We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Word of caution.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rates from $99
Ranked #30 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Word of caution.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Read this whole review as theres good and bad. First the disappointment. Turned 50, hardly travel so i wanted to spend it on a room with a balcony and indulge myself. I was billed for the premium price but the rooms on the third floor do not open to a balcony only from a hallway. I wouldn't even call it a balcony, rather a three foot wide catwalk with two crappy chairs. This i considered false advertising and needed to complain,resulting in a discount. My word of caution is to make sure your room is on the second floor if you want to sit outside on a real balcony with a table and chairs. Now for the good. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It had a old style TV, but if your watching tv, then your not taking in all this city has to offer. The hotel staff were helpful and beyond. We left a t-shirt in a cab, and one staff (cant remember her name, short blond hair, white uniform), called no less than 12 cab companies looking for it! Wow.
This hotel is within a easy walk to everything. Despite the room glitch i was easily won over by all there is to do and see. Had a excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    539
    128
    65
    56
See reviews for
234
620
60
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

First, if you want a luxury hotel you'll need to go somewhere else. If you want great location, history and charm this is the place. The location cannot be beat. You are literally steps from Jackson Square and very close to many restaurants and Bourbon St. The courtyard is beautiful and very peaceful. I only wish that I would have reserved a room that faced the courtyard. I don't know why someone commented that the staff was unfriendly, they were extremely nice to me and always asked if I was enjoying myself. I only took advantage of the breakfast once during my stay because Cafe Du Monde is right down the street but what they offered was good. I will definitely stay here again but will get a courtyard room next time. Overall this hotel was an excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Location IS very god. Room without Windows and daylight. It was like sleeping in a coffin. It was a NIGHTMARE!! and for a lot of mony The staff at The Reception are so impolite. As I said: NEVER AGIAN in this Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay here was mostly good. As everyone says, the location is perfect. You simply cannot beat it. The hotel also has lovely character and the courtyard is beautiful. We booked our room directly with the hotel and asked for a courtyard room. We were given an excellent rate as we qualified for one of the discounts. (Tue, Wed, Thur—very reasonable, Fri—more, but the average over 4 nights was a terrific deal). The staff was helpful and friendly. We were given room 225 overlooking the back courtyard. The room itself was quite large and the bathroom sink has been upgraded. The tub/shower was still quite old with an old-fashioned shower head, but it worked fine. The bathroom linens were a decent quality. But, the bed was not comfortable at all. The mattress was so soft that it was hard to get a good night’s sleep. It really needs to be replaced. The room also smelled musty. We had a window, but didn’t open it because there are no screens. We aired the room by opening the door every morning, but it still felt musty. I suppose we could have put the air conditioning on to dry the air out, but it wasn’t hot weather when we were there. The hotel was quiet until Fri night when it filled up. That is when we realized the walls are very thin as we got neighbors who talked and talked and talked, and we could hear every word. They talked until well past midnight and then started up again before 6 AM! It was hard to sleep with all their chatter. One day we came home and although our room had been cleaned, housekeeping left a banana peel on the carpet. That was weird as we never ate a banana at all so it must have dropped from her garbage bin, which was a little off putting. The continental breakfast is fine--juice, coffee, tea with fresh fruit and pastries. As others have noted, there was no elevator which was fine for us, but those with mobility issues would find it difficult.
Summary—I would stay there again, and I would recommend this hotel, but I would ask for one of the upgraded rooms even if I had to pay more, and if the bed was uncomfortable, I would not be so shy about asking for a room change.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights over Easter weekend, we didn't plan on staying in our room much so location was a big consideration when deciding where to stay in New Orleans. The hotel is close to everything! I loved how close it was to Jackson Square and the waterfront. The hotel staff was fantastic as well, giving us recommendations for where to get the best clams at and where to get a great bloody mary! We loved our time sent in New Orleans and the Place d'Armes was a charming "home" base for us to explore the city from. We would not consider staying anywhere else on our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Township, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It was the week before Super Bowl when we took a detour on our trip to the southern states to visit New Orleans. We were worried about finding a hotel, but it wasn't a problem.

We stopped at the Louisiana Welcome Center, right outside of New Orleans. The cheerful woman at the desk went out of her way to be helpful; she even booked a hotel for us.
We stayed at the Place D'Armes, which is located on St. Ann Street, at Jackson Square.

Place D'Armes is right in the heart of the French Quarter. From our vantage point, we were able to walk to all the local attractions, including the French Market, Cafe Du Monde, and all the fantastic restaurants. The hotel is charming -- a gracious example of old New Orleans architecture, impeccably restored with many of the furnishings intact.

Our room was small, but stylishly decorated and immaculately clean. It was an "interior" room with no windows, but we didn't mind. In fact, we appreciated the peace and quiet at the end of each day.

There was an elegant brick and stone courtyard in the back of the hotel where we could sit and have coffee in the morning or relax in the evening before going back to our room. The courtyard was lovely, with well-trimmed shrubs and vines; brilliant-colored flowers; a small pool; a fountain; and statuary. It reminded me of something right out of a novel about the old South.

A continental breakfast was included. It was served in a beautiful room tastefully furnished with lustrous woodwork and period furnishings. The breakfast was simple but satisfying.

The staff -- including a bellhop -- was courteous and friendly. We were very pleased with the price, too. The cost of our room was only $59.00 per night, plus $28.00 to park our car in the hotel garage. This was a plus, since it's difficult to get around New Orleans in a car and it can be very expensive to park.
The only drawback was that if we wanted something from the car, we couldn't get it ourselves.
An attendant would get it for us and then, of course, we'd have to tip him. Fortunately, we only had to do that once.

The desk manager told us that our hotel was owned by a realty company which also has several other similar properties in the area. Good to know!

Our stay in New Orleans was a lot of fun, with all the Super Bowl and pre-Mardi Gras activity.
After sampling all the delights of the city, it was comforting to know that at the end of each day we had a room in a handsome hotel to which we could return.

It was our second visit to NOLA and if we return we'll definitely stay at Place d'Armes Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows have a view of street activity. Interior rooms are insulated from the noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights. The location is amazing. Everything in the quarter is within walking distance. Lynn (at the front desk) was nice and attentive. Chris took our bags for us and he was nice aswell. The front desk staff at night was not attenive at all and compleatly ignores us when we came and went. The courtyard is beautiful and I loved having breakfast there. The continental breakfast consisted of croissants and danish, coffee, and orange juice. I recommend this hotel for the location. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.