We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Place d'Armes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $119
Ranked #42 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love the Place d'Armes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

The Place d'Armes Hotel in New Orleans is an excellent hotel! Every staff member is cheerful, helpful, and readily available. The hotel is extremely clean and well-tended. The courtyard with its plants, flowers, and pool is a delightful place to start and end the day. I expect to stay there every time I visit New Orleans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    645
    156
    71
    60
See reviews for
300
740
76
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Place d'Armes June 4-7. We've got to say it is probably one of the best anniversaries thanks to this really great place. As all have said, this is a very unique, historical hotel giving that extra special feel. It is so close to everything you ever would want to do in the heart of the French Quarter. A block and a half to the famous Cafe du Monde for coffee and beignets; two blocks to Bourbon street, and just a few steps from Jackson Square.

We stayed in a courtyard room with a queen bed. The room and furnishings were decorated with just the right historical yet modern touches. There was a ton of room with 12 foot ceilings and it was all tucked off their beautiful courtyard. Lots of trees, flowers, and cast iron to enjoy the very best city in the world.

If you want a modern hotel with all it's stuffiness this is not the place for you. This is a definitely change of pace in the middle of the fun of 'Nawlins. The staff was great and were more than willing to give suggestions of the city and tours.

We're sold and will be back to the Place d'Armes many times more in the future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

My friend and I were looking for a unique hotel in the quarter and this definitely fit the bill. The hotel is in a great location and near everything without being noisy at night. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Only problem we ran into had to do with our original rooms. We booked rooms with a courtyard view and technically mine was on the courtyard, but next to the office and under an overhang with only one window that was 5 ft up the wall with shutters so you couldn't see out of it (I think room 110). The room was beautifully decorated but the black lamp shades and covered window made it extremely dark -- even with all the lights on! My friend's room was on the first floor next to the street so you couldn't open the curtains with any privacy. We ended up changing rooms the next day into a rooms on the third floor. Smaller rooms, but nice view of the courtyard. Both of my rooms were very clean and the A/C worked great.
The friendly staff answered our questions and provided suggestions for places to eat. They arranged a cab for us on our return to the airport and it arrived right on time. The continental breakfast was good, but we couldn't get enough of the beignets at Cafe Du Monde (just a block away) so we mostly ate breakfast there.
I would definitely stay there again. New Orleans was wonderful and the people are very happy to see the few tourists that show up. Store and restaurant hours varied from what was printed in brouchures due to lack of tourists and the "help wanted" signs everywhere. Just be patient and you'll have a great time!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Place d armes for only one night, as it was a quick family business trip. I am from New Orleans but have lived in north Louisiana for the last 30 years. I didn't want to stay in a typical cookie cutter hotel and when I found the prices for this hotel, I jumped on my reservations! This small, quaint hotel is smack dab in the heart of the Quarter - across the street from Jackson Square. It is made of 9 buildings all surrounding the most beautiful courtyard. Every room is slightly different due to the layout, but I find this to be the most appealing part of its charm. We had room 218 and when we wound our way through the courtyard, we found that access to our room could be by elevator or by back stairs. Charming! Our keys were the old real metal keys!! Not those computer plastic things. Our room had 12 foot ceilings and 2 double beds. There were 3 floor to ceiling windows, 2 were bolted shut, but one opened on to the balcony and wow! What a view! Within a stone's throw was Jackson Square and St. Louis Cathedral! I loved the worn treads on the wooden staircase. Yes, there are signs of 'worn-ness' but this is the French Quarter! That's what gives it character! And, yes, the French Quarter has smells to it. Always has, always will. If you are looking for the slick, modern, typical hotel, this is not for you. We found it to be clean, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was also included. New Orleans has the best coffee!! I thoroughly enjoyed our too short stay there, but will be back. God bless New Orleans, my home. Please visit her and support her through your tourism dollars. She can never be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed in the Place 'd Armes for 3 nights as part of a long weekend vacation. The location is excellent for visiting the French Quarter and CBD. From the location on Charteres it's two blocks to Decatur and two blocks to Bourbon Street. The room was clean and did not have any weird smells. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for places to see and eat.

We highly recommend visiting New Orleans and giving the area some badly needed tourism.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

Just got back from a weekend in New Orleans. We went for the food and for Jazzfest. First, New Orleans seems to be recouperating pretty well, but this was my first trip there so I have nothing to compare it to. There are piles of debris on the way to and from Jazzfest that they are still working on picking up, but overall I thought the city looked about as decent as one could expect. The Place d'Armes Hotel is situated on St Ann & Chartres Streets, right by Jackson Square. Cafe du Monde is literally a block away, which makes for a great late night jaunt. We requested a non-smoking room and that is what we got, however, it really stunk of something heinous, and you noticed it more when you went to lay down at the end of a long day. We couldn't place the smell - it could either have been mildew, cigs, or maybe a combo of both, but it was not pleasant. However, anyone who has been to New Orleans knows of the stenches that permeate the French Quarter, and some of them are really other-worldly. The hotel was sold out so we couldn't request a different room, and really, how much time are you spending in the room when you're in the French Quarter? Not much! The location of the hotel is great, and if you have a room that backs up to St Ann, you might be awoken by one of the street performers practicing in the early a.m., which just adds to the flair of the French Quarter. Overall, for the value, I'd say it was about average. Go for the food & the atmosphere, and try to ignore the stenches!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

Charming old hotel with a wonderful courtyard area. Sort of like a B&B type of feel.... This hotel has a great location in the middle of the French Quarter, just a couple of blocks to Cafe du Monde, next to Jackson Square, down the block from Muriel's - the location could not be better in New Orleans. All the staff was friendly and helpful - I'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.