We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local eatery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coquette

Coquette
2800 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115-2229 (Irish Channel)
504-265-0421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coquette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 1,628 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Irish Channel
Cross street: Washington Street
Transit: St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great local eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great neighborhood restaurant with food that is every bit as good as the Commanders Palace, and great desserts that my wife could not resist. Everyone going to New Orleans should give this place a try in the Garden District. Right on Magazine St. so easy to get to. Ate there twice in the six days spent in NOLA. Also have art from Bill Hemmerling, great stuff and discovered his gallery in the French Quarter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    114
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a really nice dining experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The delicious shrimp and grits, the divine, juicy soft shell crab sandwich, the crispy powder sugar coated funnel cake with strawberries, the spicy bloody marys fulled to the brim with olives and green beans .... need I say more??? Oh yea THE hands down best fries.. Thin cut and crispy and very fresh and you get a pile of them.

The prices here are so reasonable for what you get. They have small plates and large plates so you get just enough. One of my favorite in the city. Very consistently delicious!!!
The basket filled with hot slices of french bread and soft butter is pretty amazing too!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service, Very Good Food, Fabulous Wine, Moderate Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I dined at Coquette in mid-May and ordered the five-course tasting menu for $70 (a tad overpriced) with the wine pairing for $35 (definitely worthwhile). We started with the market salad (beautiful presentation, but forgettable) followed by the sweatbreads (light with great flavors.) The halibut course was our favorite (perfectly prepared and seasoned) followed closely by the duck (the collards were perfect.) Dessert was lemon (decent but also forgettable.) Finally, the service was amazing, the best of our trip. We would probably have given Coquette an excellent review if the salad and dessert were better by comparison, and if we felt the value was better. The website still lists two tasting menu options: a 4 course for $50 and 7 course for $75, and has for weeks. We know the menu is subject to change, but we felt this was slightly deceptive. We would return however, we would probably avoid the tasting menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too eccentric and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were on Magazine St. and looking for a nice meal. Coquette is very small, and it seems to be a little pretentious. I understand that the menu changes every night to serve local food, but it's like it goes out of it's way to be different. My husband had fried catfish, and I had shrimp and grits. We also shared a bottle of wine and a dessert (bacon ice cream and bourbon bubbles!). I was over $100. The server was nice, but the dinner took forever. And the bacon ice cream was not bad, but I don't want it again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We haven't eaten at Coquette. We had reservations for July. But today, the restaurant sent us an email canceling our reservation. We called and Tiffany the manager said they were "sorry for the inconvience." Really? If this place cared one bit or had any sense if customer service, they should have said: if you can join us another day, we'd comp you one of your meals...or maybe say you'd comp an appetizer or maybe say something that actually demonstrates that you really are apologetic for the inconvenience. THAT is customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquette also viewed

 

Been to Coquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.