We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing base for exploring New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chimes Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing base for exploring New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I enjoy staying in B&Bs instead of hotels since most B&B owners give my stay a personal touch, offering information on the local area, restaurants, places to see, etc. And, during business travel, I find hotels to be impersonal and boring. I have to admit, my stay at the Chimes recently was not really like other B&Bs. It was more like staying with family or old friends.

Jill and Charles have operated this B&B for almost 20 years. It's pretty obvious that they know what they are doing. They aren't just opening their home to travelers. They are giving travelers a comfortable place to stay and tips on a wonderful city to explore.

The 5 Chimes B&B rooms are not really your typical "rooms in a house". 3 of the 5 rooms are rooms in the courtyard behind the house. The 2 other rooms are in the main house but access is via a courtyard door rather than a door into the house. This is nice so you can come and go without having to disrupt Jill and family who actually live in the house.

Breakfast was surprising simple at first, especially given a recent stay at another B&B in Washington where breakfast was a 5-course event. Juices, pastries, cheeses, bread, cereal, coffee, etc. Quite a bit of food if you wanted it, or just a little bit if you ate too much local food the night before. Rather than having individual tables where guests can ignore each other, Jill would sit at the big dining room table with the guests, talking about the city or politics or life in general. Charles would walk though and say hi. Neighbors would stop by for a cup of coffee and a chat. A cat would walk through. It was like no B&B that I'd ever been to. So much community and discussion, you forgot that this city is rumored to still be underwater or in a dilapidated state.

The courtyard is a peaceful, tree-shaded place to relax with a book. Jill installed a small refrigerator near the courtyard for guests who preferred a glass of wine with their book. (Payment is a small box in the fridge and the honor system)

Note that Katrina didn't necessarily cause all the damage to New Orleans, the levee breaches did. So, the water spread from Lake Pontchartrain but stopped a few blocks from the Garden District and the Chimes B&B. The neighborhood around the Chimes is just like any other neighborhood, not damaged at all.

During our stay, we met other guests who have been coming to the Chimes B&B every year for many years. At first I thought that was odd, but after our stay, I understood exactly why guests would find this B&B to be so welcoming, charming, relaxing and a great place to stay during a visit to New Orleans.

  • Liked — Relaxing, good information about the city, not a typical Bourbon Street NOLA experience
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
120
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

I was so relieved to be able to leave the French Quarter and go home to my gorgeous & quiet room at this B & B. Its was the best of both worlds. A $12 cab ride away from the mayhem of Bourbon Street but when we just wanted a nice walk along Magazine street to shop a bit, and have a nice meal, we were already in the right neighbourhood for that.
We had a car but parked it so we could indulge in a few mint juleps- and its was nice to see neighbourhoods we might not have otherwise seen, talk to the cabbies and hear some good stories.
The hosts at The Chimes were welcoming and took time to point out places of interest. The suggested sights made our weekend seamless and ensured we saw exactly what interested us specifically.
New Orleans was brilliant and mainly due to the resilient, positive and warm people we met.

  • Liked — garden setting, location, hosts, restaurant recommendations, talking to locals, meeting other guests
  • Disliked — funny- but we needed a lesson to use the shower
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

On a return visit to New Orleans, we decided to veer away from the chain hotels, and were rewarded with a great stay at the Chimes B&B.
Jill could not have been a more welcoming host after we had a bit of a time finding the B&B on Constantinople St.
The room we stayed in was on the small side, but it was the only one left. Still, it was commodious, homey and had everything we needed. At $125, it was a good value.
The Chimes was one of the first places up and running post-Katrina (a happy accident that Jill could tell you about) and even served as the Reuters New Orleans bureau until last year (where I had a serendipitous reunion with a former reporter colleague of mine).
The Chimes is a great bridge to what happened to New Orleans, particularly the Uptown/Garden District neighborhoods, and what the city is trying to become -- again. You won't get that staying at a Marriott or Hilton. And you wouldn't get Jill. Even if you don't think you're a B&B person, this would be a good place to find out.
One caveat: having a car would make staying here a lot easier. And because you can park for free on the street, as opposed to $25 a day at the hotels, it won't take a bite and give you a lot more flexibility to get around.
Jill can provide lots of unvarnished, honest restaurant recommendations. Some thumbnails of places we went.

