep while visiting New Orleans. We appreciate your business and hope you will return very soon!

All the Best,
Blake Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was able to have a girls weekend getaway with 2 other girlfriends, and we chose the Blake Hotel. Check in was 3pm and we had arrived early so they allowed us to check in early which we really appreciated since we had driven all night. The hotel has a Restaurant downstairs that is fabulous! Breakfast isn't included, but def worth a try... Excellent!! Our room was cozy aka:) small. It had 2 queen beds, which were comfortable a flat screen TV, small fridge, desk and small sitting area with 2 small chairs. The only thing I didn't like about the room was there was on,y a small window so very little light came in so the room was dark most of the time. The bathroom was tiny really only enough room for 1 person to get ready at a time and since there was only 1 mirror in the entire room and it was located in the bathroom made it difficult. There was only a pedestal sink so the lack of counter space was kinda a drag too. The hotel is located a few blocks from French Quarter about 10 min walk not bad at all. There are great restaurants and shops all around the hotel. The parking fee at the hotel was also 30$, I'm sure all the hotels near that location have the same fees but just be aware of them. Overall, it was a nice hotel and I would stay again. Oh.... Almost forgot! Even though ch out is 11 (I think) they allow you to lock you bags downstairs and leave your car until a later time in case you have plans ect. We loved that bc there was still things we needed to do.:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel,an Ascend Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service.Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” We offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 37″ LCD TVs with free premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, plush bedding and convenient blackout drapes, in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, safes and work desks. We also provide access to our on-site fitness center with state-of-the-art ProMaxima® equipment. All of our rooms are equipped with complimentary Bath & Body Works® toiletries. We offer easy access to many local restaurants and attractionsExplore the many other featured New Orleans accommodations and amenities that help us create the perfect home-away-from-home experience!A Top Downtown New Orleans Hotel with an Unbeatable location. You and your traveling companions will be able to save both time and transportation costs by lodging right here at our Downtown New Orleans hotel, minutes from many popular local area attractions.Take a stroll through scenic Jackson Square; get in the groove with smooth music at a local jazz club; or cheer on the Saints football team at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Whatever you choose to do in The Big Easy, you’ll never be more than a short drive or streetcar ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;