We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 35 th wedding anniversary :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chimes Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Zachary, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our 35 th wedding anniversary :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast in Uptown New Orleans. It 's location was perfect and the room and amenities were best to say the least.
The night before we had stayed on the coast at a large name casino resort only to be sadly disappointed. The Chimes was a pleasant end to our celebration!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
111
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Chimes B & B for four days over Christmas 2012. We had one room and a second large room was for our daughter and her family, including twin 17 year-old boys. It was an excellent experience, with hostess Jill providing marked local maps that were helpful and delicious breakfasts. Jill also provided restaurant information which proved quite helpful, as well as suggestions on places to go for jazz. The rooms were very good and everything worked well. I highly recommend the Chimes and would stay there again if we come back to New Orleans. We also found the location to be very convenient for our purposes. There was a parking place for us which helped a lot since we did quite a bit of driving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
And, your family of musicians were most appreciative of the Chimes and our city. Thank you for staying with us during the holidays. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at Chimes, thanks to Jill and the beautiful Garden District setting. She had great tips for us on the music scene, and Magazine Street options (Tipitina's, La Petite Grocery) are in walking distance. Looking forward to a return visit sometime in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I loved The Chimes. The environment is just so pleasant and restful. So much thought has been put into making sure that the guest are comfortable and happy. The hosts went out of their way to help with directions and information about restaurants, shops and siteseeing.I loved the room and the garden area. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again, as well. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed just one night in room 1 at the Chimes. It was a perfect room and location for 4 of us.
Jill and her husband are great, knowledgable hosts. We parked our cars and didn't need to drive at all. We walked to Magazine Street for dinner. There are plenty of choices there. We took at cab to and from Bourbon St.
The courtyard is beautiful. If we were there for a longer stay, I could see us having happy hour or our morning coffee there.
Our breakfast hit the spot. We enjoyed that before heading out for local cuisine.
We liked the quiet, community location, as this is a welcomed contrast to Bourbon St.
Should we be fortunate enough to visit New Orleans again, we will definitely stay at Chimes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for your appreciation of the carriage house and our offerings. We hope to see you for a longer stay one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'm so glad I found the Chimes. It was cozy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast with the other guests was a great way to start the day. The fresh fruit and pastries also helped! Jill had good advice about places to see and where to eat. Great access to the bus and streetcar. I was there on my own and always felt safe in the neighborhood. If I am ever lucky enough to visit the beautiful city of New Orleans again, The Chimes will be my first stop! Jill was the perfect hostess and made me feel very welcome. I can't thank her enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for searching us out through all the choices you had in New Orleans! It was fun having you at the Chimes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently stayed at The Chimes on my recommendation with two other couples. It couldn't have been better. We each had our room, yet we could gather in the courtyard for a nice glass of wine before going out for the evening. Perfect! Jill was the perfect host, and was always ready if we had a question. The breakfast was delicious every morning and we enjoyed the company.

The rooms were clean, inviting and very nice. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house which was great...the bath was a little on the small side, but Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your warm review and for your appreciation of the Chimes B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information as needed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimes Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.