We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Wonderful-ness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Frenchmen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Frenchmen Hotel
417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Wonderful-ness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Frenchmen Hotel for 5 days ( April 3rd-April 8th) with about 25 friends and family members renting all different kinds of rooms. We had our wedding reception on the roof top terrace! We cannot say enough great things about this hotel. The queen loft was so perfect and accommodated our family of 4 perfectly. I got to see all the rooms while stopping by the families’ rooms, and I love them all clean, unique and fun. Our whole family was happy with all the hotel rooms. We also spend a lot of time gathering in the court yard, using the hot tub, and the pool. The rooms were great but the staff was Wonderful!! We had many, many unexpected needs come up for the wedding reception and throughout the days and everyone from the sales director to the front door receptionist and the cleaning staff were SO, SO helpful!! More than once going above and beyond what anyone was expecting to help.

The noise never kept us awake. and we even switched rooms one night with my mother-in-law who had the balcony room facing Frenchmen St.. Jazz Music in the air!!! I love it.

I normally stay with family while in New Orleans but this lovely hotel makes me want stay here all the time, and be close to all the action! We loved Frenchman St. and ate several times in the area, The Praline Connection was good, Snug Harbor, fun. Although, Motito’s was not great. Everything was so close.

I can't wait to stay here again for our 1 year anniversary!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    106
    30
    34
    24
See reviews for
38
134
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was serious about earplugs. Even from a room in the back of the hotel, we could hear the music on the street. OTHER THAN THAT, this is a charming, clean, historic hotel with a dining room table for the guests to share for breakfast. The people are interesting and the food is small.
But, when you spend the day eating everything in sight, a small breakfast is a good thing.
Our room #202 was comfortable, had furniture with large drawers so we could unpack, and a bathroom with a shower. The bed was good, the pillows good and the windows worked.
But, we could hear someone practicing the tuba in the middle of the night. One night, there was a horrendous thunder storm (OK, who could help that?) and no one slept a wink.
Buy earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main house in a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed here during Mardi Gras 2012. We went into not expecting too much. Our room wasn't too big, but it had two big beds and a bathroom. We had a few chairs on the outside of our room. The staff was very nice and helped us navigate the city. I would stay here again, because I liked being off the main drags of bourbon and canal streets. It provided a quiet escape from the craziness of Mardi Gras

Don't
- stay here if you're expecting luxury accommodations
- stay here if you want to have a typical touristy location

Do
- stay here if you can suck it up for the value! Our room was pretty reasonable - for Mardi Gras
- stay here if you want to enjoy live music and to hang out where the locals are

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The room was so small that we had to get dressed on the bed. Rooms are tacky and smell like citrus windex. Seems like there's a history of double-booking rooms. Location is cool, and there is a small pool...slightly larger than the rooms. Same price as the swanky French Quarter rooms, so you're probably better off booking out there. Walls are thin, bring earplugs if you wanna sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, General Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
I'm sorry you don't feel the pool and rooms are large enough accommodations. Each room is individually decorated in antique and New Orleans-style decor and the rooms range in size. We have no history of double-booking rooms and take inventory management seriously. Our refreshing pool and relaxing hot tub complete our brick-lined courtyard decorated with 15' palm trees and cast iron patio furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Frenchmen during Mardi Gras (room 106). What a great hotel! It's very charming and quaint (not unlike an inn or B&B) - the antique furniture and french doors really add character and the bed was very comfortable! The front desk staff were all very friendly, especially Troy, and when we mentioned a few problems with our room (toilet constantly running and a little leak in the ceiling), John, one of the maintenance guys, came in right away to look at and fix the issues. The location of this hotel is great - just far enough from the French Quarter to avoid the hustle and bustle of that neighborhood, but close enough that it's within walking distance (approximately 15-20 minute walk). Frenchmen Street can be quite noisy at night as the jazz clubs are open til all hours of the night. Bring earplugs and you'll be fine. The continental breakfast was good: bagels, toast, donuts, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, orange juice, milk and king cake. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, General Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Frenchmen Hotel property, staff and amenities. We look forward to seeing you and your boyfriend during your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We made reservations for another place 7 months prior to our arrival. Upon our arrival, our room was given away even though we were told there was a "plumbing issue" in the room & given a substandard room that was unacceptable. I called around all over New Orleans & surrounding areas (during Mardi Gras, mind you) & happened upon this little gem called the Frenchman Hotel. Super friendly & accomodating staff. Clean, bright, & cheerful property. One of the BEST locations. We had such an amazing time that we inquired about next year! We will be back & we definitely will be staying @ the Frenchmen!!!!! Superthanks to Clarence, Troy, & Ashley! You guys are WONDERFUL!!!!!

Room Tip: Book as early as possible for Mardi Gras!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, General Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for this shining review of our staff and property. Clarence, Troy and Ashleigh are appreciative of the kind words - we are proud to have them on our staff. We all look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Reminiscence of the family hotels of France. Convenient to the music scene. Safe neighborhood

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchmengm, General Manager at The Frenchmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Frenchmen Hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to La Nouvelle-Orléans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frenchmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frenchmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Frenchmen Hotel to your Saves list