We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgence at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Du Monde

Cafe Du Monde
800 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3306 (French Quarter)
(504) 581-2914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indulgence at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stopped by during the daytime and it was busy (for a being aWednesday afternoon!). But the staff was very friendly and let us know they were open 24 hours a day! We went back after our evening drinks for snack and weren't disapointed - the staff remembed us when we walked in. We were, however, guilt stricken by the added late night calories :) Cash only!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,847
    2,486
    1,264
    397
    216
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good beignets. Thats it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We waited in line to eat here because we had been told this place was a great bakery. Once we got in and sat down we realized beignets were the only food choice. They were OK not great. The coffee was pretty poor quality served to hot to drink for the first 20 minutes. If you want to eat breakfast go anywhere else. Go here to wait 30 minutes to eat average beignets.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the line-up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Thankfully we had friends in NOLA to tell us about this gem of a place otherwise we would've been deterred by the line-up! Beignet's are a wonderful tasty sugary treat - amazing given how simple they really are!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL COFFEE & BEIGNETS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Warning: this place is HIGHLY addictive! When in New Orleans, this is THE place to go. Awesome cafe au lait (their special blend of coffee with chickory and steamed milk) along with the beignets. I think you must experience it yourself to get the full idea.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Over rated, I guess?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Maybe we were expecting too much. The beignets tasted like a glaze-less donut. Luckily we went late one evening and there wasn't a wait. The following day (Saturday), the line was probably 200 ft long. Sure glad I wasn't them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Monde also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.