We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the Place D'Armes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Place D'Armes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

We thought the Place D'Armes was a great place. We were there during the week, so we got a low rate from the Louisiana Welcome Center's reservation service. It was a good room, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was fine. Had an inside room, so no view, but two doors down were two balconies - one looking on the garden, another towards popular Jackson Square. It was close to Bourbon St., close to the water, we could walk everywhere. We would definitely stay there again. We would rather stay here than one of the more generic big downtown hotels.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    600
    146
    68
    59
See reviews for
278
696
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

If you want a nice historic quiet hotel, this is it. My Mom & I stayed here in 2001 for a few nights and really liked the old French Quarter charm to it. For those of you that what something affordable, close to Bourbon Street and quiet you'll love Place d'Armes. When my (now Husband) went on our first road trip together in Colorado we did not know we were going to spend the last leg of our trip in New Orleans. This Hotel made such an impression on me the first time, I found the number at a travel info stop about 2 hours away. Called them and got a room, and it was just as I remembered. Cute garden with pool, wonderful location. A true "French" hotel. You get what you pay for here, nothing more, nothing less. If you want something spotless & spectacular go to a five star and pay for it. If you want to do it Nawlins style then you're looking at the right hotel for the right price. We'll definately stay here everytime we visit.

  • Stayed June 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach County Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

My husband and I stayed here on our first ever trip to the Big Easy. From the Place D'Armes it's a VERY easy walk to EVERYTHING! It's location is right next to the famous Jackson Square where there is no shortage of characters (Fortune tellers, fire eaters, etc) For partyer's it's 1.5 blocks from Bourbon Street. The hotel is a group of buildings ranging from the 1700's to the early 1800's. It is also the site of the first New Orleans school. The courtyard is charming...with a pool and fountain. Breakfast every morning comes with the room and is served by a very helpful and very nice lady named Delores. The only complaint we had was some of the rooms are lacking a window. We called it our "Room without a View" Make sure to ask for a deluxe exterior room, and most of the time it's only a bit more.
We learned during a "Haunted Walking Tour" that the hotel is haunted... You can be a Ghost Buster! I did not see any ghosts however. When I return to New Orleans I will stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

I haven't been to New Orleans in years, and never dreamed I would be able to get a room right in the heart of the French Quarter without a reservation. Well, let me tell you, it was one of the many hightlights of our stayl My husband and I really got the flavor of being in New Orleans with the charming courtyard and all those beautiful flowers I absolutely loved it! Kudos to the staff and Mr. Valentino for being so friendly and accomodating., Of course, all this and such a wonderful rate too. What more can you ask for? I'm in love with New Orleans and Place d'Arms.
Janice and Noel Brown

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

I don't often have the opportunity to send such thank you notes - but I wrote this one to the management:

"A huge THANK YOU to your oustanding staff. My husband and I spent just over a week with you and felt welcome and at home there.

The entire staff for, the front door. cleaning, breakfast - whereever and whoever couldn't have treated us better.

Itruest you take good care of them as you should - they are wonderful.

A special Thank You to Julie too!

My best,

Shelly

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

We come from a midwest state, this was our first trip to New Orleans and we arrived by air to stay in the French Quarter district. We made reservations almost six weeks in advance for a room with king bed facing the courtyard to assure us quiet. We reviewed the web site for this hotel but made a reservation by phone. We would have liked a balcony courtyard room but were not informed that you had to request this in advance, not offered or mentioned on phone reservation call. We asked for balcony room after our first night, no accomodation. Our room was big, roomy with a sofa but not clean. I mean real clean! Our furniture had design ridges that were filled with accumulated dust. The carpet around the wall perimeter of the room had not been vacuumed recently. Faucet fixtures on vanity sink had grime around them; all the corners of bathroom floor were dirty and the molding along floor edge loaded with accumulated dust, dirt, and grime. Light globes above vanity sink loaded with dust/dirt, had not been cleaned in a long time. We are clean people so this was unacceptable and not fun to be exposed to. Since we were here for vacation we did not want to expend valuable time looking for other accomodations. We stayed here seven nights. The continental breakfast offered the same two rolls all week, no variation. No breakfast cereals, no donuts, no waffles. The pool was small so we did not use it and tables and chairs around the pool were in disarray many times. There was no mid afternoon or early evening cleanup as we decided to sit poolside later in an evening, and it appeared well used with towels around and dirty ashtrys. The hotel staff that we did have contact with were friendly people. The breakfast room attendant was great and had a clean kitchen. In our opinion the tourist trade appeared so consistantly heavy at this hotel that there is no incentive or time to have a cleaner facility. So we did not get our moneys worth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

The Place d’ Armes Hotel is a fabulous accommodation located in the heart of the French Quarter. The hotel exudes old world New Orleans charm with classic French Quarter architecture, a lush courtyard, and a staff that exemplifies Southern hospitality. I strongly recommend booking early so you can reserve a courtyard room (some with and some without balconies) that provides comfortable and spacious accommodations overlooking the beautiful courtyard and pool. Though the rooms have small bathrooms the other accoutrements and furnishings make-up for the lack of bath space. An insider travelers tip is to pick-up a coupon book from the New Orleans travel and tourism office in the French Quarter where you’ll find a coupon for a Monday-Thursday $69 rate at the Place d’ Armes. However, you can still obtain a wonderful $89 rate (M-Th) even if you don’t have a coupon. The Place D’ Armes is the only place I’ll stay on future trips to New Orleans. Just steps from all of the sights and sounds of New Orleans makes this the perfect French Quarter stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.