We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Navarre, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2004

I visit New Orleans once a month and I must say Place d Armes is best hotel in the French Quarter. In the past I have stayed at many other different hotels and Place d Armes has the best service, continential breakfast (fresh), reservationist (thanks Jeff), and all around superb hospitality. I will not stay anywhere else! Thanks Place d Armes!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    599
    145
    68
    59
See reviews for
277
695
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2004

Place d'Armes Hotel in New Orleans is next to Jackson Square Park in the French Quarter. The hotel is preferectly located to be able to enjoy all that New Orleans has to offer. The hotel has lovely rooms and a central court garden with a swimming pool. Continental breakfast is available, and the staff are a perfect example of Southern hospility. I would return to Place d'Armes with out hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2004

I recently stayed at the Place d' Armes Hotel in the French Quarter. The location, service and staff are excellent. It's a wonderful place to experience "Southern Hospitality."

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2004

Old, nasty room...#222....Wasn't ready at check in time....Smelled very bad... Just a very bad experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2004

NEVER book with this hotel!!! Or any of the other Valentino Hotels! Save yourself the ache in your wallet and go anywhere else! I originally booked with this hotel and then inquired about their sister hotel, St. Marie, which didn't have the room I wanted, so I told the operator to cancel all rooms. I called back the next day just to make sure that I was cancelled. Both operators said there was NO CHARGE. I should have gotten the cancellation number, because they charged me for a no-show!!! Over a hundred dollars! I just talked to the manager, who says that "his records indicate that I never cancelled". These people are crooks. DO NOT go to any Valentino hotels!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner / Managing Partner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2004
Our cancellation policy is fair and clear - our records are excellent. Certainly mistakes can be made, but our investigation of this matter does not indicate that any errors were made by our staff.
The reservation was made and guaranteed by a credit card. The reservations was not cancelled.

The hotel suffered a loss of revenue as a result of the non-cancelled no-show. Simple. Clear. To assert that we are "crooks" for enforcing a fair, clear, well-documented policy is unwarranted.
We are sorry for this matter, but maintain our position based on our investigation and on our records.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2004

The only way you can stand this hotel is if you have a room with a window facing the courtyard. And the only way you will get that room is if you pay the top asking price! Absolutely do not get stuck in a room with no windows. They are disgusting and full of mold. My entire ceiling was green and black with mold and it was growing out of the vents. I told the front desk that a must move for health reasons and they were not able to accommodate me until the next day. I then moved to a fabulous room overlooking the courtyard. Simply NOT WORTH THE RISK. This place is great if you have a window...a nightmare if you don't.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.