We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
718-720 Orleans Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
5045231930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,606 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, service and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We started with a eggplant napolean that James suggested from the specials and he paired it with a nice wine as well! Then we had lamb and filet with a blue cheese stilton sauce that was AMAZING! James also paired a different wine that was spot on! We had no room for dessert but we will next time. We will be back seeing as we make common trips to Nola! Oh yeah sit in the courtyard ITS BEUATIFUL AND QUIET!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    254
    79
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Quaint dining experience off Bourbon St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped by for refreshments and appetizers. Very enjoyable in nice quite atmosphere.
Just a half block off Bourbon St.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just had a really great meal in the Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar &Bistro. Service was excellent and food was delicious. Best meal so far in New Orleans.Will return soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad we found this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful meal. Wine was delicious! We choose the small plates option so we tried three different dishes. By far the BEST crab cakes I've ever had. Our server James was great!
Next time we will try the outdoor seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very romantic meal with a great courtyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our bartender at the Montleone Hotel recommended this restaurant and we couldnt have chosen a better one. We were seated in their courtyard, and had quite possibly the best dining experience we have ever had. The food, wine recommendations and the service were truly outstanding. Everything clicked. Our crabcakes and scallops were nothing short of perfect. Leslie recommended two fsntastic wines and Ron explained how the wines paired with our food and kept us laughing all night. Our entrees were perfectly prepared. The filet was the best we have ever had anywhere. We are returning soon and are looking forward to our next experience here. This restaurant is amazingly good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.