We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Gem, Perfectly Located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rates from $119
Ranked #44 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Charming Gem, Perfectly Located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This hotel is a real gem. While lacking some amenities (i.e. no microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, or jetted tub) you don't miss them because your room, while elegant and charming, is more of a place to rest between walking to the wonderful shops, restaurants and historical attractions that New Orleans has in abundance. The hotel is tucked just far enough from Bourbon and Canal Streets to be pretty quiet, but it is smack in the French Quarter and as charming as can be. The hotel appears to be composed of 6 or 7 different buildings, each slightly different, but all with a harmonizing style. My favorite aspect of the hotel is the courtyard that offers a small pool and a patio where you are surrounded by greenery and cool shade.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    644
    156
    71
    60
See reviews for
299
737
76
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

He loved the sense of history and New Orleans ambience -- balconies, courtyards, fountains -- he said it couldn't have felt more different from New Jersey! The room was huge and comfortable, the breakfast adequate but convenient, the pool a nice break in all the awful heat, and the location perfect for a pair of travelers without a car. For our weekday stay the price was great, too. As others have said, it seems to take the housekeeping staff a long time to get through the rooms -- one day ours wasn't made up til 5. We just went to the pool. A really nice choice for an older kid who can appreciate a holiday in a not-Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Great hotel, can't say enough great things about it. Ask for room 215 if you are looking for 2 double beds. Overlooks the courtyard and has it's own balcony. The room was nice, nothing spectacular but was perfect for us. We were looking for a neat hotel and we found it. Go to Cafe du Monde for breakfast because the hotel only serves croissants, pastries, and coffee. Not bad but not the best. They do give out USA Today and the local paper for free. Never felt unsafe once and everything is so close. The front desk is willing to print your boarding passes for you if you ask. Go to Lafitte's on Bourbon if you drink. It is supposed to be the oldest bar in the US. Very cool and maybe the highlight of my trip. :) It is $25 to park there but we didn't think that was too bad considering the car was safe and we were right downtown!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

It was our first visit to New Orleans and you can easily walk to all the places of interest. I couldnn't believe how centrally situated it was. We had a large room with a good sized bathroom.The decor was rather dark and heavy but maybe that was to be in keeping with the style of the buildoing. It was through a couple of courtyards and initially a bit difficult to find our way back to!!! Staff were friendly; breakfast was a bit basic but really matched the description of it in the otel blurb. I liked the complementary daily paper.The room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

The staff here were excellent, friendly, and very helpful. Our room was not ready when we checked in about 4 p.m. and the desk clerk called up immediately to find out when it would be ready and the bellhop actually went and talked to the maids to tell them to do ours first. It was ready in 15 minutes and he took our bags upstairs (we had a 3rd floor room) and took us to the room. I can't say enough about how friendly and nice the staff were. I read other reviews here talking about impolite staff, but we didn't encounter a single one. The desk clerk even happily printed our boarding passes for our flight home with no hassle at all and they have a nice list of recommended restaurants they give to guests.

The room was beautiful and actually quite spacious for an older hotel in the French Quarter. Six years ago we stayed at another hotel and our room was literally the size of a closet. Our room had access to a shared balcony on the 3rd floor and two huge windows that let in plenty of light. The air conditioning worked like a charm and there was also an overhead ceiling fan. The room showed no signs of disrepair or aging and the decor was nice. The only thing I would suggest would be to update the faucets in the shower and the water pressure wasn't the greatest but adequate, also the toilet didn't flush the best, you had to hold the handle down until the bowl emptied completely, but other than that, it was well worth the $99 a night (weeknight rates) that we spent, especially since you can easily pay just as much or even more for a less nice hotel in the French Quarter. The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've ever slept in but it wasn't terrible and I don't usually find any hotel beds that comfortable but the pillows were nice and plump. I would recommend if you have one of the rooms on the 3rd floor that you be patient about maid service as they don't seem to get around to those rooms until around 3:30 - 4:00 p.m. but that's understandable considering how many rooms there are and they can't really start until check out at noon.

The courtyard was beautiful and we spent more time there than the balcony. The only problem was the heat and humidity were quite high and you don't get much of a breeze in the courtyard. However, they do have a pool there, it's a bit small, but nice to keep cool in. They also serve a continental breakfast in a very nice room off the courtyard. It's nice if you want to just grab a quick croissant or danish (nothing special) but I would suggest that they offer some fruit with breakfast like most places serve that offer a continental breakfast. They're also very close to Cafe du Monde so you could just skip the breakfast and go get beignets.

I've read some negative reviews on here but what I've noticed is that most of them are people that booked what they call "interior" rooms, that is rooms without windows. Yes, in a high humidity atmosphere you may get a "musty" smell in such a room, and yes, believe it or not, there are bugs in New Orleans being near water and with its climate, get used to it (though we didn't see any in our room.) If you are claustrophobic or have problems with not having natural light, don't get an interior room either. We were already aware of this when we booked from reading reviews so we made sure to request a room with windows. To be honest, the rates for such rooms aren't that much higher than the interior rooms, so it's worth the extra few bucks and you'll enjoy this hotel much more if you get one of the non-interior rooms. It's so often true that you get what you pay for so if you want to be cheap and not pay the bit of extra money for a better room, then don't complain. Also, though we didn't book through an internet site like travelocity or expedia, when I was looking for hotels on their sites, I noticed that you are automatically booked for the lowest rate room if you book through them which is the interior rooms, so if you use them, make sure you upgrade and it doesn't hurt to call the hotel and make sure your booking is for the upgraded room before arriving.

We will definitely be returning to Place d'Armes when we go back to New Orleans in the future. They definitely made our trip pleasant and enjoyable, especially after our experiences with other "older" hotels in the quarter that cost just as much and weren't nearly as nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This was the second time we have stayed here. The staff is always nice and helpful. Called 2 monthe prior to our visit talked to Mr. Valentino and he got us the same room we had the year before. We had some friends come in and spend a couple of days with us. It was their first trip to New Orleans but it won't be their last. We plan on visiting New Orleans again next year.Our friends that visted us and another couple are planning on travelling with us to New Orleans next year. This place has a great pool and courtyard. I wish that we had the courtyard at our home.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I have stayed in several hotels in New Orleans and the Place d'Armes has been, for the buck, the nicest.
The staff was absolutely the greatest.......I mean eveyone...clerks, maids, managers..everyone.
They made our trip a joy and put up with our craziness with humor and patience..

We had a balcony room, #228, and had to go up stairs behind the desk to get to it, but that just added to the charm and gave us an opportunity to get to know the staff..
Being a balcony room it could get a little loud outside, but that's just part of the New Orleans experience. We could see Jackson Square from pur balcony
If you're looking for a peaceful vacation New Orleans should not be your destination.

The courtyard and pool area is very nice and clean......

I LOVE THIS PLACE AND WILL RETURN.................

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.