We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast because the location is close to the St. Charles Streetcar and also Magazine St., which has many good shops and restaurants. Our hostess, Jill gave us many great tips about where to find attractions and music venues. The room was quiet and comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful, too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    12
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
102
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was attending a large convention and every room in the city was booked, so I looked for a B & B, but they were booked too. The Chimes had a cancellation, a very happy occurrence for me. I have never stayed in the Garden District before, and wasn't sure I would enjoy it, but I'm so glad I did. The Chimes is a lovely, quaint, clean place to stay. Jill has a gift for creating warm, welcoming, comfortable, relaxing spaces. She is also very engaging and attends to every detail, even providing a gluten-free breakfast and making excellent dining recommendations within walking distance. The courtyard is charming and the rooms are actually little cabanas nestled around the courtyard making it very private, yet everything is convenient. This will be my go-to place for future NOLA conventions. Thank you, Jill, for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Chimes is a wonderful oasis. The owners are very nice and helpful with materials and info on New Orleans. The breakfast is to die for. The pastries and bread and cheese at breakfast are so good, you will not be disappointed. The owner has breakfast with the guests and everyone has different stories about what they have done and what the will do. This is very helpful planning you own itinerary. The location is excellent in terms of getting to main attractions but the area is quiet. If you like small time charm, this place is for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a marvelous time during our NOLA trip staying at the Chimes B&B! Jill and her staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The accommodations were delightful and perfect for the Garden District setting. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. Jill made some fabulous restaurant recommendations, too. We had such a great time that we've decided to go again next year and have already reserved our room at the Chimes B&B!

Room Tip: Variety of rooms available...just depends on the size space you need. We were quite comfortable in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

My wife and I took our first trip to NOLA the week of Halloween. I found the Chimes on Trip Advisor, took a look at the website, spoke with the owner on the phone, and booked Room #1. Best decision I ever made!

Room#1 is a large, split-level space, kind-of like a coach house behind the main house. The main floor has a nice sitting area with a full sized leather sofa and comfy sitty chair, a table and chairs for dining in the room, a nice flat screen tv, day bed, and lovely bathroom. The space also has a loft where the bed is located. The 'bedroom' is very quaint with plenty of space to spread out, and the bed was super comfy.

The Chimes is located in a nice, quiet residential neighborhood between St Charles and Magazine St. It's an easy walk to a ton of restaurants on Magazine, an easy drive across town to either Audobon Park and Tulane to the west, or the French Quarter and Frenchman St to the east. We rented a car (the Chimes has super easy parking), but honestly, NOLA is pretty easy to get around by streetcar and bus if you'd prefer.

The main home is on the corner. There's a beautiful courtyard with lush plants, a fountain, tables and chairs in a fenced-in, very private side- and backyard. It's a great place to relax between adventures. There is also an 'on your honor' fridge stocked full of a variety of drinks. You just drop money in a tin in your room and help yourself.

Jill the owner was delightful! Very relaxed, delightful conversationalist, and very plugged-in to all that NOLA has to offer. She gave us great tips on restaurants, venues and events to explore. Breakfasts were fresh fruit, really good coffee, juice, a wonderfull assortment of fresh-baked pastries and croissants, and a fresh baguette with jams and a nice assortments of cheese. Jill's breakfast was a great way to start the day.

*** PLEASE NOTE *** If you're going to NOLA to be a big, stupid, drunken idiot, you might want to stay somewhere else. But if you're going to experience the rich culture, excellent food and music, and beautiful neighborhoods, and want a clean, beautiful, relaxing place to return to throughout the day and in the evening, the Chimes is PERFECT!

Highly recommended. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room #1 was so nice. The other rooms also looked great, but this coach-house room had so much chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Your descriptive paragraph of the Carriage House just reminds me that I need to spend a night or two there myself.....a "staycation". Thank you for staying with us, taking the time to write this review and for thoroughly enjoying New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This B&B was recommended by trustworthy friends. this was our first trip to New Orleans. Could not of had a better location. close to transportation , ideal place to walk. Jill was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and how to get there. The morning cheese fruit and pastries were o so good. We felt most comfortable here. "Mr Moe (cab service used by the B&B)was on time and helpful. Hope to stay there on our next trip to new Orleans.

Monica &Bob Koenig

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Please count yourselves as some of those most interesting people at the Chimes breakfast table. Thank you for returning every year to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We've stayed at The Chimes three times this year, with and without a car. There's no problem to find a place to park, and it's in a walkable location and near the streetcar line if you don't want to drive. The beds and rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful, and the fabulous hosts and interesting guests from around the world make it convivial and relaxed. Staying at the Chimes feels like staying with old friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
And, it's true....you are friends that we find most enjoyable. Thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information as needed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimes Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chimes Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list