We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, and Go!
Ranked #99 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The two-room suite was nice and clean and in good repair. However, the common areas of the floors are in need of updating. The hotel staff were cordial and friendly. The breakfast buffet was standard with the made-to-order omelettes being the only highlight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    295
    193
    113
    84
See reviews for
259
145
48
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a good hotel in the heart of New Orleans' Warehouse District and only 1 block away from the Convention Center. It's close to good restaurants (eg. Lucy's, Rock N Sake, Cochon, Emeril's) and museums (eg. WWII Museum, Children's Museum, Civil War Museum). All within walking distance. The lobby and adjacent dining area are spacious with an interesting Mardi Gras mural on the main wall. I enjoyed staring at that thing and finding the peculiar little details. They also have a restaurant in the hotel but I did not dine there. The staff were all very friendly, courteous, and helpful, especially the bellman and the parking valets. The room was what you would expect from an Embassy Suites, although a tad bit smaller, but still very comfortable (comfy bed, crisp sheets, warm comforter). Everything was clean and well-maintained with only one minor exception: the shower did not produce hot water, only lukewarm water. The Manager's Reception was very popular with all the guests, serving cocktails, beer, and wine all for free! The breakfast was also well-stocked and they even provided a cook-to-order service, also for free (just like any other Embassy Suites). All in all, I give this hotel high marks for location, beautiful lobby area, comfortable rooms/bedding, breakfast, and a jubilant Manager's Reception. The only low marks: $30 for parking per night (all hotels in the city will charge this) and a lukewarm shower.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter and they have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our son is a senior at Tulane University and we have been staying at this Embassy Suites ever since we started looking at colleges when he was a sophomore in high school. We enjoy everything about this location...the people are wonderful, thoughtful and attentive. It's a great location and the suite style rooms give him a place to stay with us when we visit and he can get away from campus for a few days without all of us being in one room the whole time. The valet parking is worth the price; our car is safe & secure and the attendants know you by name (and remember it!) from the first time you meet them. The breakfast is outstanding and the atmosphere is fantastic. We prefer the Lofts rooms but if our kids were still young I would prefer the main hotel as that is where the pool, restaurant, etc. is located.
We just stayed there last weekend to move our son in for his last year at Tulane while Hurricane Isaac was working it's way up the coast and everyone down to the men hanging the sheeting over the windows when we checked out were as concerned about his preparedness and our safety as they were their own.

Room Tip: If you have small children ask to be in the main building however since we have college-age kids and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first time in New Orleans as a family and I thought this was the best place to stay as Embassy Suites are generally the same and I kinda knew what to expect. The main differences were that there was no self parking available. You had to use the hotels parking lot and you had to pay $30 a night to park there. Although you could park on the street there were meters and as we were new in town we did not want to get a ticket, we asked the dfront desk staff and none of them seemed to know how the meters worked. Several people in my famiky had handixcapped placards and they did not know if there was handicapped parking at the meters nor was there any discount for parking in the lot. To me, this seemed like something the front desk staff should know, but perhaps I was expected too much. You were given tickets when you checked in and you had to bring those rickets down to breakfast each morning. Wthout them you could not eat as they were collected by a very pleasant lady each morning. Breakfast was the usual fare, but the gentleman cook cooked grits better than the lady cook and he seemed more at ease in the kitchen than she did.

This Embassy Suites only exceeded the others in which I have stayed because of the staff. Brandon and Ricky seemed to truly liked their jobs and if they did not they were really good at faking it. They were knowledgeable, personable, friendly and welcoming. I felt as if they were old family friends. They made the trip enjoyable with their suggestions and knowledge. The front desk staff was friendly eough but not overly so. There were two people at the concierge desk, a man and a woman. I dealt with both of them. DeMarcus (I beleive was his name) was very firendly when were were discussing the rour of the city. The lady--not so much. She managed to make me feel as if I was bothering her or that she had something better to do than answer my questions.

We did eat in the restaurant in the hotel and the food was good, but I did not know how to take our server Charles, he rolled his eyes at our questions, had a smart answer to some of our queastions and actesd like we were disturbing him, but by the end of the meal it was okay. I guess he had not encountered anyone like us in his restaurant. I will admit, we can be a handfull but I'm not sure that his behavior was okay until we had at least established some kind of relationship. It was a bit off putting at first, but all well that ends well. As I said it all turned out fine and our meal came out as we requested.

Our room was clean and while I did not pull out the couch bed (too lazy) I did sleep on the couch, it was comfortable enough. The beds, according to my family were xomfortable. There was a balcony that was attached to the room and that was nice. There was no real view to speak of.The only real complaint that I have about the room is that the curtain steing was broken and so I was unable to raise the curtain, I had to fix iy so that the light could come into the room, but not the way it was intended. The curtain had not been raised as a long time probably because the string was broken because a dust storm hit me when I tried to raise the curtain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to New Orleans and this is my second time staying at this hotel. My first stay was for a girls weekend get-a-way with some friends. This time my boyfriend and I stayed for my birthday weekend.

Let me start by saying you can always find some pros and cons at any hotel, even 5 star ones. With that out of the way, I will begin my review. After reading the reviews the first time and prior to my most recent stay, I knew I needed to ask for an inside room and one not in the Lofts. We didn't get there until after 9pm so I was worried a king size wouldn't be available since there were several concerts and events going on that weekend. I asked for one anyway when we checked in and we were able to get one!

The room was on the 2nd floor of the main building. The hallway looked a little worn, as did the door to our room. However, inside, it was nice. The carpet was clean, furniture was clean and modern as well. Bathroom was small like most Embassy Suites, but clean. While the suite was nice and clean, it did appear a little small for what I'm used to from an Embassy. The sitting area was of a decent size, but the bedroom was small. However, we scored a room that had a door that led to a very spacious private balcony that had some chairs and a small table. Very nice! Sheets on bed were fine and room was very clean.

One of the reasons I like Embassy is because of the breakfast. The breakfast was much better this time than when I visited in December, especially the coffee! Even though they messed up my omelet order the first morning, I was still pleased with breakfast each day of our stay. However, we never went to the manager's reception, so I can't review it.

Overall, we had a nice stay and I have already made my reservations for this hotel for my trip in December.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,275 reviews 1,275 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 248 cities Reviews in 248 cities
444 helpful votes 444 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Embassy is in a great location because its near casino and the river walk.. Also, close to the WWII Museum.. The hotel over all is pretty dirty or worn. The hotel has great colors and decor throughout the building and foyer. As typical the breakfast is good at Embassy along with free drinks at happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here because of the location and because breakfast was included. We have had great experiences with Embassy Suites in the past. This one doesn't measure up. The carpeting in our room was filthy. The sofabed was dirty and way past it's prime. We called for extra towels (4 towels for 6 people in our suite even though we had already requested extra towels prior to check in). 2 hours later still no towels. It took 3 calls to get them and by that time I was irate. With small children you can't put off bedtime waiting on housekeeping. The room had 2 full size beds, not queen beds. We paid for internet access and then found out you have to pay for each computer hooked to it, not one fee for the room. I've never had this problem in other hotels. With 4 kids with internet devices that was unacceptable. The breakfast was really great. Good variety. The cocktails and snacks in the evenings would have been nice, but the lines were very long. My advise is to stay elsewhere. I would have given it one star, but the breakfast was a good feature.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center

Address: 315 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites New Orleans-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.