We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“college trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3636 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70115-4690   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #38 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“college trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was in a good location. It is however a good 2 mile walk from the Loyola and Tulane. There is a street car in front of the hotel. Can be crowded at certain times of the day. The breakfast was good and nicely displayed. The staff was friendly and helpful.

There is a place to eat next door ( did not eat there but there was a long line) you need to take transportation to most places to eat. but many to choose from in the quarter, magazine st. etc.

FYI If you are coming to drop someone off at college, you need transportation to get to a bed bath and beyond, or target. cab ride will run you about 30-40 dollars

Room Tip: AC unit was not working perfectly so check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    74
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
66
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A nice hotel. Staff was great and the room was wonderful! We did not have a good view but that wasn't important to us. The elevator is super tiny. We did not notice smells from the resturant below but we ran the a/c continually. Maybe it filtered the smell out better.

The only complaint I would have is the bathrooms don't have a vent and would get soooo humid that it was hard to dry off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent a week in the hotel with our two small dogs and had a great time in this hotel. Everyone here was friendly: front desk staff, manager, housekeeping, and maintenance. The hotel is very clean and located right on the streetcar line in Uptown. It is also within walking distance of many great restaurants. The next time we are in New Orleans, which we hope will be very soon, we will stay here. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to explore what New Orleans has to offer outside of the Quarter and Bourbon street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was part of the party mentioned in the first Guest Not #1 priority post. What my aunt stated is true, we worked hard to coordinate a trip where my small family of five could meet from four different states and accommodate my father’s 25 ft trailer and be in one location. My aunt did call the hotel more than once to confirm that we could in fact park the trailer in their lot. We also went into the lobby upon arrival to confirm again that this would be ok. The girl (I believe her name was Angela) said yes, we could park the trailer there. The lot is gated and there are no pull through parking spots (a detail that no one seemed to find relevant when my aunt called). It took my father over an hour to pull in and get situated in a way that he took the minimal amount of spots, could pull out and other guests could pull in. As we were maneuvering this, the connection for his lights from his truck to the trailer was ripped apart. We got situated and left to see New Orleans. When we came back to check into the second room, a new desk clerk was there and she said the manager stated the trailer needed to be moved. We asked to speak to the manager. The manager said that no one would have said that it would be OK to park the trailer there. While she might not have approved this, other hotel staff did in fact approve this. Rather than owning up to a mistake that her staff made, and letting us park there for three week days when there were no events going on, she insisted that the trailer be removed at 7pm in the evening with no lights. My father was obviously upset about the situation and the manager acted as if he were out of line and escalated the situation by raising her voice to him and acting as if she had been threatened. Not once did we get an apology for their mistake. Needless to say, we did get the trailer out of their lot, to make room for the manager and her staff to park. They did in fact help make phone calls to a local RV park, where we would have gone in the first place, had we not been told that it would be OK to park the trailer at this hotel. That is the only amount of credit that I can give to this manager. And she did it because I stated to her that because my father was upset and he had no lights, there was a good chance that there would be an accident. I was extremely disappointed in the way that the manager handled the situation. Things could have worked out much differently. Yes, the employees DO park in the lot on the hotel property, per the manager when she replied to my aunt; this is because it is not busy season. There is a lot a block or so away, and if you are a guest and you have the clearance, you can park there and walk to your hotel. My recommendation to this hotel would be to send managers through some customer service classes and not to allow them to park in hotel guest parking.

Room Tip: Get names of people you talk to, email questions, print and save responses. Hold managers accountab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Usualy best western hotels are a sure bet , but this one was disapointing.
The rooms we were offered had a strong oder from the restaurat below, rooms were shoddy, AC worked poorly and the room was not cleaned one of the days we stayed there. Staff was helpfull, but the stay was not plesant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Appear to want to ditch 3rd party guest, when they can get more from walk ins. Also care more about where employees get to park than guests.

Called direct to hotel and inquired if they could accommodate truck with 5th wheel. After checking calendar was told “there are no events in town at that time there would be no problem with trailer." I booked 2 rooms through Travelocity. On April 16 I called back directly to Hotel inquired again about truck and 5th wheel. Was told the same thing, no events in town No problem with trailer. After arriving and unhitching trailer, we were told trailer had to be moved off guest lot. The truck is GMC 2011, car 2007 Santa Fe and very nice trailer these were not old beat up vehicles. We were quickly offered refunds for both rooms and said we could go elsewhere. The trailer was taking 2 1/2 parking spots. We then offered to park car and truck on street to make room for trailer that was already unhitched to stay on lot. Again, we were told "No" but we can give you a refund. When I explained to manager about the 2 prior phone calls she stated "No one here would have said that." I have proof on my cell phone that I had called hotel direct. No I don’t have proof of what was actually said, but why else would I call the hotel direct? I was basically called a liar in front of my family and other hotel guests. During our conversation to resolve this issue, several other guests had arrived to inquire about walk in rates. They were told near double what we had paid. At that point it appeared Best Western was trying to get us out so they could double the revenue for our rooms.

We did end up moving trailer to another location and did get a refund for 1 room. However this was a family reunion that was put together after the death of my sister and by her adult children. We all live in different parts of the country and this was our meeting place.

The following day after check in., we noticed the manager, the custodian/maintance man and desk clerk all had cars parked in the guest lot. That’s 3 cars taking guest spots. This happened all 3 days that we were there. I took pictures and have proof of this also. I have to wonder besides receiving double our rate, was Best Western more concerned about where the employees park than being able at accommodate reserved guests?.

Sincerely,
Hel

Room Tip: DO NOT BOOK THROUGH 3rd party. window opens in bathroom for good vetilation,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Most people coming to New Orleans immediately focus on the French Quarter, which is great, but there is so much more to this town. Our son is graduating from Tulane in a week, so we have had lots of opportunities to visit NOLA in recent years. The St. Charles Inn is on St. Charles Ave. between the Garden District and Uptown neighborhoods. It's much quieter than the French Quarter, and far more charming. You can have your breakfast (included in the rate) on the front porch and watch the streetcars roll past. There is free parking and easy access to downtown via taxi or streetcar. You can also walk over to Magazine Street and wander the Garden District on foot. The hotel is not super high end, but it is clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Address: 3636 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.