We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Find in a Great, Fun Filled City !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rates from $89
Ranked #34 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a Great Find in a Great, Fun Filled City !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have not been to New Orleans since before Katrina, so I, of course, searched Trip Advisor to find a hotel and settled on the Place d Armes hotel and we are so glad that we did. The hotel is well located in the French Quarter, with excellent parking. It is an very old building with real gas wall lights outside and so nice. It is maybe 1/2 block from Jackson Square, another block to Cafe du Monte and the river front. You are also just 2 blocks off Bourbon Street, so it is a great location. As I mentioned, the building is truly old, but in great repair, with a beautiful courtyard with a pool. They have plenty of free coffee in the morning with a variety of rolls, muffins and orange juice, along with a free local paper. Our room is a king size on the front of the hotel with a balcony on St Ann Street. We were amazing how much the glass door and drape eliminated the street sound, so it was the best of both worlds. The bath is modern and spacious, our king bed was very comfortable and the TV worked great, with plenty of channels, along with the included wireless. The staff, from the front desk, to the bell man, to those serving the morning coffee and rolls is excellent, friendly and ready to help you with your needs. If I return to New Orleans, I would not think of another hotel for this one is excellent.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor for the comments of others that have stayed here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    559
    133
    66
    58
See reviews for
247
647
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hadn't stayed here since Katrina, so it was wonderful to be back. Great location in the Quarter and within walking distance of the entire quarter. Service is excellent and the breakfast is very good. Just make sure you aren't in room 104 as it is right next to breakfast area and is very noisy and has a very musty smell. The courtyard rooms are really nice and it is like stepping back in time sitting in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at this hotel. The balcony provided a great view of the quarter. Hotel amenities were fine. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the service solid. I would absolutely stay here again as the location is perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We needed a place to stay for Thursday night, as we arrived the day before a conference with hotel. This was perfect for our needs, as it was at a reasonable rate. Being our first time in New Orleans, the location is perfect, right in the heart of the French Quarter. It would've been hard to find a better location without the noise of Bourbon St.

The hotel itself is cool, exactly what you expect for a French Quarter hotel. It's pretty old but well maintained, and you enter your room through the large courtyard in the middle. The room itself wasn't all that great, maybe a bit musty but we weren't deterred. It was definitely bigger than your typical chain or boutique hotels so that's a plus.

There was also a complimentary breakfast with European style pastries, bagels, and jus. I'd come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontoon beach, il
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our regular "chick trip" to New Orleans would not be complete without a stay at the Place d'Armes! Our interior rooms are quiet, clean and well appointed. Almost all the staff is amazing. The Bell Captans are the best! The staff welcomes us back and offers us wonderful advice about bars, restaurants and transportation. Best location ever!

Room Tip: We like the quiet interior rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What else can I say that hasn't already been said in the other reviews! We stopped at the Louisiana Welcome Center on our way into New Orleans. We were only planning on a day trip but the woman at the desk told us that the hotels that have rooms to get rid of that day fax over special rates in the morning. Well, she suggested this hotel and the rate was too good to pass up! When we arrived at the hotel, we had garaged, valet parking and it was free. Most hotels in the area charge $10.00 and street parking is impossible in the French Quarter. The courtyard was like something out of a fairytale!! I grabbed my laptop and camera in the evening and sat at the wrought iron table admiring the view and the serenity of the courtyard. Next thing I knew it was 6am! The hotel is close to everything including a bus stop for the on-off sightseeing bus tour. Look for coupons online and in the brochures in the lobby. There are coupons for everything. When you mention you are on the bus tour, most of the merchants will give you 25% off your purchases! This alone is worth it.
This hotel is amazing and a true taste of New Orleans! I highly recommend this hotel. We had an inner room which was fine and I got the first full nights sleep I've had in years. The courtyard balcony rooms are very nice and I will try one of these rooms next time. Inner or outer, it doesn't matter. This boutique hotel is everything and more you could wish for!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms have a beautiful balcony with table and chairs overlooking the courtyard but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

How close can you be to Burbon Street and still have a wonderful "quite" hotel courtyard? This is just the place for you. This was my second trip to New Orleans and both times I stayed at this hotel (thank goodness for my girlfriend who told me all about it!) The room we stayed in was an INSIDE room - which is windowless - however quite nice. The bed was truly comfortable - AND I didn't toss and turn the first night (which happens quite often when I am at a hotel) and I couldn't ask for a better location. 1 Block away from Burbon Street - 2 Blocks from the French Market - AND THAT COURTYARD . . . Great. It encompasses all that is great about the French Quarter - the staff were so helpful - they made suggestions - they welcomed us back (yes - two of the staff remembered us from our previous visit) - what more can you say. When I needed to rent a wheelchair they got me all the information I needed - and took excellent care of us. The pool is shaded and very inviting. There is a continental breakfast and it is a nice way to start your day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.