We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eat Like a Local Package!
Ranked #102 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Peoria IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Loved the proximity to the convention center and Canal St.
Had a room in the lofts building which was fine. The a/c didn't work in my room nearly as well as it did in the hallway. This would be an issue for most people but I'm always cold so I didn't mind.
Really loved the exposed brick in the bathroom and bedroom! That was a neat feature. Flat screen TVs in both rooms were also nice. Didn't care for the view of the neighboring building's collapsed roof or the worn carpeting/furnishings in the room.
Wi Fi is not free but the breakfast is. The loft building breakfast was not as varied and fresh as the breakfast in the main hotel building.
Bed was cozy and even though there was always lots of activity outside, I never heard it or was disturbed by it.
The staff was very friendly. Everyone at the front desk was extremely helpful and they made the stay much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are also sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and we sincerely apologize that we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We are pleased to announce that our hotel will undergo major renovation beginning in July and are anticipating completion by the end of this year.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time your travel brings you to New Orleans; you consider staying with us again in our newly renovated and remodeled hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    243
    167
    103
    74
See reviews for
213
115
43
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It is hard to beat the location, great staff, and price of this hotel. Lots of great bars and restaurants within walking distance. Across the street from the Convention Center and a short taxi or walk to Bourbon. Traffic in never bad around the hotel either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
The staff here at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with the positive feedback regarding your visit. Our primary concern is for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience. We are happy to share this internally with our team to reinforce our service culture. Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I chose Embassy Suites for proximity to the convention center. It had received some bad reviews on line, but I found it very nice, and I would definitely stay there again. Free wifi worked great every day but the last 2 of my stay. Breakfast, and evening cocktails were excellent. Several good restaurants close by, and easy walking distance to French Quarter. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The décor was a little dated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
The staff here at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with the positive feedback regarding your visit. Our primary concern is for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience. We are happy to share this internally with our team to reinforce our service culture. Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had the usual nice Embassy Suites amenities. Very convenient to the Convention center and Casino. The Lofts area is a separate building which is a bit awkward. Soundproofing on my floor in the Loft left a bit to be desired. Excellent breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
The staff here at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with the positive feedback regarding your visit. Our primary concern is for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience. We are happy to share this internally with our team to reinforce our service culture. Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great stay with the exception of the internet connection. I was disappointed to find out internet connection is not included with your room charge. There is an additional fee of $13 per day if you want internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
The staff here at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with the positive feedback regarding your visit. Our primary concern is for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience. We are happy to share this internally with our team to reinforce our service culture. Thanks again, and we look forward to serving you for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our 1st stay at an Embassy Suites and it was very more like a quality/holiday inn hotel. Carpets were dirty, furniture was old and dusty. Room cleaners were rude. Air conditioners in hallway and room were very noisy. Front desk seemed not to care about service when we called to tell them we didn't receive any clean towels yet at 10pm.
Front door didn't meet the floor and you could see outside of the room. Will not stay here again. We should have stayed at the Hyatt Place New Orleans, its closer to the Convention Center and brand new.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
The staff here at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center is very sorry to learn that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated, for it is one important tool which allows us the opportunity to improve the quality of our product and services. Your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action. However, I’m pleased to announce that we are in the process of planning a major renovation and are anticipating completion the end of this year.
Should you desire to further discuss your experience, please feel free to contact us directly (504) 525-1993. We would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again in our newly renovated and remodeled hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The loft rooms were not as big or well done as I would expect from an Embassy Suites. Other than that, the location, staff and overall experience was just fine. I love New Orleans and this Embassy Suites allowed us to enjoy the city and the conference we attended in fine fashion. It was close enough to everything that we could walk or take a cab.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby s, Executive Assistant at Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Embassy Suites New Orleans Convention Center. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are also sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and we sincerely apologize that we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We are pleased to announce that our hotel will undergo major renovation beginning in July and are anticipating completion by the end of this year.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time your travel brings you to New Orleans; you consider staying with us again in our newly renovated and remodeled hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center

Address: 315 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.