Domilise's--excellent shrimp 'po boy in a true neighborhood joint.
Casamento's--go for the oyster loaf and the good deal on those beauties on the half shell.
August--generally regarded as the best restaurant going in New Orleans right now, and for good reason. Elegance without pretension. Worth the splurge. Book on OpenTable before you go.
Herbsaint--A little too overpraised. Still above-average food, but a little bit of a comedown after eating at August the night before.
Commander's Palace--Good to have them back. Had reopened a month after we ate there and it was like they never missed a beat. Jazz brunch on the weekends is worth the trip over to Washington Street. Work off the meal with a stroll through the Garden District afterwards and breathe a sigh of relief that this area largely escaped the ravages of Katrina.
Cafe du Monde--Because it's there, and because the beignets are as good as ever. You shouldn't have them, but you know you want them. And you will.

  • Liked — Out-of-the-ordinary accommodations at a reasonable price
  • Disliked — Bit hard to find initially, but that's a function of the street signs, not the B&B
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast U.S.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago. The rooms are nice, and all surround a courtyard. The beds are very comfortable.

Jill and her husband (the owners) are helpful in every way possible.

Two things I would mention:

- You really need a car in order to stay here and feel like you are in New Orleans. The neighborhood is fine, but in order to get to great places on Magazine, uptown, Audubon Park, the Quarter, you really need a car. There is a plenty of on street parking, though. That isn't a problem at all. The St Charles streetcar is still not working.

- If the wind is blowing, the chimes hanging outside are very loud. They kept us up all night.

This is a reasonably priced, well maintained, nice place to stay while in New Orleans.

I think it would be a good place to stay with children.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

We have stayed at the Chimes for the past 17 years during Jazz Fest. Terrific location Uptown (walk to Tipitina's), wonderful (and knowledgable) hosts, fine accomodations, beautiful setting, awesome continental-plus breakfasts. Can't say enough about the place. You're a fool if you opt for a hotel over the Chimes!

  • Liked — Hosts, location
  • Disliked — Next-door neighbor
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for Charles' bread pudding!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

Stayed at The Chimes on Oct 10th & 11th. The owner greeted me upon check-in, gave me a map of the city and explained the city's layout and atttractions. What a great way to get your bearings in a new city....

The place itself is beautiful! My room was not only lovely, but had the unique distiction of being homey and very elegant at the same time. My room opened up to a lush garden with table and chairs to rest your bones after walking the Quarter all day!

Immaculately clean place. Everything was sparkling! And in the morning, you get to have breakfast at the huge table with the other guests. Don't get worried! It is not overly pushy or too friendly, so if you need to keep to yourself, you can do that too.

I am already planning my next trip to NOLA, and will stay with The Chimes. One of my best B&B stays ever.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — get a bus schedule to get you from the Garden Dist to the Quarter
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

This was my second stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast. Both visits exceeded my expectations. Since I grew up in New Orleans and attended college in the Uptown area, I knew that I wanted to stay in a B&B close to St. Charles Avenue and Magazine Street. The Chimes is a cozy bed and breakfast with many touches that make you feel at home. My husband and I enjoyed the daily breakfasts of croissants, cheeses, fresh fruit, coffee, and juice. The conversation at the breakfast table made it even more enjoyable. As cat lovers, the resident cats, Java and Julius, also made us feel welcome. The bed was comfortable particularly with the big down comforter that we had, and I enjoyed several long hot bathes in the large bath tub (which was very clean). When we return to visit my hometown again, we will be staying at the Chimes.

  • Liked — Cozy, romantic, location, affordability, breakfast included
  • Disliked — Internet in the room would be nice.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want to use the internet, make sure you ask about it. There is a laptop you can use at breakfast, but you ahve to ask.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information as needed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimes Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.