We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute, great location, excellent service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frenchmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Frenchmen Hotel to your Saves list
The Frenchmen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cute, great location, excellent service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a very cute, very clean boutique hotel right in the middle of all the great music clubs in New Orleans! So, it is great for walking to excellent jazz and great food. This also means you will be listening to this music even after you go to your room, which isn't neccessarily a bad thing. Just be prepared. The rooms are small but beds and linens were very nice. The service at the front desk is amazing! They will go beyond to get you whatever you need and make your stay pleasant. Another wonderful visit to NOLA, can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Book a room away from the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Tina,

Thank you so much. Those are kind words indeed. We could not be happier that you had a good time and enjoyed the service. We live to please. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    181
    48
    45
    27
See reviews for
60
239
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The staff of The Frenchmen Hotel are to commended for their hospitality. The Front Desk team of Jeremiah, Alex and Adrianna were excellent and outgoing. They all went above and beyond the call of duty, their smiles are warm and genuine. It is obvious that they love what they do in serving guests. They take after their manager Kenesha who also demonstrated excellent hospitality and overall service skills. I highly recommend this hotel. Frenchmen street in New Orleans is a great place to visit, the music and art scene make it a happening place.

Be care to not confuse this hotel with the other Frenchmen Orleans at 519 that is up the street.

Room Tip: be careful to not confuse this hotel with one up the street with a similar name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Merlot P,

That is one of the nicest reviews I've read. Thank you for singling out the individual agents. You have no idea how special they feel when that occurs. We do appreciate the time you took to stop and write and hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This past weekend was the first time we had stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel and I'm proud to say that we found our new place! Not only was the bed comfortable and room clean, the staff was more than accommodating, especially Alex! I had put in a special request and not only was I greeted with her contagious smile, she put special attention towards my room to make this a weekend I'll never forget. Thank you, Alex! I can't wait to come back and do it all over again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Elizabeth,

What a lovely review. Alex will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you singled her out for complement. I'll pass it along. We are so happy to hear that you will be using us as your place to stay and cannot wait to see you return. Don't make it too long now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSISSIPPI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Frenchmen Hotel staff has twice gone above and beyond the call of duty in serving my family. While the hotel is very old, we found our rooms (one double queen and one queen loft) to be extremely comfortable. The beds are really cozy, and everything was spic and span clean.
The location of the hotel is not only ideal for visiting all of the exceptional music venues along the two blocks of Frenchmen St. either direction, but also a short walk over to the Jackson Square area. The hotel parking lot, which is very small, was full, so we parked in a paid lot near the French Market off of Elysian Fields Ave. (24 hours for $20). It was a short 2 block walk to the hotel. If you want to get to NOLA before the 3 p.m. check-in time, the staff will hold your bags at the desk for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
FLYBEGONIA,

How nice of you! We couldn't more pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do think we have the best location in New Orleans. It is also so good of you to point out the cleanliness of the rooms. I'll pass that along to the housekeeping staff. They'll be thrilled. We can't wait to see you again so please hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Frenchmen Hotel is our favorite hotel in New Orleans. The rooms are not plush but clean and quaint. Frenchmen Street has great live music and restaurants. No need to go into the French Quarter but it is within walking distance if you prefer that type of venue. Kenesha is an exceptional staff member. She is very friendly, willing to help in anyway and is an asset to The Frenchmen Hotel . Along with her co-worker Alex they are both exceptional employees.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
BatonRougeTraveler,

We can't thank you enough for your kind words. Kenesha and Alex I know will be thrilled to hear that you found them exceptional. They deserve it. You are right they are both quite good at what they do. We hope to see again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We came over the 4thof July weekend, so everywhere was packed out. But luckily we got a room here. It's at the top of Frenchmen st, it's buzzing. And a 10min walk from bourbon st. I would definitely stay here again. The room was small, and the bathroom even smaller, BUT I felt it was all we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Olivestew,

Thank you so much! We're happy we were able to accommodate you. It is always so nice to hear that people have enjoyed their stay and they will be coming back. Please spread the word that we're here. We'd love to host your friends too. Can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel for four nights. We found the hotel very clean with a friendly staff. Our room was small but had everything we needed. Nice breakfast with coffee available all the time. This was in a great location to hear the music on Frenchmen street and also just a short walk to the French Quarter. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Jackie,

It is so very nice of you to have taken the time to write. Thank you. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location and appreciated the staff. It always provides us with such a wonderful feeling when we know we've pleased our guests. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Marigny
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#25 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#14 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Villa Convento
Hotel Villa Convento
#51 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frenchmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.