We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro

Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro
718-720 Orleans Avenue, The French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
5045231930
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This beautiful two-story building was erected in 1809 by Antoine Angué where he opened the Vieux Carré’s first Creole Bistro called, The Restaurant d’Orleans. Today, the property is owned by the noted local business team of Pam Fortner and Earl Bernhardt. Lovingly renovated with its prestigious past in mind, The Orleans Grapevine continues the tradition by offering discriminating diners the best in fine dining and an extensive wine list in a beautiful, intimate yet relaxed atmosphere. We feature many unique and seasonal special dishes & specials.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Four of us ate dinner here last night. The food was as fine as we have had in New Orleans, and the service was the best one could ask for. The waiter, Ron, was not only knowedgeable about food selection and preparation for this restaurant, New Orleans in general; but he knew a lot about other restaurants in other cities. Ask for a courtyard table, as it is a hidden gem. We have been married for 50 years, and we met a couple at the next table who were on their honeymoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    94
    25
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Try the Evangaline chicken, the barbecued shrimp was outstanding, so were the bacon wrapped scallops, the ceaser and spinach salads. Extensive wine list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restauraunt.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Neat restaurant with excellent food. The crabcakes and scallops topped our list. The warm bread with seasoned butter was a great treat. The courtyard was full, but we had a great experience inside. Everyone there was very friendly and attentive. Our waiter Ron recommended several wines and we enjoyed them immensely. A must for those staying nearby. Luckily for us, we were staying closeby. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston on
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our NO landlord recommended this restaurant for quality and price and he certainly was right! We ate in the courtyard which is intimate and peaceful which is surprising given it's close proximity to Bourbon St. The highlight of the meal had to be the Saffron Mussels. I love mussels and have eaten them a lot and really haven't had a better dish anywhere. The gumbo was exceptional as were the barbequed shrimp (although they still had the heads on). Our friends had the crab cakes and stated they were exceptional. We stuck with several appetizers all within the 9-13.00 range. The service was excellent and overall we would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Thank God for Grapevine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When you go to New Orleans, it really depends on what you want to do (and remember!). For us, this place was a saving grace. It is right in the heart of the famous and extra-noisy Bourbon Street, in the French Quarter. It must be the buildings in between, but the noise disappears here, leaving you with the nicest atmposphere. The people who eat here are both locals and tourists, with a range in age from the 20s to the 80s. The food is very good, some is comfort food at its best, some more innovative. The wine list is really well assorted and so are beers and cocktails. Even if your table is ready, stop at the small welcoming bar and speak to Oosha, wonderful addition to the team and very knowledgeable about the area and the place. We were blessed to have met the owner of this place, who also owns the "hand granade" bars, who gave us a bit of history of the place! This place saved us from the terrible noise (too much too often) and terrible food (and cheap drinks!) of Bourbon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.