We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Frenchmen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Frenchmen Hotel to your Saves list
The Frenchmen Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Destrehan, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a romantic 3 day weekend at the Frenchmen Hotel.. It was the perfect place to be.. Close to the quarter and right next door to all the music you could want. We were within walking distance to all the major sites... French Quarter attractions and restaurants. The hotel itself is very quaint. Old World charm; with modern facilities. Beautiful courtyard with a beautiful pool. We look forward to coming back during the summer. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. No complaints at all - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We always hope to provide and aspire to this sort of service. You will find your summer stay equally as lovely. Things move more slowly in the summer and there is just a nice languid feel to city. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    129
    34
    35
    24
See reviews for
44
160
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We reserved one of the suites with a balcony overlooking Frenchmen St. This hotel is next to Mojitos Rum Bar and Grille. We really enjoy the Sunday Jazz Brunch there and the great live music in their courtyard and we go there frequently.

Our room was super nice. We really wish they were still allowing dogs, but they are not.
We had a kitchen area, separate bedroom with very comfortable bed and ceiling fan. There was a nice living room, large kitchen table, plenty of space, tile floors to keep you cool and a ceiling fan in the living room. We didn't sit out on the balcony but it looked cool. Looks like the balcony could use a bit of paint and maintenance. The balcony is shared with the room next door. We there there on a very cold night so did not use the pool but it was very clean. Check in was a breeze. We didn't smell cigarette smoke anywhere which was so nice. Very helpful front desk staff. We did not eat any of the breakfast. Housekeeping greeted us as we came and went even though we did not use housekeeping. We used the parking lot behind Mojitos called French Market because we almost always park there on our day trips into the City. We are in New Orleans about once a month.

A couple of notes, the Saturday night Latin Dance party at Mojitos lasted until the wee hours and we could hear the music in our room, but luckily not in our bedroom with the fan on. I didn't even have to use earplugs. I am not sure about the suite on the other side though because they shared a wall with what would be the courtyard of Mojitos. Around 3 a.m. I went out onto the balcony and although Frenchmen St was then quiet and most places closed, you could still hear the the thump thump thump of Mojitos...the base was just crazy. Luckily we could not hear it in our bedroom or this would have been a different review. On a positive, if you did sit on the balcony you can hear lovely jazz playing from area establishments, but without the annoying base, you just get good music. Outside of the suites is a roof top area with tables and chairs and a grill. This would be a great place to hang especially if you were staying with friends and wanted to cook out on the roof and enjoy the wonderful jazz floating through the neighborhood.

Again, wish it were still dog-friendly...I think we could rent this room at least once a month if so!

Normally we don't ever book hotel suites, but we had already purchased concert tickets for the House of Blues and needed a room. A medical association conference was being held and even though it was a "slow" weekend in NOLA, everything was booked and the prices were high. We were not going to pay more than $175 for a room to go to $20 ticket concert.

We would definitely stay here again if we were looking for a "non-dog weekend". But we take our dogs into NOLA 95% of the time and have a fab time around town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, Owner at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We hope to see you again very soon.
Cheers, Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel about 5 times now. Always very clean, friendly staff & very close to local music, food & sights. I like the fact this hotel isn't smack in the middle of Bourbon St., but still in the French Quarter. Rooms are small but quaint. Kenesha at the front desk is wonderful...she has worked there for years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Frenchmen with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay at the Frenchmen Hotel, Hope to see you in the near future.



Again,Thank You
Kenesha Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a cruise from New Orleans. Cute, nice hotel. Great staff. Clean, nice rooms. We were on the first floor both times. Room 101 is directly on the street and it was pretty loud outside We stayed in the courtyard second time and very quiet!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Well thank you so much for writing. We do try to provide the most enjoyable experience possible. Some love the energy of the street and some the peace of the courtyard. We are glad you got to experience both and that you had a pleasant experience. We hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Frenchmen Hotel after returning from a cruise.
The hotel staff is nice, and the hotel is just outside the French Quarter (a plus) and in a very hip area, but there are two things which people should be aware of before reserving a room:
(1) The hotel is located on a VERY NOISY street. There is a club right across the street that stays open to the wee hours of the morning BLASTING music which we could hear from what we were told would be a quiet room on the second floor. Falling asleep to the very loudly amplified music coming from the club across the street is not easy! (2) There are no elevators and getting a suitcase weighing 40-50 pounds up the twenty steps to the second floor is a challenge - and a pain! So if you have a suitcase of any significant weight you should book a ground floor room - but only you are willing to put up with the blaring music from right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time write. We are on one of the most dynamic streets in the city. It is the new center for music, especially Jazz, not to mention the food. I'm sorry to hear that you had a unpleasant time due to the music. If you should decide to come back please feel free to ask for a room on the ground floor and at the back of the property in the courtyard where things are a little more insulated. It is our goal to ensure you a pleasant stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel location is situated just off the French Quarter and has all the local flavor with great restaurants and bars for both day and night. The services at the front desk were fabulous; fulfilling all our needs and special attention. The suite, which included a balcony for viewing the street activity, was large and very clean each of our 6 days. The trolley boarding is one block away, the Pedi cabs are plentiful, and taxi service was convenient. It is a very safe location to walk both during the daytime and in the evening. I have travelled across the world and the experience at The Frenchmen Hotel was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you're here for the music...this is a great location! Frenchmen street has some of the best jazz musicians and clubs in New Orleans!
The Frenchmen Hotel, as the title states, is a quirky hotel but we found it sufficient for our stay. I would suggest calling ahead rather than confirming on line to reconfirm your room type. We booked a suite (3 adults) and from the website description looked like a bedroom with a living area and sofa bed. Our "suite" was a medium sized room with a king size bed and pull out couch directly across from it. The sofa bed however could not be opened without moving it and other furniture as when we tried we ran into the wall! If we had moved tables and sofa to open the sofa bed, you then climb over the bed to get to the closet and door...Quirky!
But we stayed and made it work.
The room was clean and again the staff was awesome! Our room was in the front with a small balcony overlooking Frenchmen Street and across from one of the Jazz clubs. There is no door to the balcony, you actually step through the raised windows! If you are a light sleeper this in not the room for you (#204) but we had no problem falling asleep to the sound of great music!
We totally enjoyed our stay and would return...just a little wiser about our specific accomodations!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChucLav, Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review. I am passing along the fung shui faux pas you pointed out. It's generous of you to have taken the time to comment. We are especially proud of our location to the music of the city as well as our staff. You mentioned both.

Again, thank you
Frenchmen Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frenchmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.