We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hisotric hotel, quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soniat House to your Saves list
Soniat House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1133 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“hisotric hotel, quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Soniat House. It came highly regarded by a trusted friend, and I am pleased that we chose to stay there.

Room: We booked a junior suite, but was upgraded upon our arrival. Our room was across the street and overlooked a beautiful courtyard. The room itself was large, with a bedroom and living room. The size of living room could have accommodated more furniture and perhaps a larger sofa would have been nice, but the pieces themselves fit with the antique aesthetic of the property and room. The room otherwise was tastefully appointed, and the bed was comfortable and the bathtub was large and very nice. My only complaint about the room would be that the window shades should open. I understand that it may be for privacy reasons, but there were times when I wanted to see outside and not being able to made me feel a little claustrophobic. There was one large window that had drapes that could, but otherwise the room was quite dark.

Services: There is an honour bar, and good wifi. The staff was all lovely and I enjoyed chatting with them. The biscuits and coffee in the morning are a nice option, but perhaps a bit $ for what you get. Nevertheless, eating them in the courtyard was so peaceful and a great way to start the day.

Location: I loved the location. It was far away from the craziness of Bourbon, and there were some great options for food and drink nearby. Also, its proximity to Frenchmen street was perfect.

This hotel allows you to enjoy the historic aspect of the French quarter. It is not perfect, but that is what's charming about it. If you like old houses, or appreciate architecture and history then I think this would be a great choice. If you are a sucker for straight up luxury, then you may be left wanting more.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    44
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
18
123
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with a stay at Soniat House. Unless you have little regard for historic sites and genuine southern hospitality and charm. Yes, there are modern luxuries you may need to live without here (like one other reviewer, our bathroom didn't have hooks for robes!) but, really, why would you choose a modern hotel in a city such as New Orleans? That seems counter-intuitive to me. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The people here are lovely (Irvin, Calvin!) and extremely helpful - we asked so many questions about NO history and directions to here-and-there and recommendations (what's the best burger in town - Port 'O Call!) - and every question was answered. The courtyard at night is absolutely lovely - candle lit. What a treat to sit out there in the evenings.

I do agree with another reviewer that the breakfast biscuits ought to be complimentary ($12.95 per person is a bit steep). But that's a minor point.

Thanks to all who made our stay so enjoyable~

Room Tip: We were in Rm 29 (higher floor). Lovely. Not a huge room, but big enough. And very private. Loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Upon entering the the doors, it felt as if we had arrived in a magical land of peace and quiet. The busyness of the street and the people didn't enter those doors at all. My husband and I spent three nights here and were elated at what we found at this perfect retreat. We had made last minute plans to elope and the only room available was the superior room recommended for the single traveler. However, the room we had (10) was plenty for us. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, the amenities were of the highest quality and modern. We had everything we could possibly want and need. The staff was personable and very knowledgeable in every way. We felt like royalty at all times but especially while eating a scrumptious breakfast of homemade biscuits, jam, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice each morning. Fine restaurants, music venues, and any other activity is within walking distance. It's close enough to anything you may want and need. I cannot recommend this gem of a hotel enough. It's a perfect blend of old and modern with a distinct personality and charm that's all it's own. I've been to New Orleans many times over the last 20 years and have stayed in many hotels but this one, to me is by far the very best. We plan on celebrating every anniversary here at Soniat House. Thank you for wonderful memories past and future.

Room Tip: Our room (10) was in the front of the building and we were concerned about street noise but there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed at the Soniat House several times since 2007, alone and with my husband. When you walk through the green doors into the courtyard, you step back into time, into a world where service and soft spoken manners were once considered de rigeur. I have stayed in two of the grand suites, #64, which is located across the street, and #28. Each one is appointed with treasures from the past, and if you enjoy soft sheets, and exquisite decor, then this is your oasis.

Wrought iron balconies, ceiling fans, the smell of creole coffee wafting up the stairs. One of New Orleans' best restaurants is just a block down the street. Located in the Quarter, you are within walking distance of just about anything your heart may desire.

The Soniat House is my retreat whenever I am in New Orleans, and I would urge anyone who appreciates the elegance of the old over the new to make sure to make this your choice of respite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary having stayed at the delightful Soniat House in 2004, we wanted to return. It was all the things we remembered and more. We had a magical stay in this little idyll within the French Quarter. Our room was as gorgeous as we remember it and the team at Soniat House were so accommodating we didn't want to leave!

For a relaxing, tranquil, romantic and beautiful stay, this hotel has it in spades!

Room Tip: We have stayed on both sides (in the main hotel and the opposite building) and loved the suite that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I can not recommend this place enough. The Soniat House is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting the French Quarter. The room was the perfect mix of old world charm and modern day amenities. The entire staff was not only super friendly but super educated and informative of all things New Orleans. Once we got there they helped us set up tours, gave restaurant advice and let us know any special events going on. It was like having a personal vacation planner. If you stay at the Soniat House I promise you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We look forward to your return to Soniat House, soon and often.
Thank you for your kind words,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I hate to admit it, but I've stayed at Soniat House three times this year and it gets better and better.. I met a lady my age who has stayed five times this year! It's fun moving around to different rooms. I've stayed in at least six different rooms since I was in my 20's, 21 being my favorite.
There is nothing you can't love about this one of a kind hotel. Many thanks for making me feel comfortable Bill, Irvin, Edina, Scott, Jamal and Mr. Calvin.
See you next time! Kate Novak

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Oh Kate

Thank you so much for being so loyal and writing such glowing reviews. I really needed to receive this one today while I was attempting the reply to the previous reviewer.

Hurry back. We will always be here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Address: 1133 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soniat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.