We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French quarter stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soniat House to your Saves list
Soniat House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1133 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunday Suite Special!
Ranked #47 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic French quarter stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want to try something different, away from the big hotels that tend to look pretty much the same, I would definitely recommend Soniat house in the French quarter of New Orleans.
It is situated not exactly in the centre of the French quarter which makes it quieter than other hotels but still close enough to walk everywhere.

The rooms are lovely, they look like old colonial houses conversions. The stay was a bit like Downton Abby vacation. The rooms had queen beds with tall pillars and our room also had a balcony facing the street. At night you can hear the horse carriage go by and it transports you to a different era. Breakfast can be ordered and hot scones will come in hot baskets heated by hot stones. Rather quaint the whole experience!
No actual meal room service, but that was ok as we explored Irene's just around the corner. Irene's is an establishment, we dined there and had take away with all the silverware 4 out of 5 nights. Friendly staff, authentic atmosphere, amazing food, what more could you ask for.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    43
    30
    13
    16
See reviews for
18
119
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed at the Soniat for 4 nights. The location was absolutely great- 3 blocks from Frenchmen Street with is where you'll find a ton of great local music, usually for the price of one drink. a few blocks from Jackson Square. Quiet area away from the crowds. The rooms were clean and the beds were excellent, with soft, downlike pillows.

The service is also great- they will take care of anything you need and all of the front desk folks are trained concierges. They will provide breaakfast in your room for $12 per person, but we didn't try that. There's an excellent coffee and bakery place around the corner.

The only downside for us was guest noise- we started on the first floor, and you can hear every step of the guests above you because your wooden ceiling is their floor. We are noise-sensitive and this was a problem. Our first room also had a musty odor which they controlled with a dehumidifier in the room.

Also, our room had almost no natural light, because it faced onto the courtyard (it didn't help that the weather was overcast for most of our stay). This seems like it shouldn't be a problem since you're going to be out all day anyway, but that's just us- we really wanted natural light in the morning.

These things can't be helped as this property, along with most others in the French Quarter, are historic buildings with the limitations that brings. The rooms were dark by design to keep the hot sun out in the summer. First floor rooms sometimes have to deal with humidity leaching out of the ground.

That said, they went out of their way to accomodate us- first moving us to another first-floor room which had no odor but was even noisier. Then when we were going to check out early, the owner moved us to an amazing suite up on the 3rd floor where we had lots of light and no noise above us- for the same price we'd been paying. There are lots of 2nd floor rooms which might have been fine but they were all occupied.

So if you want a hotel room in the ugly, noisy southern part of the French Quarter, stay at the Monteleone. But if you want to be where all the good stuff is (except good oyster bars- they are near the Monteleone but still walking distance from Soniat), stay here! I would definitely stay again- I'll just be more careful about my room preferences.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor if you can. But if you can't, Room 17 had a strong musty odor. Room 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a charming place in the quiet end of the French Quarter. Formerly two homes and now a breakfast only hotel, the front of the house service is excellent especially if you are lucky enough to meet Bill. While we were there, we saw a MAJOR movie star who shall remained unnamed until later since we don't wish to undermine his privacy. The owner, Mr. Smith has some lovely antiques for sale across the street. All in all pleasant experience but if you like the amenities of a full service hotel this is not for you. The one major negative is the beds...not king sized and it is time to buy new firmer mattresses. Minor negatives, noise and room size, but if you are not prepared for both inthe French Quarter then consider a chain in downtown.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony on a street, then this will be one of the quieter options in the French Quarte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staying at the Soniat House is a special treat. Great hospitality and beautiful rooms; Fabulous coffee and homemade biscuits for breakfast; Romantic setting in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything you'd want in a small, luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel is special and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you appreciate the French Quarter for all that it is.... and not just the drinking on Bourbon Street (which we all love), but the true historic appeal and charm of the old buildings, the uneven walkways, the hospitality and genteel manner and the relaxed poise of graceful imperfection, then this is a MUST stay. This is how I imagine living in the Quarter feels.

This was less a hotel stay and more like staying with friends.... I know others have written the same, but it's all true so it bears repeating.

Bill at the front desk was awesome and more than helpful, the porters were absolute gentlemen. My room was immaculate and appointed well.

A few words to those who actually read these reviews when looking for a place....

This place was built in 1830. And it's meant to show it. I saw some reviewer complain that there was no elevator and the cobblestone courtyard was uneven.... Seriously?

I like the crisp, modern, and perfect hotels too - and the barrage of modern amenities & electronics, lobby bars and pools, and glitz etc. as much as the next guy. And I stay in places like that when I choose to. And if that's really what you are after when booking, (not trying to be snarky) do yourself a favor and don't stay at a place like the Soniat, as you will not be satisfied. And in particular, if this isn't your cup of tea but you stay here anyways and then write unflattering reviews, that is patently unfair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Soniat House 12 years ago and had a fabulous time. We have raved about it ever since, and looked forward to revisiting what was once called one of the top 10 boutique inns in America.
While the staff are gracious, charming and accommodating, and the location in the French quarter is great, the property has been allowed to really go downhill. We stayed in a "junior suite" this time, and were disappointed by the fact that there was no desk where one could use a laptop comfortably, no bathrobes provided, not enough pillows (three are not enough for two people to be able to sit in bed comfortably and read), and the heating system, such as it is, was very noisy. We had to make a choice between being kept away by noisy fans, or being cold. The wifi was very spotty, and our friends in the room below us could hear our every step and flush... The rooms are in definite need of updating and its time for new blankets...
This is not an inexpensive place to stay, so its not unreasonable to expect some level of comfort and indulgence....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I do wish that you had called the Reception Desk so that we could have made your visit more enjoyable. For there to not be two bathrobes in your suite was simply an oversight. That is no excuse but we could have sent them over had you notified us. We have dozens of extra pillows both down filled and hypo-allergenic. Again we would have been delighted to send you as many as would have made you comfortable. We would also have been happy to check the WIFI antennas and the fan on your HVAC for you. We even have extra small tables available.
. We have never had a complaint about a blanket before. As housekeeping always triple sheets the beds the blankets are not usually seen but we see them and they have all been replaced as have all of the bed covers.
Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans again please give us another try. If everything is not to your liking just dial "O" and we will have it corrected. We hate to disappoint anyone and especially our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Soniat House but it's worth reading the reviews. It isn't your modern fancy hotel, it's really like staying at a friend's nice place, very homey. As mentioned, the staff is really great, Bill was on duty our first night and he was extremely helpful and sent us to some nice restaurants. The location is very good, our room was nice and spacious and very quiet. The garden area is very pretty and I wish it had been warmer and we could have spent more time there. Good coffee with warm milk along side is available in the morning downstairs and a nice honor bar sitting area is a great way to prepare for the evening.

Overall a nice stay, but not all the rooms have gotten the large screen tv's if that matters to you.

Room Tip: you might prefer the second floor during the warmer months in case people are out in the garden area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Address: 1133 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soniat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.