We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #100 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived in New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl this past January and were a little apprehensive after finding the lobby to be faily small. As this was game night the streets were packed with fans all clamoring to get into the Superdome or bars near the stadium.

We had to valet as the street parking looked a little shady to me, wasn't a bad choice, but be prepared to wait upon retrieving your vehicle. The valet was very friendly and offered to help out as much as possible.

The staff at the front desk was very polite, walking us through everything we'd need. I can't stress enough how nice they were.

The room. Wow. What a room. Huge, comfortable with plenty of space to spare. The bed was massive (California King) and the bedding was also quite comfortable. Had we not had a game to get to, we would've just lounged all night. The bathroom was also very spacious with great water pressure and plenty of soft towels.

We weren't able to experience anything else the hotel had to offer as we hit the game and made our way back late at night. Check out was a breeze.

Overall I definitely think this is a place to look into if you want a reasonably priced option for your stay in fantastic New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and were very pleased. Our room faced St. Charles, which could have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    138
    66
    30
    18
See reviews for
56
114
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is beautifully furnished and is continually well maintained. The hotel reminds me of some of the more modern European hotels and the front desk clerks were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Check-in was extremely efficient. We arrived several hours before check-in time and the room was not ready. The hotel was glad to hold our luggage in a secure location and valet services, though expensive, are actually very efficient.
When I arrived in my room, I knew it was a great place. THe room, though small was nicely furnished with modern furniture, floor to ceiling wall-to-wall windows and black-out curtains. Our room had a king-sized bed but he room did not feel cramped. There was ample closet space but could use a little more drawer space. The bathroom is smaller than I enjoy, and there is no vanity counter-top, but there is wall shelves for personal items. The marble floors are beautiful and the shower is awesome. The bathroom has no vent- fan, so it does steam up rather well.
Our room had a problem with the AC where the temperature was either too hot or too cold, so I was continually adjusting the thermostat. Being a hydronic system, it is likely the water valve solenoid needed replacing. Not a big deal.
Housekeeping was a little lazy. We had a three night stay and room service was there once, though she claimed to have cleaned the room every day. There were no clean towels, the bed was not made and the shampoo, mouthwash and shower gel (all Bath & Bodyworks products) was not replenished...good thing I brought toiletries from home.
If you are on the lower floors, you will hear the St. Charles street car, as well as some of the street traffic, all day and night. Even though I was on the second floor, this was not a problem for me, because I am used to the sounds of steel wheels on steel tracks: I live in a city within two blocks of train tracks, so the sound was hardly noticed. If you are not used to trains, you will notice this, so request an upper floor or side view room.
I love this hotel and will stay here again. It is conveniently located within a walkable distance from the French Quarter, Warehouse District, Arts District and Business District. The on-site restaurant is great with good food and reasonable prices. Valet is a little expensive, but less than the prices at some other hotels in the city. The valet attendants are super nice and will go out of their way to assist you with luggage and directions. Just park and walk or take the St. Charles streetcar for a memorable view of the city. The streetcar stops right in front of the hotel.
I believe you will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: if the sound of historic streetcars might bother you, request a room on the upper floors on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of March. It was three unusually cold days in NO and the first night was kind of cold, but then we asked for an extra blanket. I think it was us not understanding how to work the ac.
The bed was ok, but it was hard to move without waking the other.
The shower handle broke off the first morning, but a guy came and fixed it just five minutes after we called.
The staff is ok. Cleaning was ok.
The toiletries come from bath & bodyworks.
The hotel is located about a 10 min walk from the French Quarters, so not to noisy.
We could stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great price and close to the street car. Our guest service guy is extremely nice. Twice he has given me a map and drew out directions.
Rooms are small but nice and mostly clean.

Bad things: you can hear the street car run all night unless you're sleeping heavy.
No down pillows : (
NO PARKING. Valet is only 28$ for 24 hours. The first night I paid 38$ to park in the Whitney garage on Poydras. Chose Valet!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

A few things: my message waiting light was on for four days and after three calls on different days and being told they didn't know what to do, I finally figured out that I should unplug it. For some reason, the cleaning crew would unscrew my toilet seat but not resecure it properly. My desk chair would not fit between the bed and the desk. The staff for the most part was rude and uncaring. It was bad enough that it was funny, though it was not my money being wasted on the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was shocked at how rude the check-in staff was at the Blake Hotel. When I walked up to the check-in desk, the staff attendant saw me, turned her back, and continued to talk on the phone. I waited for a few minutes while she ignored me, and then her co-worker approached the desk. Instead of greeting me, he ignored me, and looked annoyed that I was standing there. Finally, I greeted him, and explained that I wanted to check-in. From there, the level of service only got worse. Instead of warmly offering to help me with my bags because I was too early for the 3pm check-in, the staff members looked annoyed that they had to deal with my bags, and very slowly helped me handle them. I were to describe the staff, it would be aloof, rude, and slow.

Also, a 3pm check-in policy is ridiculously late, and they refuse to budge on it for even a few minutes.

Horrible, horrible hotel. Do not waste your money on this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10:30 pm or so, only to be told there was a problem with out room. Jennifer was extremely courteous and professional, and the hotel put us up at another hotel for the night, paying for that room and the cab fare to get there. We were able to check in with no problem the next day. The attached cafe has very good food,the hotel is right on the St. Charles trolley line, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It's the customer service, however, that really made the place a good place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of The Big Easy, our newly remodeled Blake Hotel,an Ascend Collection, is the perfect choice for lodging in New Orleans. Whether you’re in the area for business, traveling with family for vacation, or just passing through, you’ll be provided with a combination of sophisticated décor, modern amenities, a convenient location and helpful service.Let us welcome you to our updated New Orleans hotel, recently featured on the Today Show as a “star-worthy destination.” We offer complimentary wireless Internet access, 37″ LCD TVs with free premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, plush bedding and convenient blackout drapes, in-room coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, safes and work desks. We also provide access to our on-site fitness center with state-of-the-art ProMaxima® equipment. All of our rooms are equipped with complimentary Bath & Body Works® toiletries. We offer easy access to many local restaurants and attractionsExplore the many other featured New Orleans accommodations and amenities that help us create the perfect home-away-from-home experience!A Top Downtown New Orleans Hotel with an Unbeatable location. You and your traveling companions will be able to save both time and transportation costs by lodging right here at our Downtown New Orleans hotel, minutes from many popular local area attractions.Take a stroll through scenic Jackson Square; get in the groove with smooth music at a local jazz club; or cheer on the Saints football team at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Whatever you choose to do in The Big Easy, you’ll never be more than a short drive or streetcar ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.