We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint, old time feel hotel with great staff...I will go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Frenchmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Frenchmen Hotel to your Saves list
The Frenchmen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint, old time feel hotel with great staff...I will go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We went there on my honeymoon and we both loved the hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were polite and helpful and we relaxed instantly. The hotel is original, it has character and is ideally placed for everything within the French Qtr (most bars and restaurants being a 10 minute walk). The rooms were clean, well decorated and although the smallest of our honeymoon trip, they fitted in with the feel of the hotel and the city and we had no problems with anything. The breakfast was fine with cereals, toast, cakes, porridge and grits and tea, coffee and OJ and although the small dining area got busy at times it was not a problem and we actually like it as we met a few people and enjoyed chats over breakfast. The pool is small but ideal for an afternoon dip and to relax in the great courtyard. I will go back, we're already talking of saving up to return one day and I will definately stay at The Frenchmen hotel. We were made to feel at home and very relaxed and comfortable. Well done and thanks to the staff. The Deans - UK

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    181
    48
    45
    27
See reviews for
60
239
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Eveyone was friendly but Angela went out of her way with every guest to suggest places to visit and eat, to chat, and to make them feel at home. The hotel is charming, comfortable and safe and in walking distance from every thing in the quater. It has a pool, a hot tub and a light breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Pros:
The staff was nice, knowledgeable and friendly. If we ever needed anything they were right there to meet our needs.

The building was secure. The main door was always locked from the outside.

Very close to the French Quarter, only a 10 minute walk to Burbon street.

Although the rooms small they had that New Orleans charm.

Cons: The shower was out of hot water and the shower head needed to be replaced. It set us back about an hour but once we notified the staff they were very quick to help and were genuinely concerned.

The parking as terrible. The hotel boasts free parking but what they really mean in a tiny death trap box that fits 6 or 7 cars with nowhere to turn around. It took us about 5 minutes to back out of the lot. There was a pay per day parking lot just around the corner, it was $32 for 2 days, which is reasonable, but it would have been nice to know ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We had stayed at MANY different hotels in the French Quarter/French Market area but, this time, we found The Frenchmen Hotel. Sweet, beautiful & historical place with red bricked outdoor patio, built-in pool, jacuzzi, and garden area. One block to Riverfront Streetcar, two blocks to French Market. Cafe Tomatillo's at the corner and head northwest on Frenchmen St to find meals from a cultural blend.
The Frenchmen offer great rates and even better ones if you plan to stay a few days. I suggest Room 100--The room was clean and decorated beautifully with a walk-in closet and full bath. Terrific airconditioning and a huge ceiling fan was perfect for the hot weather! The office staff was wonderful--Angela and Kenesha (sorry if spelled it wrong!) are true assets. The room staff were terrific--quickly responsive to our requests and full of smiles and kind, laughing words. Guess you can tell we fell in love with the place! We look forward to calling the Frenchmen Hotel are "home" when we visit next time! Kudos to the Hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is a bed and breakfast hotel, with a pool. The location is very nice, just SW of the French Market, just outside the French Quarter (less than 1/4 block outside).

The room was a little small, but okay. The room and bathroom were somewhat dirty, but the linens were clean. The bed was excellent.

Most of the rooms are centered around a small pool. We stayed for five nights, and people partied in the pool until three o'clock every night except one, so not a lot of sleep to be had. Complaints to the front desk clerk produced no help there, so don't stay here if you would like to have a good nights sleep.

The front desk clerks (24 hr clerk) were very good and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We loved staying at the Frenchmen Hotel- it's in the Marigny, adjacent to the French Quarter, so it was away from some of the touristy hustle-bustle of the Quarter (but easily within walking distance). Frenchmen Street has its own scene going on with music and restaurants, antiques and lots of locals. If you love visiting New Orleans but quickly tire of the hand-grenades-and-hurricanes crowd, check out Frenchmen. The rooms at this hotel were clean and attractive, the building had the old-timey New Orleans charm, and there was a lovely courtyard with a pool and a hot tub. Angela at the front desk was super-helpful with directions and recommendations, and the beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in at a hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
Level Contributor
287 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

i will give all the positives first. the rate was awesome - $120 a night for a suite (4 people) - we used book it. we had only booked for 2 people but they didn't say anything when we showed up with 4. parking was free with book it - we had 2 cars and the very friendly ladies at the front let us park both for free. our room was the biggest in the hotel and plenty roomy! right off the rooftop courtyard and with a balcony (shared by one other room) - it was fun to sit out there and people watch (until i saw a roach - ew). the bedroom had a huge bed and a huge closet. bathroom had 2 sinks. kitchen with a sink, full sized fridge, and microwave (no stove). dining room, and large living room with a pull-out couch. tvs in both bedroom and living room. furniture was nice and fit the vibe. the pool and hot tub were both very small but we enjoyed them. breakfast was very basic - coffee, (watered down) oj, oranges, toast, and donuts. donuts were very yummy though. great location, right on the edge of the french quarter by decatur street. we walked everywhere.

my one complaint, and it's a big one (the reason i did not give 5 stars): the fold-out couch was HORRIBLE. first off, when we folded it out the first night it was obvious that the sheets had not been changed, there were crumbs and a kids t-shirt inside! we called the front desk and they sent up new sheets. then we tried to lay down and OH MY GOD it was awful. i am only 26 years old and can sleep on pretty much anything. but not this. i ended up folding back up the couch and sleeping on it and my boyfriend pulled the mattress out and slept on it on the floor, which was only slightly better and i couldn't even do that. so just beware if you book a suite and someone plans on sleeping on the fold out couch. it is ROUGH!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Marigny
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#14 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Villa Convento
Hotel Villa Convento
#50 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#34 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frenchmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.