We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not find better people or a more beautiful home away from home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1415 Prytania St., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“You will not find better people or a more beautiful home away from home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

Wonderful, fabulous, friendly, hospitable - ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!!! With such beautiful surroundings and awesome hosts this is definitely THE place to stay when in New Orleans!!! I would NEVER stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    141
    31
    21
    17
See reviews for
88
236
46
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

We had a great time at Creole Gardens. The mansion room we stayed in was so comfortable and authentically beautiful. This newly restored plantation home has alot of charm. Even though we did not stay in the bordello, the room was very sexy. Breakfast was entertaining to say the least. We also enjoyed the close proximity to the garden district. Loved wandering down the sidewalks and seeing all the old homes. It was sweltering hot but, we had so much fun we hardly noticed the heat outside. I was glad to have a nice cool room to come back to. The staff is friendly and teh rooms are welcoming. I'll definitely go back on my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

one block from St. Charles Ave.
Creole Gardens is an excellent choice if you are looking to stay in New Orleans and don't want to deal with the crowds and noise in the French Quarter and Canal Street, but would still like New Orleans flavor. Our stay was in the "Gothic Room" of the slave quarters. There was a great deal of attention put into the decoration of this room and the result is fabulous! Annie's homemade cinnamon rolls are quite scrumptious in the morning. However, John does make some excellent banana pancakes in a pinch:) The location of the B&B is great, just one block from the St. Charles streetcar line. There are at least half a dozen places to eat within a two block radius of the B&B ranging from mexican to japanese to BBQ and beyond. All the staff were extremely helpful with suggestions on how to get places and the goingings on in town over the weekend. They truly make staying at Creole Gardens a wonderful experience.

The only minor, minor, minor issue I had was that the water pressure was not gushing and the water did not get steaming hot, but I am rather picky when it comes to showers.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2005

The rooms and the hospitality were spectacular, I would recommend this to anyone who is wants a nice reasonable place to stay while in New Orleans. Look out for the ghosties though:)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

We stayed in Cottage #4 for 4 nights in May, 2005, coinciding with Memorial Day Weekend. On arrival, John welcomed us and assisted us with our luggage to our room which was on the upper level of the slaves' quarters at the back of the guesthouse. Location is 1 block from St. Charles Streetcar and Magazine Street architectural treasures. St. Charles Tavern was a real find. We didn't experience any ghostly apparitions but we did feel a bit unbalanced on the slightly sloping floor. We found Rhonda and Annie to be a delight with their genuine hospitality and kindness. We met Uly after 2 days and liked his humour. All in all, a true experience away from the big hotels in Nawlins.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horn lake, mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

I had never stayed at a B & B until this visit to New Orleans but wanted
the historical aspect of the city since the kids went too. I may never stay at a "regular hotel" again ! Beginning with lots of questions about the facilities
via e-mail and phone and ending with a last minute change in travel dates, the staff could not have been more accomodating.
The Creole Gardens is just a block off the ST. Charles streetcar route so getting around could not have been easier. If you need a break from the French Quarter there are several resturants very close by.The buildings have been updated without losing the charm of the 1800's.After talking to Andy (one of the owners) I realized that there had been a lot of research to find out as much as possible about the history of the mansion and it's original owner. Somehow this makes the atmosphere more real since they have tried to maintain that.
We had been online and knew that Creole Gardens is reputed to have a ghost or two so my teenagers were hoping we would see one.When we checked in we were told about a few sightings during the renovation but we saw nothing out of the ordinary.(Maybe next trip)
I can't say enough about how nice the staff was. Being from Mississippi, we are used to Southern hospitality. Creole Gardens really does a fabulous job of making you feel welcome. They go out of the way to help with tips on getting around or something extra for the room. Annie's kitchen with a good breakfast to start the day and always a "hello" made you feel like you were at home. Our next trip will be when it is a little cooler so we can enjoy the courtyard between the properties where guests gather and visit.
I don't think you could go wrong staying here and getting to know these people!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2005

The facilities were very nice at the neon-pastel coated Creole Gardens, but that doesn’t really matter, 99% of all bed and breakfasts have nice facilities. The variables which make or break a B&B experience are the people, and here, Creole Gardens passes with flying colors. If you relish emersion in the lost art of the gift of gab this is your Mecca. I’d gladly lodge in a urine soaked cardboard box in Omaha if I knew I’d awake to the wonderful personalities that inhabit Creole Gardens. Luckily, I need not go to such extremes. Creole Gardens is a fabulous place with terrific people. You’d be so lucky as to have an opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1415 Prytania St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.