We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coquette

Coquette
2800 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115-2229 (Irish Channel)
504-265-0421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coquette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Irish Channel
Cross street: Washington Street
Transit: St Charles Streetcar Line- Washington Street
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Romantic. Delicious. Perfect restaurant choice for Valentine's Day dinner. I'm generally hesitant about trying out a new spot to eat on a busy night like Feb. 14th, but Coquette did not disappoint in the least.

We opted for the prix-fixed Valentine's menu, which included 4 courses. At $70, I found it to be an incredible bargain, considering the quality of the food. We also ordered 2 additional appetizers: the chicken fried sweetbreads and the fried gulf oysters. Both were absolutely delicious. Each dish was euphoric. We will most definitely return in the very near future, as I'm eager to try their brunch.

Kudos to Coquette, for making this Valentine's meal absolutely divine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    114
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This is the reason to go to New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Gourmet food at reasonable price. Superb service in a classy setting. 4 course Southern menu for $45. Great Sazarac for $9.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't go hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a rip off. The tiniest portions out there,obviously they are trying to create artwork instead of a dish that is even palatable. Seafood salad was abysmal, heaven help you if you are not a meat lover, and even then the choice is so limited. Beet salad, something any of us could have "thrown together at home".The recommended "donut" dessert was almost farcical served in a bowl big enough to "wash dishes in" here sat a pathetic cake like donut which was totally uninspired. I have no idea what planet all these reviewers are from or where they are comparing this restaurant to. Filthy chandeliers and windows just to add to the whole experience, and I must not forget that they did not acknowledge the fact that this has been reserved as a special occassion dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate here on our first night in New Orleans after a long train journal, on recommendation of our host.

The service was amazing and we felt welcome and at home. The food was amazing, possibly the best we've eaten in the USA, and the wine/spirits list was extensive.

Just an exquisite place to eat in a great part of town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COVINGTON, LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly enjoyable dining experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We also had lunch on Mardi Gras Saturday with guests in from Washington DC. Our guests echoed the same words as Tom S, that to date it was there best meal in New Orleans. The service, food and cocktails were excellent. The three course fixed price for lunch was to say the least, outstanding; as well as our wait staff led by John. All I can say is thanks for a great meal. I would love to have the recipe for the Scenic Route cocktail too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquette also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Coquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.