We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Soniat House to your Saves list
Soniat House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1133 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunday Suite Special!
Ranked #41 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter. The staff are very friendly and there is a very comfy lounge with an honesty bar, and cat! Our room was on the top floor which we accessed via an elevette - a quirky lift/elevator. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom. Very clean and well looked after. The one disadvantage was that breakfast was not included and consisted of one thing, scones/biscuits with strawberry jam - delicious but no variety and 12 dollars. The coffee was excellent!

Great place to stay and lots of choice for breakfast elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    41
    27
    12
    14
See reviews for
16
107
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you are looking for the ultimate cultural experience in the French Quarter of New Orleans, consider booking a room at this outstanding Grand Dame of a hotel. But don't misunderstand -- if you prefer elaborate room service menus, big TVs and soundproof rooms book elsewhere. However if you want to feel as if you've moved into the city then consider this hotel a don't miss.

Checking in is like being welcomed to the home of an old friend, and from the moment the door opens onto one of the enclosed garden patios behind the jade green doors you can absolutely imagine yourself whisked into another time and frame of mind. Be warned. Having stayed here you'll be hard pressed to stay anywhere else in this crazy wonderful town.

Beautifully decorated rooms and suites, several looking out onto the street, have the kind of patina newer hotels seek but cannot reproduce. Wide plank pine floors, high ceilings and heavy drapes compliment period chandeliers and artfully selected antique furnishings. The history of the hotel shines through in every detail so be sure and ask about it.

The staff is outstanding and no request is too tall with enough notice. The concierge can help you book a table, arrange for a carriage ride or direct you to one of the many wonderful clubs. We even managed to marry discreetly in an upstairs suite (no guests, plenty of champagne).

Although there is no food service per se, the coffee in the morning is delivered in tall silver pots and the biscuits are kept warm in clever baskets by hot bricks -- what more could you need to sustain you until you can make the short walk to any number of outstanding restaurants nearby?

In this town, this hotel is a little piece of history that you can actually rent for the night and keep in your heart forever. I highly recommend it as the place for a romantic dalliance in old NOLA.

Room Tip: Splurge on one of the upper rooms or go all out for a suite. You only live once and sleeping in is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I hope you won't change your opinion of Soniat House when you return and find that all of the televisions are larger, flat screens and in many cases mounted on the wall.
We promise not to change anything else.

Please come back soon. We love to welcome our faithful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I just spent four nights here over the course of my wedding weekend and absolutely loved it. It is an incredibly beautiful, special place and being there feels like stepping back in time. Moments like having the most delicious buttermilk biscuits in the lush courtyard, a glass of wine in the intimate reception room where the house cat sleeps on the sofa and classical music plays in the background, and interaction with the staff who are so attentive and kind makes this a wonderful place to stay. Every room is different and recalls a bygone era of New Orleans in this quiet location in the French Quarter. I stayed in room 19 for two nights, and the grand suite 64 for two nights - both beautiful!
If you are a traveler who wants/expects nespresso coffee makers, heated swimming pools, elaborate minibars, room service dinners, matching bedrooms and impersonal service go find yourself a chain hotel in the CBD. This place is full of character and any imperfections only add to that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Some people get it....some people don't. I must say....the people who have left reviews saying the Soniat House is old and dusty....they are among those who DO NOT get it. To those, may I recommend the Holiday Inn or the Hyatt where you will find new buildings and staff who are just there for a shift to earn a buck? The Soniat House is true to its roots...kept in the style of the "old" New Orleans." The staff and management treat you like family. When you walk into the courtyard, you feel as if you are stepping into the home of an elite 19th century southern aristocrat. If you do not appreciate this lifestyle, then don't waste your time. If you are looking for a unique, truly New Orleans experience, the Soniat House is the best you will get!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like the famous NO soup with all its mysterious ingredients and cooking times, this historical hotel has a lot of things going on to give it flavor, which makes a straightforward review complicated. First of all, the place is charming, quaint, welcoming. Second, the people who work here are good at what they do and are very pleasant (still I wondered about the stark division of tasks, since when I asked for help moving my suitcase or a second pillow, the front desk said: " Oh, I'll ask so-and-so to do it.") Third, not all rooms are quiet (try not to stay in room 10 or 11, which are big rooms with somewhat worn rugs that are in the "back" of the house that faces Chartres Street; consequently when there's noise--not much but enough-- on the street, there is noise in your room, plus noise when guests enter or leave the hotel because the hotel exit/enter door is near the rooms , and the balcony on the second floor is over the 10-11 rooms so voices talking up there pass right through the ceiling into your ears.)

We spent one night in room 11 and asked to have our room changed to a more private and quiet room in the interior. The front desk graciously accommodated our request.

I have stayed in many high rated boutique hotels around the world and this one is a bit under par in comparison. For example the towels are not new and fluffy, the TVs are very very small --in some rooms not even flat screen but I suppose you don't go to NO to watch TV!--and in one room the numbers on the old TV remote were worn off. The bathrooms needed updated. The lighting in the bathrooms were overhead recessed lights, which do not flatter a face but shadow the face and prevent good shaving and/or make-up application. One bathroom had a whirlpool tub that didn't work. Piping on the stuffed chair was worn through.

The location is great; not in the thick of the French Quarter action but readily accessible to everything, including Frenchman Street on the other side of Esplanade. The bellman is helpful and wonderful, the flowers in the common room are beautifully arranged, the cat Clare is cute as can be, the courtyard is lovely, they have classical music in the common area. The beds and bedding are good. There's a honor system for getting wine and cocktails from the common room. I heard the breakfast bisquits were delicious but we preferred the cafe around the corner where they had fruit, croissants and espresso.

Would I stay here again?If it were $50-$75 less a night, yes & without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room on inner courtyard if you want quiet or are a light sleeper. they have passes for NO A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
It sounds like you all really appreciate the authentic New Orleans. Please come back soon. There is always a band in the street and most of them do pass under our veranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A trio of galpals wanted character, and we got it at this 19th century home made into a unique accommodation for New Orleans first timers. From the locked grand front entrance, into the lush garden, through the rickety elevator up to the third floor, we felt as though we were in a different world, which is what we wanted. Each room was unique, and we lucked out with anachronistic jacuzzi tubs as an upgraded consequence of plumbing leaks in the rooms we originally booked.

The concierge, Irvin, was intuitive in his suggestions and considerations, all the service folks lived up to and beyond the the notion of Southern hospitality. Our favorite experience was lounging one evening in rattan chairs on a veranda with a brass band below suddenly breaking into "When the Saints Go Marchin In"

Room Tip: the first floor rooms felt a bit dark and dank. make sure the room deodorizers aren't a cover u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the Soniat House! This was our second stay at the gorgeous property and we will return on our next visit to New Orleans. We visited for a week in late June/early July for our honeymoon and were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite when we arrived (such a lovely surprise!) The suite was sumptuous; filled with beautiful antiques and a spectacular bathroom that I can only dream about having in real life. We loved sharing coffee and biscuits on the large deck over looking Chartres Street.

The attention to detail at the Soniat House is unsurpassed. The staff is more than kind and gracious and the location is perfect. It is a one of a kind place, filled with art, antiques and a realized appreciation for the beauty of relaxation and just "being". Obviously, it is place of which the proprietors are truly passionate and their staff who seem to regard it similarly.

We can't hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We can hardly wait to have you return, The Soniat House is truly our passion. It is our life and it is certainly not easy but comments from return guests such as yourselves who appreciate what we have here make it worthwhile. Please hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Address: 1133 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soniat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.