We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return once more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $119
Ranked #42 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port O''Connor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Return once more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been visiting New Orleans for the past 21 yrs; of that time, 19 stays at the Place d'Armes; and generally in the same room with the balcony overlooking St. Ann Street and across from the Cathedral. Although their prices have risen to stay in line with the economy, and a few changes have been made, this IS the hotel for the French Quarter. The lack of a bar and restaurant gives the guest the opportunity to visit so many places in this stunning city. Arriving one finds Chris at the garage to take your car, Robert to take your bags to your room, and Ms. Dionne at the front desk. And if you are very lucky, you may find Lyn Casteneda, the manager of the hotel too. We've known Lyn for many yrs and have seen her rise from handling front desk duties to the managerial position, for which she is very capable and well suited.. The room we stay in is a king-sized room with a balcony that prompts you to sit, whether summer or winter. My only complaint is that Community Coffee is no longer available in the room; instead another brand is supplied and the taste is abysmal. But ... Going down to the breakfast room in the morning, one finds good coffee and muffins and croissants with the morning paper too. I could say more re the layout of the room and its furnishings, but this has been said already. Do ck out the art work by Audobon; it's delightful.
And down the street is the Café du Monde, an establishment that has been in operation for well over 150 years; across the street the Cathedral and Jackson Square, and heading slightly north for one half block, is Royal Street, which is delightfully set with many antique shops. And next year, we will be back! God willing and the creek don't rise!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a balcony room; 302 is reachable via the elevator; 228 & 229 via t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    645
    156
    71
    60
See reviews for
300
739
76
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'm rating this 2 stars instead of 1 because of the excellent location. Other than that and a charming courtyard, we'd have no reason to recommend it.

With older small hotels in the French Quarter, you have to expect a little funkiness, since most are converted from connected old buildings. We stayed here at the recommendation of friends who grew up in NOLA, and the pics of the rooms with nice little balconies and all are great, but our room (410) was nothing like that.

When the bellman(who left us waiting on him) finally took us to our room, we were initially pleased. After all, it was a suite, with two good-sized rooms. However, the only window was in the living area....NO windows in the bedroom. The "window" in the living area was accessible only by crouching down to clear about a 5' headroom height and down 3 steps. And then it only looked out on the roof. I've had better lighting in a dungeon.

The whole room was, I guess, a converted attic, and the furnishings were a peculiar collection. The king bed was OK, but I kinda like KING pillows on my KING bed. The bath was just the basics, with very low water flow, and it took ages for the hot water to come out.

The "free breakfast" consisted of juice, coffee, store-bought pastries and a little fruit. There was a large tip jar placed strategically right in front of the coffee dispenser.

We only saw one tiny elevator, and the housekeeping staff used it as well. if you don't mind riding up to your room with a big mop bucket full of dirty water, or two housekeepers arguing with each other, this place is for you.

On the plus side, hardly a better location, but that apparently is what they rely on to attract guests, because there is nothing else that would cause us to return.

Room Tip: Get a guarantee of a specific kind of room, or get another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights after spending a few nights at the bourbon orleans. Maybe it is because it's so cold but I shortened my stay here to return to the other hotel. Though the room was very comfortable, I felt like I was at a motel, as you had to walk outside to get to the breakfast/coffee and desk. There is no lobby to speak of, no restaurant or bar. For the same cost, I was able to get a room at the bourbon orleans, which I felt had more amenities. There is really noting wrong with place d'armes, maybe a bit outdated, yet very comfortable. Perhaps if staying here in better weather it would have been more enjoyable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Place d'Armes is a lovely hotel in renovated 1800's townhouses. My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a a spacious balcony room with a postcard view of St Louis Cathedral. Soaring ceiling, exposed brick walls, the original fireplace and furnished with antique reproductions. The 2 double beds had comfy mattresses, smooth white lines and 5 pillows each. Furnishings included a large chest of drawers, large night stands with additional storage, generous closet space and a safe. The lovely dressing area outside of the bath had a sink and adequate counter space. The balcony room got quite a bit of noise from the street during the day but was reasonably quiet between 11pm and 7 am. My daughter and son-in-law stayed in an interior room which was dead quite. This was also a lovely room with a king bed and identical bath and dressing area to the balcony room but was much smaller. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast consisted of pastry, juice, and coffee and was fresh and convenient. We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Stanley's which is just steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have wonderful views. Light sleepers may prefer an interior or courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Although we have visited New Orleans several times, this was our first visit to Place d'Armes Hotel. We were very pleased with the selection. There is not better location in the Quarter. The courtyard was beautiful, very relaxing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It was little noisy as you could hear the guests upstairs walking. And, also, when guests would walk by the windows in the courtyard. But, really, we were not in the room all that much. We arrived late on a Thursday evening, without luggage because it was not on our plane. The night personnel were so very helpful. I wish I could remember their names. I cannot thank them enough. All information regarding the hotel was given to us. Room location, breakfast times and location, ice machine/soda machine location. He even gave us directions to a local market to get toiletries (our airline did not provide them). We plan to stay here on future visits!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful courtyard, best location ever in the French Quarter, and very comfortable rooms. Bed was excellent. You are greeted by bellman who takes your bags to your room because if he didn't you would never find it, It is a maze. If you have mobility issues you need to discuss where your room is. The elevators are good but there are steps. This is not a wheelchair friendly place but if you can climb one or three steps you don't notice. We had a no window room. It was a little on the small side. One side of bed did not have light or night stand. TV was so-so, WiFi strong. Breakfast was good quality but not a lot of choice. Sweet rolls, juices and coffee. The beauty of the courtyard, cleanliness and location is what sells this place.

Room Tip: Try and get a street room with balcony access from the room. Second choice, porch walkway overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the week because they raise their prices during the weekends. We checked in a little early, and they held our bags for us until our room was ready. We took this time to explore the French Quarters. The hotel is located right in the middle of everything and is ideal if you want to walk!!! The courtyard is lovely and exactly as I imagined a New Orleans courtyard to look. Our room was nice with a window (some of the rooms don't have windows). The TV was small but we weren't there to watch TV.
Our huge complaints would be regarding the guests who were staying above our room. They sounded like a herd of elephants every time they took a step. Every noise they made we could hear. When they got up in the morning, so did we...not ideal. Next time I would request a room on the top floor to avoid this.
The staff was very nice except we were not informed of their breakfast, which would have been nice.
There is an extra fee to park, which is understandable since parking is so difficult in the French Quarters. The parking attendant was not helpful though. As we were told to wait in the lobby for our car and that they would let us know when it was ready for us (they have a huge car elevator and the parking attendant HAS to retrieve your car) they would let us know. After a half hour of waiting we went to the parking lot and saw our car had been sitting there for some time. We were less then thrilled.

Overall a very nice hotel in the heart of the city!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.