We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3636 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70115-4690   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #44 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, TX
2 reviews
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband, young adult daughter and I visited NOLA in July, 2012 and spent 3 nights at this Best Western on St. Charles Ave. Our adjoining rooms were clean and cool. Off street parking was secure and free. Staff members that we interacted with were friendly. The street car stop was convenient enough that our car never moved! (This might not be for everyone, but we enjoyed the novelty.) The Superior Grill next door (Mexican) was very good, and YES -- you can get margaritas to go if you choose. Free breakfast at the BW was rather mediocre, but it's hard to complain when it's free. We had a great time would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
49
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bethesda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed there for a college trip. Ideal location but also rooms fancier than you might expect, very friendly and helpful staff. On the tram line too and a quick ride downtown to the French quarter and d day museum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three days in June and it was a good choice. Very clean, friendly staff, enclosed and secure parking lot and very close of a walk to the St Charles st car line, Garden District and Magazine St. Also has a very good Mexican restaurant ( Superior Grill) next door. You can take the Streetcar and be in the French Quarter within a half of an hour. I plan on staying at this hotel again the next time we visit New Orleans

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was in a good location. It is however a good 2 mile walk from the Loyola and Tulane. There is a street car in front of the hotel. Can be crowded at certain times of the day. The breakfast was good and nicely displayed. The staff was friendly and helpful.

There is a place to eat next door ( did not eat there but there was a long line) you need to take transportation to most places to eat. but many to choose from in the quarter, magazine st. etc.

FYI If you are coming to drop someone off at college, you need transportation to get to a bed bath and beyond, or target. cab ride will run you about 30-40 dollars

Room Tip: AC unit was not working perfectly so check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A nice hotel. Staff was great and the room was wonderful! We did not have a good view but that wasn't important to us. The elevator is super tiny. We did not notice smells from the resturant below but we ran the a/c continually. Maybe it filtered the smell out better.

The only complaint I would have is the bathrooms don't have a vent and would get soooo humid that it was hard to dry off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent a week in the hotel with our two small dogs and had a great time in this hotel. Everyone here was friendly: front desk staff, manager, housekeeping, and maintenance. The hotel is very clean and located right on the streetcar line in Uptown. It is also within walking distance of many great restaurants. The next time we are in New Orleans, which we hope will be very soon, we will stay here. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to explore what New Orleans has to offer outside of the Quarter and Bourbon street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was part of the party mentioned in the first Guest Not #1 priority post. What my aunt stated is true, we worked hard to coordinate a trip where my small family of five could meet from four different states and accommodate my father’s 25 ft trailer and be in one location. My aunt did call the hotel more than once to confirm that we could in fact park the trailer in their lot. We also went into the lobby upon arrival to confirm again that this would be ok. The girl (I believe her name was Angela) said yes, we could park the trailer there. The lot is gated and there are no pull through parking spots (a detail that no one seemed to find relevant when my aunt called). It took my father over an hour to pull in and get situated in a way that he took the minimal amount of spots, could pull out and other guests could pull in. As we were maneuvering this, the connection for his lights from his truck to the trailer was ripped apart. We got situated and left to see New Orleans. When we came back to check into the second room, a new desk clerk was there and she said the manager stated the trailer needed to be moved. We asked to speak to the manager. The manager said that no one would have said that it would be OK to park the trailer there. While she might not have approved this, other hotel staff did in fact approve this. Rather than owning up to a mistake that her staff made, and letting us park there for three week days when there were no events going on, she insisted that the trailer be removed at 7pm in the evening with no lights. My father was obviously upset about the situation and the manager acted as if he were out of line and escalated the situation by raising her voice to him and acting as if she had been threatened. Not once did we get an apology for their mistake. Needless to say, we did get the trailer out of their lot, to make room for the manager and her staff to park. They did in fact help make phone calls to a local RV park, where we would have gone in the first place, had we not been told that it would be OK to park the trailer at this hotel. That is the only amount of credit that I can give to this manager. And she did it because I stated to her that because my father was upset and he had no lights, there was a good chance that there would be an accident. I was extremely disappointed in the way that the manager handled the situation. Things could have worked out much differently. Yes, the employees DO park in the lot on the hotel property, per the manager when she replied to my aunt; this is because it is not busy season. There is a lot a block or so away, and if you are a guest and you have the clearance, you can park there and walk to your hotel. My recommendation to this hotel would be to send managers through some customer service classes and not to allow them to park in hotel guest parking.

Room Tip: Get names of people you talk to, email questions, print and save responses. Hold managers accountab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Address: 3636 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.